We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a wonderful weekend away. The room was great,food divine, view fabulous.Staff were really helpful.There isn't a swimming pool or fitness centre, but you can walk up past the Crown and see the wonderful views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caj26-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This in only a pub with rooms.Groupon Deals are usually very good.We were on a 2 night deal.The evening meal was only ordinary and you had to pay extra for a sweet and for coffee.we were in a claustrophobic almost a boxroom with 3 hangers on the back of the door for a wardrobe.The draws were so small you couldn't use them.wifi didn't work.But the staff we very pleasant. No sign of the owners.It was very clean no probs there.its also miles from anywhere .

Room Tip: Pay for a better room and take your wallet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chippyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night break at The Crown Inn. Firstly I would say to anyone reading reviews please ignore any negative reviews as these are obviously from people who get a kick out of complaining.
We booked on a deal that included 2 night B&B with a 2 course meal on the first night. The food was amazing. I had cauliflower cheese and cider soup and sausage and mash. The soup is the best soup I have ever tasted. The food was so good we decided to eat at The Crown on the second night. Again, amazing food. The room was very comfortable and clean, good sized shower which was appreciated as my husband has a disability.
Crawford and Lesley are lovely friendly hosts. I must also mention the lovely staff as they put the H into Hospitality. I can think of a number of places we have stayed where the staff could learn a lot from these lovely girls. They are an asset to The Crown Inn and I do hope Crawford and Lesley give them a lovely bonus at Christmas!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pavarottiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Crown. We arrived around 4pm and we were shown to our room (room 2) by the owner. The room is fairly small but very clean with nice view over the green and towards the Fell. The on suite bathroom was modern and again very clean. As the first night included an evening meal we were given a slightly restricted menu, however that still gave plenty of choice. The meal was excellent no complaints at all.
However on the second night we were presented with the full menu and things just got better. If you love your food you will love the Crown. I had the starter of asparagus with duck egg and bacon and it was perfect. The main course was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten, it's call presentation of beef. 3 different cuts of beef cooked so well that you could eat it with out the need of teeth. Most of the food on the menu is provided by the owners own farm not far away in the Lythe Valley and the quality of the produce used shows through.
We would recommend the Crown with out hesitation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arcrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just enjoyed an excellent week-end at The Crown - staff and owners very friendly, Acccommodation clean and stylish. Food excellent - a la carte menu short but well thought out and excellently presentation with little extras at no extra cost.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are a young couple, who booked in here several weeks before a family wedding. The owner was supposedly a friend of the bride and took our booking over the phone, allocating us a room number, taking our details and card number- we were told payment would be taken on departure. We called on the day of the wedding to say we would be there in the next hour- which appeared fine. When we arrived, the owner told us she had not booked us in but strangely remembered us booking in. Her solution was to sit around saying 'this has never happened before' and 'i remember you booking in, but I just haven't written it down', She had obviously double booked. Instead of sorting the problem she had created, right there and then, her best suggestion was to leave our luggage here, travel to the wedding and then return after the night do (at 1am) and they would 'see what they could do' and 'maybe sort out another hotel for me'. I was no prepared to leave my luggage 7 miles from the wedding venue and remain sober in order to drive back to this place at 1am to see if they had sorted this mess. They had kept us waiting so long that there was now just 1 and a half hours before the wedding began and so I made the decision to leave and look for alternate accommodation. When we found this accommodation it cost us £40 more, but was beautiful, offered leisure facilities and staff were extremely friendly and organised- that place was called the Newby Bridge Hotel. Give this place a miss :) pretty poor attitude to problem solving!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
12  Thank livvy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just arrived home after a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Crown.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with great customer service skills. Food was of a very high standard, especially the evening meal. I would recommend the Venison burger with twice cooked chips, and also the sticky toffee pud! There is good real ale on offer and a fine selection of single malts to choose from.
The room and en-suite were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. If there was a niggle it was only that one or two of the bathroom fittings were a little loose, but this did not affect our enjoyment of the facilities at all.
Our two night break was a £129 Groupon deal, and we feel that we got excellent value for money. We certainly were not made to feel like "the Groupon People" as others have suggested, indeed I cannot praise all the staff highly enough for their efforts and attention.
We will certainly return to the Crown again, and if the Manager goes ahead with his new fishing venture on Lake Windermere it will be sooner, rather than later!
Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Be careful walking around the room in the dark. The legs on the bed in our room jut out from the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range: £68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Country Inn High Newton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing