We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We booked this hotel on a Living Social deal which was for 2 nights including dinner on the first night. We arrived on a wet afternoon to a very warm welcome by Lesley the proprietor. Our room wasn't the biggest but it was tastefully decorated, clean with comfy beds and had everything we needed.

The food was fabulous, in fact we enjoyed our meal so much on the first night we booked for the 2nd evening. IT was well presented, very tasty and well sized portions. The staff were very friendly and warming. Breakfast was full English(again very tasty and well presented) and cereal. I do love fresh fruit in the morning but that wasn't on offer but i really didn't mind as orange juice was included.

Would highly recommend The for a great place for a break away or just for a meal. Can't wait to go back. Thanks Lesley and your team you gave us a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynneMorris2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    65
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
184
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We took advantage of a Deal Monster 2 night stay which turned out to be not a very happy one. The main problem was not having a functional shower . We reported this immediately, but on return from a day out, we were informed that it could not be fixed until late evening, and were quite unsympathetic to say the least, therefore the total stay was without the use of a shower, cold water only. We also had problems with the toilet not flushing, this was not fixed, but were shown the reason it did not fill, and had to remove the cistern lid every time and push the stuck part to refill.
The menu offered to us for dinner on our first evening was not what we expected, due to the advertised top quality chef no longer being there. We were offered a selection of fish and chips, sausage and mash and another,we therefore paid £20 towards taking the a la Carte menu. The food was enjoyable.
The other problem we had was with the Manageress Lesley who had an aggressive attitude and accused us of complaining. She said we should not have taken a special deal as we expected so much. Our bedroom was very small very basic, no dressing table or mirror in the bedroom area. a small mirror in the bathroom but the shelf under the mirror was missing,
If these problems would not have appeared we probably would have enjoyed ourselves!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ralph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a wonderful weekend away. The room was great,food divine, view fabulous.Staff were really helpful.There isn't a swimming pool or fitness centre, but you can walk up past the Crown and see the wonderful views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caj26-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This in only a pub with rooms.Groupon Deals are usually very good.We were on a 2 night deal.The evening meal was only ordinary and you had to pay extra for a sweet and for coffee.we were in a claustrophobic almost a boxroom with 3 hangers on the back of the door for a wardrobe.The draws were so small you couldn't use them.wifi didn't work.But the staff we very pleasant. No sign of the owners.It was very clean no probs there.its also miles from anywhere .

Room Tip: Pay for a better room and take your wallet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chippyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night break at The Crown Inn. Firstly I would say to anyone reading reviews please ignore any negative reviews as these are obviously from people who get a kick out of complaining.
We booked on a deal that included 2 night B&B with a 2 course meal on the first night. The food was amazing. I had cauliflower cheese and cider soup and sausage and mash. The soup is the best soup I have ever tasted. The food was so good we decided to eat at The Crown on the second night. Again, amazing food. The room was very comfortable and clean, good sized shower which was appreciated as my husband has a disability.
Crawford and Lesley are lovely friendly hosts. I must also mention the lovely staff as they put the H into Hospitality. I can think of a number of places we have stayed where the staff could learn a lot from these lovely girls. They are an asset to The Crown Inn and I do hope Crawford and Lesley give them a lovely bonus at Christmas!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pavarottiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Crown. We arrived around 4pm and we were shown to our room (room 2) by the owner. The room is fairly small but very clean with nice view over the green and towards the Fell. The on suite bathroom was modern and again very clean. As the first night included an evening meal we were given a slightly restricted menu, however that still gave plenty of choice. The meal was excellent no complaints at all.
However on the second night we were presented with the full menu and things just got better. If you love your food you will love the Crown. I had the starter of asparagus with duck egg and bacon and it was perfect. The main course was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten, it's call presentation of beef. 3 different cuts of beef cooked so well that you could eat it with out the need of teeth. Most of the food on the menu is provided by the owners own farm not far away in the Lythe Valley and the quality of the produce used shows through.
We would recommend the Crown with out hesitation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arcrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just enjoyed an excellent week-end at The Crown - staff and owners very friendly, Acccommodation clean and stylish. Food excellent - a la carte menu short but well thought out and excellently presentation with little extras at no extra cost.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Newton
2.8 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
500 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
384 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Property: The Crown Country Inn
Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Country Inn High Newton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing