We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Victorian in the Countryside”
Review of Florentine Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Florentine Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Harvey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastian, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming Victorian in the Countryside”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Florentine Manor proved to be an excellent choice for visiting the Hopewell Cape area. Comfortable room, lovely Victorian, and friendly hostess all added up to a positive experience. The country around the manor proved to be some of the loveliest I've driven through in New Brunswick.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Spent one night here on a recent roadtrip to PEI and back. Beautiful old house decorated with period furnishings. Clean and well kept. Friendly owners and staff. We were travelling with 3 teens and had to rent 3 rooms in order to accomodate us all but the prices were very reasonable. Some of the bathrooms were strangely laid out, but not an issue.

The only issue we had was that as soon as we walked in the door to check in we were all asked what we wanted for breakfast and we were given a list of things to pick from. (I don't know what I'm going to feel like eating that far in advance.) We were then told breakfast was at 8:00am and my son asked 8:00 until when? She then said "Breakfast is served at 8:00am, period." None of the kids were up in time for breakfast.

If my wife and I ever end up in this area again (by our selves) we would definitely stay here again, but I don't think the boys would care to.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We stumbled by accident on this great B&B. The room was very clean and quiet. Private bathroom a bit small but ok. The owner is a reserved person but she takes care to satisfy our preferences, and the breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matoridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, SC
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent one night at Florentine Manor while in the area visiting the Hopewell Rocks. Mary is such a nice person and we really enjoyed meeting her. Our room was great. The property is beautiful. Breakfast was excellent. Take a leisurely drive down the road right in front of the manor - it was a great little surprise we found quite by accident.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We recently stayed two nights here on a family vacation. We were looking for something out of the way of the Fundy coast hustle and bustle, yet close enough to not be a hassle. This choice fits the bill. It is a wonderful old house. Our room was clean and very spacious. The inn's owner, Mary Tingley, is especially welcoming and accomodating. She was also very solicitous of our 11 year old son, which is also noteworthy for us. Breakfast, fruit, muffins, french toast or omlette, was also delicious. Another bonus is there being a great, hidden gem scenic drive that starts right outside the inn. The drive is especially scenic at sunset.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruValM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We enjoyed our time here. The accomodation were spacious with 2 beds, a large room and and a nice bath. Mary is very helpful and the food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Mary is like my wonderful aunt who did everything for me. Cyril is an uncle you just loved to talk with. After almost 30 years they are selling the manor. Saddens me because we would definitely return.

David recommended a B & B near the Hopewell Rocks. While we were out to dinner he called to see if there was room. When we got back from dinner there was a note to call Mary at the Florentine B & B. I did and she had room. I asked for directions and she said blah blah blah DON'T USE THE GPS. I asked why??? She said because you will end up on old and unused logging roads. Alrighty then. I can remember her directions without embarrassing myself to ask her to repeat them. Right?!....also a store owner said it's a wonderful place but DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR GPS!!! And boy were they right. Stupidly I followed my Husbands directions until it was too late to find out he was following the GPS not the map. We couldn't turn around because the bushes were grabbing the sides of the car like claws. We ended up in a very dangerous situation far off the beaten pat with the car stuck balancing on top of a rock in the middle of an old stream bed.

So WHY did we follow the GPS... because the verbal directions went all the way up and then back down but the GPS went straight across. "It will save us half an hour." That's what he said. After 4 hours and several meltdowns we got out and found the manor. We stayed 3 nights instead of one just to recuperate and the car sounded like a Harley.

Mary had her nephew come over and with a few well placed sledge hammer strokes on the back floor - all fixed. We felt like we were in a TV comedy. But hey it worked and he knew were to place the bows.

The food was fresh and prepared while you waited in a lovey sunny room. We also got to bring home left overs from a wonderful lunch and ate in the kitchen like family. What a wonderful place to stay and feel totally welcome. Close to Hopewell rocks which was amazing.

Too bad they're selling the house http://www.bbcanada.com/bb_forsale/florentine

Room Tip: We chose a room in the back and there was not noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvey
20.5 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
86 reviews
21.0 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
39 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Maplegrove Inn
The Maplegrove Inn
#1 of 3 in Riverside Albert
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Parkland Village Inn
9.5 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
14.2 mi away
Captains Inn
Captains Inn
#2 of 5 in Alma
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florentine Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florentine Manor

Property: Florentine Manor
Address: 356 Route 915 | Harvey on The Bay, Harvey, New Brunswick E4H 2M2, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > Harvey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harvey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Florentine Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Florentine Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing