We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Why I have rated this as a disappointing poor:-

No deviation on breakfast, ie please can I have scrambled egg - reply "no" also one glass of juice and that was it (plus tea and coffee)

A hook on the door for clothes and that is it!

Nice to have entertainment however no so great if you go to bed early and want a good nights sleep - might aswell have stayed downstairs

Staff in jogging bottoms and t-shirt serving breakfast, not very professional

We never put anything "on the bill" or "on the room" so we were surprised when we had a bill at the end of the stay, we advised them we had all ready paid and they accepted that

Shower was an automatic temperature and could not choose if I wanted it hotter or colder - didn't understand that one?

The majority of staff did their job however I felt a lack of warmth and friendliness with them considering it is a customer service role

We did a groupon deal and did feel that we were "the groupon couple" as the "normal" evening menu had lovely covers and our menu was just a piece of paper, no chance of paying extra for an upgrade with the meal, you were on groupon and that's the menu you get, on the plus side the food we did have was good.

All these points could easily be put right and the place would be a little gem

If I had paid full price I would be extremely disappointed

In view of the above I would not recommend or return - sorry!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JudeNewtownPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    64
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
184
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Popped into the Crown for an impromptu bar meal after a few pints in Cartmel. Had both starter and mains, and some amuse bouche in between as an added bonus. The service was fantastic and the food was spot on in all the right places (thick fillet of fish, pork cheek fell apart). I've paid around £100 for a meal of a similar standard down the road in Windermere, yet this meal came in under £30, with a pint. Very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MTh0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

+Exceptionally friendly staff
+Fantastic food
+Great location as a base for walking etc
+very clean

- on our second night there was a live band downstairs in the bar, it went on until 11.50pm and the noise was intolerable and the bed was vibrating from the bass. If we hadn't walked 15 miles that day then we might have enjoyed being downstairs but we needed a good rest and were unable to have it. CHECK WHEN YOU BOOK and avoid rooms 6 and 7 as they are above the bar.
- our bed was far too hard and after the third night I had back ache

Room Tip: Avoid 6 and 7 - right above the bar and if there is a band in you will not sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I visited the Crown Inn with my girlfriend at the start of May. We went for a quite break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and that's exactly what we got. The Crown is situated about 10/15 mins drive away from Bowness which is perfect if you fancy a meal by the lake before returning for a few drinks in the Crown Bar.

We eat at the Crown 1 night and the food was of a brilliant quality. Portions where huge!

The drinks are cheap and the service fantastic. There was a band on during our stay which gave the place a brilliant atmosphere, we didn't want the night to end.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly. Upon arrival we where shown to our room and left to our own devices, exactly what we wanted.

Couldn't recommend this place enough and will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fantastic place, friendly bar staff, great camaraderie and brilliant location at the low end of the Lakes.

The meals are very nice and the choice, though limited hits the spot and the small breakfast is perfectly formed for a day's exploring.

Will be back again at some point!

Room Tip: Rooms over the high bar/restaurant will be quieter, look out for the ends of the beds as they are de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patdfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Crown is situated in a very quiet village and therefore it is essential to have the evening meal as part of your stay.
The bedroom was small and therefore it didn't have sufficient room for a wardrobe and a lack of storage space. The bathroom was well appointed with good quality sanitary ware and brassware, shower head etc. Unfortunately the shower tray would fill with water and the waste was slow in taking the water away so the tray would quickly overflow as it had a small lip. The door held back some of the water but it would leak into the bathroom where the bath mat would become the sponge plus spare towels! The waste I inspected was clean and must have been looked at recently therefore it can only be the plumbing away from the shower....... it must be evident to the cleaners, particularly with the wet towels. The wash handbasin had a pop up waste that unfortunately wouldn't sit in the waste so water would quickly go from the basin.......irritating when your trying to shave. Other than a couple of cobwebs on the ceiling and a bulb in the shower blown the rest was fine.
The food was reasonable and the staff were excellent and very friendly. The dinner included in the price unfortunately was rather regimented and had to be eaten at 6.30pm which is not always convenient.
Of course there are many places which do not have these niggles, but overall the stay for two nights was a happy one .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamb6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the Crown after a couple of days, No 5 star hotel but good clean accommodation, friendly staff and good food with good variety of choice, ideal base to explore the Lakes and surrounding areas, the bar prices are not eye watering, and the dining area wine list is excellent, overall excellent place to stay can recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chadnetman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Newton
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
486 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
955 reviews
5.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Property: The Crown Country Inn
Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Country Inn High Newton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing