We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Project respond 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mkushi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Inn
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Project respond 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very impressive accommodation, staff helpful and good food as well. I was travelling with the group of 21 people and I was very impressed by the style, cleanliness and very very friendly staff. Strongly recommended and Thank you Sandra and staff for looking after us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    13
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We've stayed here several times over the years and found it to be clean and hospitable and in a wonderful woodland setting. On our last visit we thought it needed a bit of 'tender loving care' as it is starting to look a bit run down. The breakfasts are wholesome and the meal menus, while limited, has a nice variety of dishes. It's the perfect stopover after a long drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpika, Northern, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

The best place to stop between Kapiri and Nakonde. It is set in a beautiful Miombo woodland and the food is simple but freshly prepared. Most importantly for me was that it was clean something most places along this Route lack!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhoda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed there a couple of nights in August. We didn't planned to stop there. We had been obliged by a mechanical problem with our vehicle (rented).
After we spent a night in the middle of nowhere about 30kms from Forest Inn due to the engine problem, we reckoned there was a lodge close to Mkushi, Forest Inn. We were towed there the day after and we decided to stay there waiting for a new vehicle subsitution.
The lodge is very nice, it's located within a very well managed "forest", very clean and relaxing. There is also a campsite just in the middle of the park.
The restaurant is not bad, very basic although aligned with african standards. Personnel is very nice and helpful.
Also rooms are very basic and would deserve some maintenance.
For sure it's not a top market lodge and it canot be compared with lodges in the major parks. But for sure it can be taken ion serious consideration for a stop there, a good stay at a fair price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudygiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Forest Inn is perfectly situated half way between Harare and the Tanzania border for those self drive travelers.
The property is in the most beautiful natural forest right on the main road with well apointed, reasonably priced rooms and a camp site.
The retuarant menu is prety comprehensive, the food good and afordably priced.
The Forest Inn is great value, friendly efficient service in a very convinient location.

Room Tip: The traffic on the main road can be a little noisy at night so look for a room as far back from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Inn

Property: Forest Inn
Address: Great North Road | Farm 2917, Mkushi 60100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Central Province > Mkushi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mkushi
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing