We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Hotel Sonnschupfer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonnschupfer
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We can recommend the hotel to everybody. Even outside of Schladming it is still not far to reach it. The rooms are pretty nice and with half-pension you will not do a mistake. The only thing we did not like was a children playroom which is almost underground and you really do not feel well with small child there.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Michal7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhard G, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnschupfer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our house!
We are very pleased, that you enjoyed your time here in Schladming, staying with us.
We will think about your suggestion with the playing room for kids and try to make it more comfortable for our families!
It would be a pleasure to have you here again in Schladming and sending you nice regards!
Your Sonnschupfer-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have stayed in this wonderful hotel for 10 days during my last vacation in Austria. Location is fantastic, bright, modern, clean rooms, excellent cuisine. The owner of the hotel was very helpful and friendly, in few words the perfect place for a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liviu1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhard G, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnschupfer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2015

Thank you so much for your nice feedback!
We are very happy about, that you enjoyed your stay so much!
When we read your heading-ling "pice of heaven", we couln´t explain it better ;-)
Thank you very much for your assistance and looking forward to another heavenly stay!
Nice regards from Schladming!
Your Sonnschupfer-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent 5 nights here while skiing in the Schladming area. We choose the Sonnschupfer based upon it's reviews and we were not disappointed. The Hotel was re-done from the ground floor up in time for the 2011-12 season. Everything is new and all worked well. This is a family run hotel and they are onsite to serve and help you.Half board (breakfast & dinner) were included and both were more than satisfactory. Much of the food is farm fresh, including from the family's farm.

The hotel location is not within walking distance of the center of Schladming, so a car or use of the ski bus (that stops directly at the hotel) is a must. However after a long day of skiing we were always ready to come back to relax. The hotel has a wellness center for those needing to do more than crash in their rooms at the end of a long day. The area around the hotel has many hiking trails that provide interesting and varied walks.

While not inexpensive the hotel is immaculate and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: Most rooms face south, which gives you a view of the valley and the nearby ski runs, so ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The hotel is refurbished and rooms are very comfortable. People here mentioned the light from the street or valley - our room was with blackout curtains, so we could sleep very well. Breakfast is perfect to start your skiing day, evening meals are delicious (bravo, cheff)! Wellness area is spacious and we relaxed there every day after skiing.
We used the local skibus (we use car every day at home and this is perfect occasion for us to relax from driving :-))
The area is very calm, out of town - that is what we prefer. If you expect night life with bars and going shopping, be prepared to drive to Schladming (5 minutes by car).
The staff was always smiling and helpful - I mean the young black hair lady and the blond hair guy in reception. The only point to be improved was the service from the lady (middle aged) that served once at breakfast - no "good morning", just barking "coffee?", cleaning tables (taking and bringing candles on our table and being noisy running in and out..) she spoiled our breakfast and we were lucky it was only one day :-)))
To summarize - we enjoyed our stay so much that we wish to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Ok, so this was the 3rd time i was staying in this hotel, and the second time since it has been renovated. The rooms, and the hotel is flawless as it is, the food is to die for, the staff is very friendly. So this is the perfect hotel for a ski holiday, (and I've stayed in quite a few hotels, I can tell you that). I can also tell you that this is the most expensive hotel i've ever stayed in, you can score four star hotels cheaper in New York City or Hong Kong (to be fair those rates did not include any food). But than again, top notch ski resorts seldom favor the bargain hunter. So after all this is actually good value compared to what else is out there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubapeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel in the end of this year. Very nice new furnished hotel. Rooms and the whole hotel is very clean. Nice view from the restaurant, excellent food and very pleasant staff. Cca 10 min. to centre of Schladming or to Planai Station by car. It is also possible to take the bus - bus station is in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puntaPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed 4 nights on half board in September and really liked the modern, clean, very well designed rooms. Lovely setting outside Schladming on hillside with great views (need a car). Staff very helpful and provided a relaxed atmosphere. Dinners were wholesome and good standard breakfasts. Superb value for money and would love to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schladming hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mitterhofer
Hotel Mitterhofer
#14 of 35 in Schladming
60 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Zirngast
Hotel Zirngast
#6 of 35 in Schladming
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#4 of 35 in Schladming
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#11 of 35 in Schladming
185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
2.6 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#2 of 35 in Schladming
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnschupfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnschupfer

Address: Obere Klaus 48, Schladming 8970, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range: £111 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sonnschupfer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and central, family atmosphere and personal. Your Hotel Sonnschupfer in Schladming will spoil you with all the comforts you desire during your holiday in Austria.In our completely refurbished hotel Styrian charm blends with modern convenience. The welcoming atmosphere also adds to your well-being.Comfortable rooms ensure your well-being during your holiday in Schladming, Austria. Click your way through our wide range of package offers and take a look at our attractive rates.Your hosts, the Gerhardter family, have arranged the hotel so that it is suitable in part for the disabled. Thus not only families with prams feel at home and welcome at the modern Hotel Sonnschupfer in Schladming but also older guests, disabled guests and those using a wheelchair.Get to know the most beautiful part of the Schladming-Dachstein holiday region in Austria and spend your summer holiday or winter holiday in Styria.Relax in the wellness area and indulge in culinary delicacies in the cosy restaurant.Our sommelier, Reinhard Gerhardter, will ensure perfect harmony between the best Austrian and international wines and the dishes chosen by you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sonnschupfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing