We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stow Maries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince of Wales
Ranked #1 of 1 Stow Maries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Traditional english pub with 4 rooms for those who prefer something different to the usual business hotel. A bit out of the way but well worth the effort. Excellent choice of food and beers plus a complete english breakfast in fornt of the open fire in the morning. Plenty of parking and you are alwats guaranteed a warm welcome from Rob and his staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    17
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
22
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Awesomely good beer, simple but lovely food, friendly staff, chatty locals, a comprehensively wonderful pub

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHarriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have never stayed here, but visit at least once a week for lunch (drive from Leigh-on-Sea). This is a "real pub", completely unspoilt, open log fires, great selection of beers, and fabulous food. Any prospective pub landlords should visit the Prince of Wales to see just what a proper pub should be like, and how it should be run. Our only regret is that we live too far away for it to be our local.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArthurWinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is, at heart, an ale house and one of great repute. There are 6 ever changing cask ales which are usually sourced from local independant breweries and often include at least one or two milds or porters. There are also around 15 other draught beers including three lagers, two ciders and a variety of belgian ales, fruit and trappist beers. Rob the landlord knows just how to keep his beer in top condition and the turnover means that ales are always in great shape. Food is really good, high class bistro pub style with lots of fresh fish, steaks, pies etc and old favouraites like Ham or sausage, egg and chips. There is a fantastic pizza (cooked in the original bread oven) night on Thursdays in the winter, three open fires and some live music on Fridays in the bar.

The rooms are newly built and of extremely high quality, one with a four posters and a full size wet room.

I stay here frequently on business and am only ever disappointed when I phone at short notice sometimes and he is fully booked! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Four poster with wetroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCreosote21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here on 17th Sept 2011. We had a warm welcome, the rooms are VERY clean and quite comfortable enough for a one night stay. Lovely bathrooms - spotless!
The rooms are a little apart from the pub itself so you should have a nice quiet evening if that's what you want. We were elsewhere for the evening. You do get some traffic noise from the road beside the pub but it would not prevent us staying here again.
Breakfast (full English) was beautifully cooked and very tasty. We did not eat any other meal on this occassion but have been reliably informed that the food here is great.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, each room is decorated slightly differently but both ours and our friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yiayia2jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow Maries
5.3 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Oakland Hotel Ltd
The Oakland Hotel Ltd
#14 of 22 in Chelmsford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.8 mi away
Frasers Guest House
Frasers Guest House
#1 of 2 in Battlesbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: Woodham Road, Stow Maries CM3 6SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stow Maries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stow Maries
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Stow Maries, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing