We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations! Great hotel all around...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posthotel Schladming
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Exceeded expectations! Great hotel all around...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

At first glance the hotel looked a bit faded and homely, but our 6 day stay changed our minds. This is a warm, first class hotel in the traditional sense - great way to experience Austrian hospitality!

Rooms were a bit small for our North American liking and without a bathtub; however Julia and front desk staff were able to move us after a few days. Bathrooms were very nice though but the sliding glass door in our first room was noisy and annoying.

Food service and quality was excellent! Ever patient dining staff like Ramona, were kind and professional, the variety of local dishes interesting and delicious.

Other features:
Central location with parking, makes it easy to get around town and to the lifts;
Free access to internet/wireless.

We tend to be quite fussy about hotels; however, in this case, it was a wonderful experience all around!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSL_Vcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    26
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
36
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

decent low budget hotel with neat and clean rooms. Very good vegetarian food.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank mazejeevangane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

This is a first class hotel for singles and couples with excellent service, food and hospitality. Along with others we have been to this hotel for the last three years and enjoy the whole atmosphere that is made by the friendly and seriously helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

I had booked the hotel via its web site and received via e-mail an offer with request of confirmation, but when the next day (and well within 24 hours from this e-mail) I went to confirm in person, I discovered that the room had already been taken since the morning. When I complained, the girl at the reception simply made a few phone calls to find a replacement, and - when she did not succed - she said that it was my fault, that I should have confirmed before, that she had done all she could and that now it was none of her business, it was my problem and good luck.

  • Disliked — booking management, reception
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AleAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

We stayed 5 nights in the Post Hotel in Mar 08 and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The staff were very friendly, for the mostpart.

The food was varied and generally very high quality.

Our room was newly refurbished as were other that we could see as they were being cleaned.

The location is great - in the pedestrianised centre. It is a very short walk to the ski lifts (max 3 mins).

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CG2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

We stayed at the Post for Christmas 2007 and would have no hesitation to recommend the hotel.

The new owners have refurbished the common areas and rooms to provide a high standard of comfort with a modern theme but keeping the tradition of an old post inn. The service and hospitality is exactly what we would expect from a quality Austrian hotel. Marina and Christian are excellent hosts - on Christmas Eve we were all invited to gather outside in the square for gluhwein around log fires, followed by carol singing with the family and a superb meal.

The Planai lift is less than 5 minutes walk away and being in the square at Christmas has a special feeling. The hot chestnut stall was a particular favourite whilst the hotel also have an apres ski and evening bar/lounge there called Cabalou which has a relaxed feel but again with efficient service.

We could not fault the "new" Alte Post!

  • Liked — The whole package!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaileyWilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2006

I am just back from a weeks holiday at the alte post hotel, schladming.
we were concerned after reading reviews from last year but were very pleasantly surprised.
The hotel had a change of ownership in October 2005 and it shows.
The staff were very helpful and professional, the food is excellent - a huge breakfast buffet, afternoon tea and cake and a 6 course meal for 5 days and a wonderful buffet on the last night.
There is a nice bar and some comfy chairs/sofas off of reception with free internet access in reception.
our room was one of the cheaper options but had a good bathroom with lashings of hot water, tv. mini bar, good bed and was very clean. the decor in some of the older room may need a bit of an update but overall they were very nice.
the boot room and ski room are a little small but your not in there for long!
the location is superb; on the main pedestrian area with shops and bars near by (we did not find these noisy but we were on the 3rd floor). the main planai lift is only a five minute level walk away.
i hope readers of the reviews will read these most recent entries and give the Alte Post a chance.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank juliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
0.2 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#3 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#8 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#4 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
#7 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posthotel Schladming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Schladming

Property: Posthotel Schladming
Address: Hauptplatz 10 | 870 Schladming, Schladming Schladming, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Schladming
#9 Spa Hotel in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Posthotel Schladming 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posthotel Schladming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posthotel Schladming Hotel Schladming
Posthotel Hotel Schladming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing