We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent return trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenhotel Waldfrieden
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent return trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned, for the second year in succession from Rohrmoos near Schladming, staying again at the Alpenhotel Rohrmoos. The Hotel has maintained its high standards of hospitality, facilities and altogether friendliness in this family run hotel. The snow conditions were great dispite little snow on arrival (they have worked the slopes well and it was light fluffy snow, not compacted) but good snow in the middle part of the week. The hotel staff are great and I'd highly recommend the hotel for a comfortable stay and too be well looked after, in summer or winter. I did tend to find the hotel too warm, which seems a strange thing to say; but I had to keep opening windows. The evening meals weren't as good as last year and seemed to have a lot of salt which impaired flavours, meat and fish were well overcooked, plus too many creamy sauces killing flavours rather than the use of cleaner jus's. But as said its a lovely hotel and the food issues were overall small in comparison to the rest.

Room Tip: If you want a cooler room 501,2, & 3 facing the rear of the hotel and closest to the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We returned from Rohrmoos just up the mountain outside of Schladming. Rohrmoos is a very small village set at about 1000m asl and has access to lovely pistes and scenery. The Hotel is situated directly on the slopes so your can ski in and out whenever you want. The Stocker family own and run the hotel. It is exceptionally well presented hotel, immaculate inside with great facilities, with a beautiful pool, large sauna/steam room area, relaxation lounge, fitness room etc along with boot and ski room. The breakfast is fab, very comprehensive, lots to chose from and the evening dinner is 5 courses, of which you pre-chose the main the night before. The drink and wine prices are very reasonable and Austrian wine is pretty OK. Lunch times for residents can be up the mountain in one of the 4 peaks you can chose from, ot the hotel lays on a couple of soups and breads, which don't cost any addition, so a nice touch if you want to ski back. The apre-ski is usually at the end of the day taken in the Hotel directly opposite at the base of the Hochwurzen lifts. The rooms are immaculate, well serviced and have balconies to see the lovely views. The owners and family running the hotel, the always cheerful and helpful, Kurt and Karin Stocker have a lovely team supporting them and nothing is any problem. Definitely want to return next year, the week went far too quick :-(

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was the 2nd time my husband and I (ages 47& 34, no kids) stayed at Waldfrieden, the first time was in the summer of 2008. Even back then, the food and service was already very good. When we returned this year for a ski holiday, the owners had made improvements to the wellness area to include a heated pool and several saunas. But the service and friendly atmosphere remained the same. It is very convenient for beginners because you can ski directly from the hotel to the nursery slope. It is also walking distance to one of the most popular apres ski locations, taueralm.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families, and especially for people who are looking for quality food. Their dinner always includes a choice between four excellent dishes, and the breakfast buffet has a good selection.
For those looking to visit Schladming town, it is only a short, 7 minute drive.

Room Tip: We always had a room with a view of the Dachstein, which was a pretty amazing site to wake up to in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindTravelWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

My husband and i (ages 27&30, no kids) visited the Waldfrieden Alpenhotel for the first time in January 2008 and we were genuinely impressed with the hotel, its staff and the service we received.
It is a family run hotel (as many Austrian hotels are) and the pride they have in providing an excellent holiday destination to their guests is obvious.
The rooms are spacious, quite newly decorated and ours offered a great view across the slopes.
The bathroom was also a good size and neatly maintained.
We found the Stocker family very helpful and pleasant, although for those who dont speak Austrian/German you may struggle (luckily for me my husband speaks the language).
What i particularly liked was the website very accurately reflected the hotel and wasnt simply showing the best bits.
The food was good and the restaurant very pleasant also.
One of the very best aspects for us was that as this hotel is halfway up the mountain (great for ski in ski out) it is miles away from the main nightlife in the town of Schladming...HOWEVER there is a superb bar literally across the road from this hotel, called the Tauernalm. So after dinner every night it was possible to wander about 20 steps to a friendly, spacious and well kept bar in a typical Austrian style.
Obviously you can get the bus down to the centre of Schladming from right outside the hotel but if, like us, you were simply looking for a nearby bar with a great atmosphere, you cant go wrong at the Tauernalm and this proved to be a great addition to our stay in the Waldfrieden.
I would totally recommend this hotel and resort to families and couples alike.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean room with English tv
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fi_Lpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schwaigerhof
Hotel Schwaigerhof
#1 of 4 in Rohrmoos-Untertal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#7 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#3 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
2.2 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#4 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Waldfrieden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Waldfrieden

Property: Alpenhotel Waldfrieden
Address: Rohrmoosstrasse 110 | Rohrmoos, Schladming 8971, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Waldfrieden 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpenhotel Waldfrieden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing