We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great birthday beak”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great birthday beak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fabulous two day groupon break at The Crown. Everything about this charming Lakeland village pub is spot on. Being in the catering / licensed trade ourselves since 1987 we do tend to be a little over critical sometimes but not on this occasion. We had room 2, on the small side but we were warned to watch our legs on the bed post, something we both forgot on several occasions, much to the hilarity of the person who had not banged their legs. A small problem my wife had with the bathroom light was sorted ASAP. Let's face it you stay in a room to sleep and not live so all in all a great, clean room and wonderfully hot shower. The food was outstanding, both nights. The breakfasts were filling, proper English breakfast with no frills, just what you need to set you up for a day out in the lakes. Staff were friendly and informative and made the evenings relaxing in a pub that has a great warmth to it. Log fires, fully centrally heated, even on a chilly march night you didn't need to tog up to go for your meal, both nights I was in shirt sleeves. One more thing, we had two full days of wall to wall sunshine in the Lake District! Many thanks to Crawford and staff. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    64
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
182
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights from Wednesday 5th March and have to totally agree with the previous review wrote by Andrew. Cannot fault anything at all and sad to read of the "disappointed" review and can only think she was extremely picky! We were more than happy with the room, the food was excellent and all the staff were polite and helpful. I expected to keep the same towels as we were only there 2 nights but we had all fresh ones on the 2nd day and the room and bathroom had been cleaned to perfection. I managed to break the shower head and Crawford immediately had it repaired - mentioned it at breakfast and had been sorted out when we returned to the room. Excellent location for visiting the lakes and the Yew Tree gallery just down the road is well worth a visit. Keep up the good work Crawford and don't let those nit picking reviewers get to you!

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely and quiet and would recommend though i could hear the man in Room 4 snoring but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I live locally and some of the recent negative reviews have been off-
putting.

I would have written a negative review, had there been cause - but there was none.


Four of us ate a varied,
well cooked menu, which contained some 'classics' but also showed good use of local produce. The beer was very well kept and the wine good enough.

If I try hard for a criticism, the crab lasagne was a touch heavy on the lemon - but that's being picky

All in all, very good food at reasonable prices. Recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arrived at the crown in on wednesday 5th March. From the moment we arrived we were met by the pubs owner Crawford, who was very friendly and helpful. The food has been more than excellent and the service was of the same standard. price of the food and the drinks were very reasonable. The roaring log fire added to the ambience of this charming country inn. room were spotless and clean, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff at any time of the day. An excellent 2 day stay, so much so that we have booked to go back for new years eve. As has been said before, dont listen to a bad review, this place is delightful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Heard good reviews about this place. Visited one lunch time and went for the Fish n Chips ...what could possibly go wrong ? ! Disappointed that the batter on the fish was NOT cooked properly -the batter was lovely and crispy on the outside, but yellow and undercooked on the inside. We did highlight this to the young lady who served us. Although she was polite and friendly, she made NO effort to address our concerns

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Lake District in February can be a bleak and wet place. And so it was. But opening the door of the Crown Inn, we were met with a really warm restaurant and bar area - an excellent start. From then on the inn lived up to our expectations. The building is beautiful, 300 years old with original stairs and floors. The room was clean and water was hot for showers. Our 2 evenings were spent eating lovely food and then sitting in front of one of the two log fires.
OK so the room was a little snug; the bed ends did pounce out and stab us when we passed and our TV did not always work properly, but we weren't interested in those things.
Our warm surroundings and the warm welcome were the things that we were interested in. The relaxed atmosphere rubs off on guests too. Thank you all.
Thanks to

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and obliging, comfy clean. The food was amazing and great value, drinks were reasonably priced we will definitely return soon. Cannot understand why anyone would give a negative review.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Newton
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
5.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Property: The Crown Country Inn
Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Country Inn High Newton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing