We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ideal for base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the Crown after a couple of days, No 5 star hotel but good clean accommodation, friendly staff and good food with good variety of choice, ideal base to explore the Lakes and surrounding areas, the bar prices are not eye watering, and the dining area wine list is excellent, overall excellent place to stay can recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chadnetman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    64
    31
    15
    16
See reviews for
35
182
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Given that this restaurant has achieved a 2013 TripAdvisor award, we thought Sunday lunch was a little pedestrian although the carvery looked good. But we were looking for something a little more interesting than standard pub grub, which is what this was - albeit good. The wine list, whilst not extensive (no bad thing) contained some good drinking. The setting is cosy and pleasantly olde worlde and there was a roaring fire going which was nice. Service was excellent, friendly and quick, even to the point of hardly giving us time to finish one course! There were several families eating and it's obviously a popular venue. We'll try it again one evening on a weekday to see if there' s something rather more adventurous then. In the meantime, judgment is reserved.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ferial E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My daughter bought me and my husband this break as a double belated birthday gift. We read the reports and was a little concerned, but we usually read reviews of places we are staying and reserve judgement and hope they are not as bad as some say. I have never wrote a review before (but a bad report is going in for a stay in Lanzarote holiday in March). The stay at The Crown IATA High Newton was lovely the rooms were spotless, staff (including the chef) could not have been more helpfully and pleasant. The food was lovely and well presented, I try a dish I had never had before but it was not to my taste -nothing to do with the way it was cooked. A mushroom mouse was presented before our meal in a little coffee cup free of charge, what can I say about it, I wanted to withhold payment until the chef gave me a lesson on how to make it. It was out of this world. Many thanks to my daughter and son in law for this lovely break. Pity it rained on our second day lol.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2day stay. It offered extremely good value for money - a very cosy, welcoming pub with rooms! Our room was extremely comfortable, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The food was also excellent, overseen by the very hospitable and professional Crawford and his excellent staff. We are looking forward to out next stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights , came home today , we both have to say it was the best 2 nights we have spent in a b&b ever , the owner Crawford was the perfect host nothing was too much trouble, food was excellent and the beer was lovely , open fire lit at night made it even better , the steak and ale pie I had was probably the best I've ever had so much in it , the wife said her lamb just melted in her mouth so congrats to the chef for that . Only downside was we had to come home lol.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a break for my birthday. Lovely oldie worldly feel to this pub/hotel. Small bedroom with no wardrobe just hooks on the wall. Not ideal. However the food in the evening was really good. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, full English with no deviation. There was two types of cereal and orange juice and that was it. A lady sitting at the next table asked if she could gave scrambled egg and the answer was no.

We booked through Groupon and we got the feeling that they didn't like it. No profit in it.

A plus point was the atmosphere in the evening with local musicians entertaining everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

the food we had was good - but the menu choice was very limited and basic - we even asked if there was more. Otherwise nice place and good beer and there were plenty of locals in, which can be a rarity in these parts

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Panic1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Newton
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.9 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Property: The Crown Country Inn
Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Country Inn High Newton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing