We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously disorganised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seriously disorganised”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are a young couple, who booked in here several weeks before a family wedding. The owner was supposedly a friend of the bride and took our booking over the phone, allocating us a room number, taking our details and card number- we were told payment would be taken on departure. We called on the day of the wedding to say we would be there in the next hour- which appeared fine. When we arrived, the owner told us she had not booked us in but strangely remembered us booking in. Her solution was to sit around saying 'this has never happened before' and 'i remember you booking in, but I just haven't written it down', She had obviously double booked. Instead of sorting the problem she had created, right there and then, her best suggestion was to leave our luggage here, travel to the wedding and then return after the night do (at 1am) and they would 'see what they could do' and 'maybe sort out another hotel for me'. I was no prepared to leave my luggage 7 miles from the wedding venue and remain sober in order to drive back to this place at 1am to see if they had sorted this mess. They had kept us waiting so long that there was now just 1 and a half hours before the wedding began and so I made the decision to leave and look for alternate accommodation. When we found this accommodation it cost us £40 more, but was beautiful, offered leisure facilities and staff were extremely friendly and organised- that place was called the Newby Bridge Hotel. Give this place a miss :) pretty poor attitude to problem solving!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank livvy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    64
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
184
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just arrived home after a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Crown.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with great customer service skills. Food was of a very high standard, especially the evening meal. I would recommend the Venison burger with twice cooked chips, and also the sticky toffee pud! There is good real ale on offer and a fine selection of single malts to choose from.
The room and en-suite were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. If there was a niggle it was only that one or two of the bathroom fittings were a little loose, but this did not affect our enjoyment of the facilities at all.
Our two night break was a £129 Groupon deal, and we feel that we got excellent value for money. We certainly were not made to feel like "the Groupon People" as others have suggested, indeed I cannot praise all the staff highly enough for their efforts and attention.
We will certainly return to the Crown again, and if the Manager goes ahead with his new fishing venture on Lake Windermere it will be sooner, rather than later!
Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Be careful walking around the room in the dark. The legs on the bed in our room jut out from the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here using a living social voucher. Evening meal was very good but breakfast was extremely poor especially if you don't eat meat...then the only choice is fried eggs and fried eggs done cooked badly. Owner at first very friendly and sociable but once you point out in a polite way that perhaps something is not quite right that all changes and he proceeds to scowl and stamp around the place. Bit of a shame as the quality of the food the night before was of a high standard. Toiletries in the room would be appreciated and please take away the sign about no drinking your own drink in the rooms as it is very tacky.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms although adequate are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 435loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawford c, Owner at The Crown Country Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
" QUE !!!! "

On a serious note we do not know who this person is or if they have ever spent a night here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Why I have rated this as a disappointing poor:-

No deviation on breakfast, ie please can I have scrambled egg - reply "no" also one glass of juice and that was it (plus tea and coffee)

A hook on the door for clothes and that is it!

Nice to have entertainment however no so great if you go to bed early and want a good nights sleep - might aswell have stayed downstairs

Staff in jogging bottoms and t-shirt serving breakfast, not very professional

We never put anything "on the bill" or "on the room" so we were surprised when we had a bill at the end of the stay, we advised them we had all ready paid and they accepted that

Shower was an automatic temperature and could not choose if I wanted it hotter or colder - didn't understand that one?

The majority of staff did their job however I felt a lack of warmth and friendliness with them considering it is a customer service role

We did a groupon deal and did feel that we were "the groupon couple" as the "normal" evening menu had lovely covers and our menu was just a piece of paper, no chance of paying extra for an upgrade with the meal, you were on groupon and that's the menu you get, on the plus side the food we did have was good.

All these points could easily be put right and the place would be a little gem

If I had paid full price I would be extremely disappointed

In view of the above I would not recommend or return - sorry!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JudeNewtownPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Popped into the Crown for an impromptu bar meal after a few pints in Cartmel. Had both starter and mains, and some amuse bouche in between as an added bonus. The service was fantastic and the food was spot on in all the right places (thick fillet of fish, pork cheek fell apart). I've paid around £100 for a meal of a similar standard down the road in Windermere, yet this meal came in under £30, with a pint. Very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MTh0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

+Exceptionally friendly staff
+Fantastic food
+Great location as a base for walking etc
+very clean

- on our second night there was a live band downstairs in the bar, it went on until 11.50pm and the noise was intolerable and the bed was vibrating from the bass. If we hadn't walked 15 miles that day then we might have enjoyed being downstairs but we needed a good rest and were unable to have it. CHECK WHEN YOU BOOK and avoid rooms 6 and 7 as they are above the bar.
- our bed was far too hard and after the third night I had back ache

Room Tip: Avoid 6 and 7 - right above the bar and if there is a band in you will not sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I visited the Crown Inn with my girlfriend at the start of May. We went for a quite break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and that's exactly what we got. The Crown is situated about 10/15 mins drive away from Bowness which is perfect if you fancy a meal by the lake before returning for a few drinks in the Crown Bar.

We eat at the Crown 1 night and the food was of a brilliant quality. Portions where huge!

The drinks are cheap and the service fantastic. There was a band on during our stay which gave the place a brilliant atmosphere, we didn't want the night to end.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly. Upon arrival we where shown to our room and left to our own devices, exactly what we wanted.

Couldn't recommend this place enough and will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Newton
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
485 reviews
5.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
381 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Property: The Crown Country Inn
Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Country Inn High Newton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing