We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the crown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Lake District in February can be a bleak and wet place. And so it was. But opening the door of the Crown Inn, we were met with a really warm restaurant and bar area - an excellent start. From then on the inn lived up to our expectations. The building is beautiful, 300 years old with original stairs and floors. The room was clean and water was hot for showers. Our 2 evenings were spent eating lovely food and then sitting in front of one of the two log fires.
OK so the room was a little snug; the bed ends did pounce out and stab us when we passed and our TV did not always work properly, but we weren't interested in those things.
Our warm surroundings and the warm welcome were the things that we were interested in. The relaxed atmosphere rubs off on guests too. Thank you all.
Thanks to

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Staff very friendly and obliging, comfy clean. The food was amazing and great value, drinks were reasonably priced we will definitely return soon. Cannot understand why anyone would give a negative review.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is just the sort of pub that you imagine but very rarely encounter these days- privately owned great ambience and good food. 2 menus here,a superior pub grub menu and an a la carte menu catering to the more discerning palate.Either way grub is good and at reasonable prices.Staff are friendly so forget about any bad reviews because this is exactly the sort of place that we need to support as one day there will be nothing left but chain pubs with 'ping' kitchens and we'll all moan about it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grumpy1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived mid afternoon on 16th February. We had four rooms booked. We were met by Amy who was very welcoming and showed us straight to our rooms, which were very clean and cosy. We then went back downstairs to the bar for a drink. From the minute we set foot in The Crown we had a fantastic two days, where the food was fantastic, we ate in both nights, the staff were brilliant, Crawford and his whole staff were great, they made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough for us. We would definitely recommend The Crown to anyone looking for a short break, or as a base to explore the area. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Should have been 5 star but unfortunately ended up 1.
The staff were great, very friendly, the location and room was great and the
food was excellent. We were going to recommend The Crown to our friends and
return with other family members - until !
Our voucher enabled us to a complimentary dinner for two on the Saturday night up to a value of £31 per person. We were presented with two menus and invited to choose from either, we ordered from the 'a la carte'.
When we were given our bill at the end of the stay we discovered that we had been charged the full amount for Saturday's dinner. When we queried this, we were initially told that we should have taken the set menu - but this had not been mentioned at any point to us.
It was then it went sour and the owner 'Crawford' became both rude and abusive.
Eventually £28 was taken off the bill but the original voucher value was not honoured .
What had up to this point been a lovely weekend was ruined by the way we were dealt with by the owner, obviously the customer does not come first.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Firstly I have read the other reviews of this establishment and I'm shocked at the negative comments about the staff and owner, Crawford... My husband and I had never been to the Lake District and found this deal on Groupon and thought we'd take a chance.
Crawford and his staff could not have been more helpful if they tried! Had a fabulous couple of nights, spent both nights relaxing in the cosy bar after having incredible home cooked meals by the team at The Crown. All of the staff we encountered were genuinely friendly, chatty and knowledgeable of the area.
We would definitely return to this B&B, very clean, welcoming and friendly. First class food, first class service, first class staff!!

Thank you for such a lush stay!

Heather & Chris Prowse from
Bristol

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just returned from a ridiculously cheap 2 night groupon winter break. Spotless bedroom in a lovely location. There are two menus, the a la carte for special occasions but most people will find something they like on the bar menu and eat a very acceptable main course for around £10 -£12. Good choice of real ale (Cartmel Bitter is excellent)and wines without breaking the bank.
Copuple of things to be aware of i.e. Groupon visitors are provided with a standard english breakfast (lovely but you get what you get).
If you are arriving on a Monday or Tuesday the check in times are a little odd, i.e. 1 - 3 and 6 onwards.
This place must be really great on a weekend and in good weather, but we had a great time and will return.

Room Tip: Room 6 is just above the bar. Room 4 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Country Inn High Newton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing