We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Winter Break, Warm & Welcoming”
Review of Hotel Pichlmayrgut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Winter Break, Warm & Welcoming”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

After having read a few reviews on here just before we left for our snowboarding trip we were worried but thankfully, we needn't have been! The hotel has a fantastic location right opposite the slopes and the hotel courtesy bus collected us from Schladming train station and the reception girls were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived. It's apparent that not many English people visit this hotel as the signs are all only in German (and we don't speak a word) but the staff had no problem in explaining everything to us and were always helpful and polite.

The hotel is very Austrian and traditional in design and certain areas of it are a little tired and in need of a facelift but that didn't stop us from enjoying an amazing 10 days. The hotel are very good of taking care of little details such as the minibus that's on standby to take you to and from the slopes whenever you want (a journey that only takes about 4 minutes) and the boot room is very large and well equipped with lots of lovely warmers for your gloves and boots. Also, the design of the hotel means that it's possible to go from your room (wherever you are) to all the other areas without having to step outside which was a luxury when it was snowing heavily and we were in our dressing gowns.

The biggest surprise was the quality of the food, it was absolutely excellent - breakfast is a help yourself buffet with plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurts, salmon, meats, cereals etc as well as the cooked options. Cake o clock every day between 3-5pm is brilliant for when you come off the mountain or out of the spa - every day there was a fresh soup option as well as an extensive choice of patisserie cakes and desserts, all help yourself along with complimentary teas, coffee or hot chocolate. Dinner in the evening was a 6 course meal (3 of which are help yourself) in the restaurant which had a lovely vibe about it, very relaxed but superb quality. There are quite a few traditional dishes served but there was always a Vegetarian option which was great and the desserts every night were fantastic. The waiting staff in the restaurant spoke fantastic English and we enjoyed good service every night. (the soups are fantastic and a must try!)

One thing we were really disappointed with was the fact that everyone smokes which is quite different from the UK and after dinner there isn't a non smoking area so you can't enjoy a coffee of evening drink without passive smoking. Also, many people in the afternoon also smoke in the cake area and this includes cigars (they have a cigar cabinet) so that was quite intrusive and could be easily fixed with a non smoking area, on a couple of afternoons the smoke was so strong we ended up moving.

The pictures on the Hotel website of the spa don't do it justice - it's a huge spa area and even in peak times we didn't find it too crowded. During the day the spa was often empty so you could enjoy the sun room or by the pool and be the only person there! We did have a day off from the slopes and spent the day in the spa but when we wanted to eat lunch we were told we'd have to change into clothes which was annoying - after negotiating with reception we were finally allowed to eat in a private dining are but it's daft considering many people visit the hotel for spa breaks, there should be somewhere for lunch and coffees in your gowns. One nice touch was that in your hotel room you are given a spa bag which contains your robes, slippers and daily fresh towels although the robes are a little holey and need of replacing. The hotel gym is also much better than you'd expect, there's not any music but the equipment is new and there's plenty to allow you to complete a full rounded work out. (whilst looking out onto the slopes) All the signs in the spa were in German so to be honest, we had NO idea about spa etiquette or opening times but didn't seem to be a problem, lots of people wearing costumes, trunks but a lot that also enjoyed it all in the nude too!

The hotel is a bit of a trip from the nearest town if you don't have a car and nightlife at the hotel is non existent but the hotel taxi offers cheaper rates for journeys than the local taxi firms. We tried the night time 7km sledging and the hotel dropped us off for free but couldn't collect us and it cost 30 euros with a local guy.

Every morning there is a daily post on your breakfast table and although this was in German they did print it in English when we requested it - as well as the weather info and evening menu choices it also detailed activities going on during the day, guided walks, yoga and trip to the market etc.

We had a brilliant trip overall and will definitely return because we ran out of time and didn't get to try the indoor tennis courts, squash or bowling alleys, all of which looked great.

This is a traditional, slightly quirky place but with a really good staff and very welcoming feel and absolutely excellent food.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room in the Rotwild House and it was definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrandMrsHBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    67
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
61
114
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I visited Austria in January and the hotel of choice was Pichlmayrgut. It was 4.5 hours from Vienna by train. After spending 2 days in Vienna, I travelled to Schaldming and reached there by evening. The railway station pick service was available and it helped me to avoid communication problems and confusions on the way to the hotel. The front desk people were nice and helping even though they were less fluent in English. The location is ideal and have an awesome mountaion for sking and snow boarding near by. The food was good and rooms were neat & clean. Housekeeping staffs were local people and had some tough time in communicating with them. Over all, I suggest this hotel for a winter vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yadu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Do yourself a favor and do not book on this hotel.
I just had a holiday on this winter together with my wife on this hotel and I feel sorry for the choice I've made.
The service of this hotel was terrible! I would rate it with no more that 2 stars!
The window of our room could not close good, the wall was dirty after the previous guest opened I think a bottle of champagne, the hair dryer functioned only for 1 minute and after that it stopped, in the first 2 days we had no safe deposit box in the room. There was spider canvas on the ceiling and a LOT of dust on top on the closet. The curtain of the window had a hole, I think was burned with a cigarette. On 2 evenings, just before to prepare for the dinner there was COLD WATER on the shower for about 1 hour. The second time happened in 31.December when we had to prepare for the new year's party!! Unbelievable!
Then on the sauna a lot of things do not function, there was lights hanging out in the wires from the sealing, missing tap and pieces of the hose in the steam sauna, sometimes the lights inside the sauna functions and sometimes not.
On the other hand we have asked the managers if it's possible to receive the morning post in English language, but this happened only in 1 morning from all 7 days that we spent there.
Some of the waiters on the bar was really rude and ignoring the clients.
On the final bill when we booked out, there was a lot of extra charges for some taxes, even thou we had them included and already paid by our traveling agency. Also a lot of bills for drinks from the bar that we didn't had! It was really not nice, but I had to stay and sort each bill to say if the drinks on the bill was really for us or not.
I have read before the reviews on the site for this hotel and thou there were people complaining about it, I could not believe in the beginning, I was thinking that they are too exigent. But now I see they were right and I feel a bit sorry, cause with the money I paid for this hotel I could find a better service, at least with real 4 star service.
I will read better and pay more attention to the reviews on my next choice.

Room Tip: Only positive think I could find on this hotel was free wifi in the lobby. But all the rest did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The in-house restaurant is traditional and fairly charming. Though the service and food were good, we were given such a small portion that we really felt short changed after our meal.
At Euro 12,50 for goulash we expected a hearty meal like most place in Schladming would serve. The chef had the gaul to put 3 small cubes of meat onto a plate. I have no intention of ever eating here again. We also cut our meal short, and instead of enjoying desert and coffee we left.
The hotel is a big sprawling resort on the side of the mountain with lovely views, but as a resident of the town we will never eat here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had a very good one week long vacation in Pichlmayrgut. The room was acceptable, it faced the main road but it was surprisingly quiet. We only woke up when the cleaning lady started the vacuum cleaner at 8am, the noise of the traffic was never this loud.
The hotel is a kind of labirynth, several buildings connected through the basement, first day I could not find the garage but with this zigzags you avoid to walk in the cold from one building to another or even to the restaurant.
The food was remarkable - enormous selection at breakfast and quality 4-course menu in the evening, and the staff was nice and friendly.
They have a very impressive wellness unit - different types of saunas, steam bath and pools for all purposes. My children enjoyed the pools a lot.
Since it was not ski season, beginning of November, we were skiing two days on Dachstein Gletcher, slopes are for beginners but the view is breathtaking. Please note that you are above 3000m, oxygen is rare there - I thought I had a heart attack after one hour skiing but it only took time that my body got used to the rare oxygen, so do not panic just relax a little and inhale deeply.
The other days we were hiking which is a must, fresh air and scenic view everywhere, the hotel staff was very helpful in informing us about the hiking possibilities.
It was a good holiday, little bit overpriced the hotel, but we did not mind, we had a great time - not entirely because of the hotel but the Dachstein region's beauties.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is the second time we have enjoyed this beautiful Hotel and on this occasion, we were able to really take the time to check out the many activities available in and nearby the Resort. Besides being located in one of the most picturesque regions in Austria, this property is beautifully maintained and appointed. The staff are very professional and courteous and it made it even more memorable to see the same friendly faces as last year in the Restaurant.
The spa & recreation facilities are extensive with pools, saunas and steam rooms set amongst a labyrinth of grottoes and enclaves offering tranquil privacy or open areas suitable for groups to gather. All the while, you can take in a majestic view of the picturesque mountains and charming hilltop houses.
We went on two walks enjoying local mountain restaurants that offered superb hospitality and quality fare. The brilliantly sunny weather made these walks so enjoyable, showcasing the region at its best during the cool Autumn season.
The variety of cuisine available everyday is unbelievable making it difficult to deny yourself from over-indulging and tasting it all. From the lovely coffee, cakes and snacks served in the afternoon to the sumptuous dinner offered each evening, you are really spoilt for choice.
Above all, the family-operated property is somewhere to return to time and time again - in any season. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicethingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Rooms have seen better times (bathroom's window broken in their best room - sissi) room 333 with broken cieling
food very good
Cosmetic also good
massage to be avoided the 2 ladies responsible miss the basics
not far from slops shuttle bus available but watch out in case you have small kids. Once we were 15 min late and ask the hotel to pick up the kids give them the key and send them to the room. They told us "no problem" and forgot our kids. When we arrived we found them in the cold garage alone crying.
I would recommend it only if you find a good offer what we paid was too much for what we got

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sscc0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schladming hotels
4.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
2.4 mi away
Hotel Schwaigerhof
Hotel Schwaigerhof
#1 of 4 in Rohrmoos-Untertal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#7 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#4 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.9 mi away
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
#8 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pichlmayrgut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pichlmayrgut

Property: Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Address: Pichl 54, Schladming 8973, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pichlmayrgut 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel Pichlmayrgut near Schladming in Styria in the beautiful Austrian Alps is a true holiday paradise with authentic village character and comfort and recreational facilities at the highest level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pichlmayrgut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing