We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ivanhoe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fylingthorpe, Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gcschow
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely house. Extremely well furnished. Warm throughout with a real fire if needed. Parked outside fairly easily. 10 mins to Robin Hoods Bay on foot. The main bus stop is 2 mins away, newspapers and some groceries next door and the butchers is 5 mins away. The wifi works fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bsmta
1 review
“What we expected, and a lot, lot more”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Ideal location. The house was equipped with more than expected. Three generations had fabulous time. Local shops, children's play park, and walk down to Robin Hood's Bay, fabulous.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Have a lovely week at the house like home from home everything we needed were there. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because the parking for the house was hard. So what we did was, when we got a good spot in front of house. We left the car and got the bus to Whitby Scarborough and Robin Hood bay. The buses run on time (not like Cambridge) as the walk was a little to much for my little girl, One thing I will miss is the shower It was the best

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joan33201...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My friend and I stay near Robin Hood's Bay at least twice a year, and Ivanhoe Cottage is the nicest cottage we have stayed it. We loved the Art work! A really comfortable home from home.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Hi Joan

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes

Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some issues need attention otherwise good location family house”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Central Fylinthorpe location, good family house close to pub
Found parking difficult, limited spaces on road
Door bell obstructs front entrance and was falling off
Wifi unuseable in living room as router in top floor room, needs Wifi access point/powerline adapter/better router with antennas.
Shower only just hot enough
Found beds too short and too small.
Bath small

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm surprised and disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. For the avoidance of any doubt, however, I'd like to confirm that the beds are standard double and singles. The bath is also a standard sized bath. The doorbell is located to the side of the front door and the issue of it 'falling off' will be dealt with immediately. The shower will also be looked into as we have only ever received compliments on our shower. As far as I am aware, the Wifi is the best available under the circumstances and the rural location however, I will be looking into this.

Kind regards

Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Republic7...
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a lovely 3 night stay, cosy cottage with everything you need. The fire was an added bonus after a chilly walk at the coast. Our daughter didn't want to leave. Walking distance to a pub serving good food and nice ales. Ideally located to visit Robin Hood's Bay, Whitby, Runswick etc.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing