We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excllent in everyway - Wendy and Andy fantastic hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 6 Fylingthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we visited Middlethorpe Guesthouse for our 8th wedding anniversary and we were welcomed by Andy on arrival who took us to our beautiful room with amazing views of robin hoods bay, we had room number 3 which was spotless, and well presented...en suite also spotless....and the peace and quiet was just lush...
and living in a flat at home we really appreciated the use of the gardens, idyllic and tranquil
we were also shown where the lovely gardens were and mad a hot beverage on arrival of which we enjoyed in the blazing sun in the gardens..
the owners made you feel at home and were approachable about anything you wanted to know from attractions to best places to eat and where to go for best parking, basically all you need to know for the area your staying in
Dvd's are available for you to browse through for your own personal use and a vast selection available as well
hot showers worked wonderful at anytime of the day
Hot Breakfast is ordered the night before and left on the hall table so when you come down to eat the wait is minimal and the cooked breakfast was superb, no cheap foods and cooked to perfection and served with a smile and friendly chit chat, really made to feel at home from the offset here

if we ever go back to the North East, this would be our choice of B&B as I really can't find any fault what so ever
Wendy and Andy superb hosts - thank you for a amazing stay - Kaz & Si

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KazSlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights at this lovely b n b amazing location with fabulous views!
Saw the sunrise over Robin Hood Bay every morning, the view from our room was breath taking!
Andy and Wendy made us so welcome (without being in our faces) so friendly and helpful, a real bonus was the use of their beautiful garden with a nice pond and garden furniture.
We were given keys so we could come and go as we pleased. Our room and en suite were spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.
The breakfasts were 1st class, hot, fresh and tasty, could not of asked for more!
We would love to return and recommend this beautiful place to anyone, you will be bowled over, it's so lovely!
Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 4 great views our the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Simply wonderful ! In its peaceful setting and with a magnificent sea view,the Middlethorpe provided a superb base from which to explore the east coast.The place is spotless,warm and cosy. Andy &Wendy are brilliant hosts,friendly and helpful,this place is an absolute credit to them.The breakfast deserves a special mention being both tasty and plentiful with lots of choice .We thoroughly enjoyed our week here and left feeling refreshed .As I said at the start "A real gem"

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We returned for our second stay at Robin Hood's bay in July for 3 days. What a wonderful place to stay! The hosts Wendy and Andy are so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us ;)..we had a room with a sea view which was beautiful! The rooms are lovely.. Nice and clean and nicely finished. You can order what you'd like for breakfast from a good selection..and having tried everything! I can recommend it all! :).. The guest house is situated at the top of a hill which gives you spectacular views over Robin Hood's bay and yet is a nice walk down to the sea about 3/4 of a mile away ( always pubs to stop at to help the walk back up ?!)... Some lovely places to eat and visit nearby and a regular bus into Whitby! ..highly recommend and would definitely use again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bliebetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. We had a weekend of relaxation, good food, peace and quiet. Wendy and Andy were fabulous hosts, they were there when you needed advice or information but let you come and go as you pleased. The rooms were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We couldn't fault anything about our stay. Magnificent sea views of Robin Hood's bay from our bedroom window and the breakfasts were exceptional. We will certainly be going back and would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Yorkshire, with wall to wall sunshine. Three comfortable nights at Middlethorpe Guest House and views overlooking the sea and countryside. Coming from landlocked Shropshire it was wonderful to witness the sunrise from our bed over the sea. Did not draw the curtains as the view was too good.
Superb hosts and beautiful house. Thank you both for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Room 4 for a splendid sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned home from a very enjoyable mini break to RobinHoods Bay. Very good place to stay , rooms well appointed and breakfasts superb. Andy and Wendy were very good hosts and i can thouroughly recommend this b and b. The location was just right to explore what North Yorkshire had to offer. Robin Hoods Bay is a short walk ,45 mins slowly down the hill and the Fylingthorpe Inn close by for evening meals .Overall a very good location and superb hosts made for a very enjoyable stay.......Garry and Wendy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handsome1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fylingthorpe
0.8 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
831 reviews
3.2 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
786 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Guesthouse

Address: Sledgate Farm, Fylingthorpe, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay > Fylingthorpe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fylingthorpe
Price Range: £68 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Middlethorpe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing