We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only lacks a comfortable bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kirchenwirt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirchenwirt Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Only lacks a comfortable bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We chose this hotel for its central location and traditional character and for both of these we were very pleased. Enjoyed our stay and our only disappointment was the absence of anywhere comfortable to sit and read in the evenings. At the front of the hotel there is a bar but it is actually a restaurant with very uncomfortable wooden bench seats. Although we were never turned away from sitting there for an hour or so with a drink, we felt as if we were taking up a table that they could have been using for serving meals. As a resident in the hotel, we felt there should have been somewhere for us to sit and relax especially as the hotel appears to have plenty of space. Our meals (on half board) were served in a large dining room at the back – extremely busy and noisy at dinner time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was fine, typical Austrian dishes and a different meat every day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed week com 18th January we had a front facing room, which had a shower room and a separate toilet. The bed had a wooden canopy over it which was a feature of the room. The room was a little dated with a mixture of furnishings but plenty big enough with space and storage areas.
Breakfast offered was a continental style which is served in the front restaurant which is typically Austrian, it is shame that this was not used for the evening meals, Although this area is busy with other customers in the evening.

The evening meals consisted of the soup of the day, choice of three main courses ( plus other options including spaghetti Bolognese) with a dessert or ice cream option. As previously stated often the main meal was a pork option. The food was basic compared to other Austrian hotels we have stayed in but tasty and sufficient, this is served in the room at the back which is fairly open and lacks atmosphere but does get busy with larger groups of customers. Also there is not really a bar area but it quite nice to go out for a wander after dinner and lots of local bars nearby.
The hotel itself is very old and lots of family history and photos are in the reception area, the older owner still frequents the hotel and there is definitely a family feel which is really nice. The main waiter was always really helpful and friendly and again made us feel very welcome. Christina on the reception was also very friendly and helpful.
There are three floors to the hotel with no lift and then a basement for ski storage, I would recommend having a locker at the gondola station for just 20€ it's completely brand new and so easy as it's a little walk to the gondola with skis, however the hotel is perfectly placed for bars and shops right in the main town square.

Schladming itself it a lovely town with a great skiing area, four areas easily linked, there has been a lot of development on the mountain with new lifts and gondolas, some with escalators instead of stairs which is a real result in ski boots!!! Not the best resort for beginners as lots of red runs!!

Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed at the Kirchenwirt w/c 25/1/2014 for a Ski trip. Well located for the main square and the Planai lift. All the staff were really friendly particularly Christina on reception and "Basil" the Head waiter who despite being Slovakian loves British TV comedies in particular Fawlty Towers. Our abiding memory is his "Silly Walk" as he returned to the kitchen after he had served our dinner one night. Food was good . No complaints would definately stay there again Winter or Summer

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very pleasant family run hotel in central Schladming. Quirky , and somewhat old fashioned , but not in any way unpleasant . A very entertaining headwaiter - a real character. Good food. Nice cosy bar/restaurant. Homely rooms and atmosphere. Can be noisy outside in the square (Sat night only) so if you are a light sleeper,request a room at the rear ! Would have no reservation in returning and I noticed they do a lot of repeat business. Stayed there for a ski trip on 13th Jan 2014. Only 6/7 minutes walk to main gondola and ski storage -very handy !.

Room Tip: Light sleepers - get a room at the rear !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin p G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed new year ski holiday 2013/14.
The hotel is in the town centre and was about 8 minutes walk to the planai gondola and great position for a wander around town.
Our room was plenty big enough for two with en suite, and plenty hot water.
The hotel has two restaurants with the kitchen right in the middle and the food was excellent, plenty of choice with good home cooked Austrian fayre. We were on a half board basis but the staff were very flexible with my daughter and we were allowed to go off piste and ate a few different dishes from their main menu and they adapted to our needs and choices even making me a meal I fancied on the mountain for me one evening. Every day the smell of home cooking filled the place, fantastic. It looked to me all the locals ate here as well which tells a story as far as I'm concerned.
My thanks to Albert the Manager, Christina on reception and Vladimeer who served us most mornings and evenings, as nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel oozes old Austrian charm and it's steeped in history with it being in the same family for such as long time since before the war I think and it's kept its traditional roots.
Well done all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We booked with Crystal and stayed here in March 2013 for a ski holiday - three women sharing a room on the 3rd floor. This hotel could not have been better for us. It was really good value. It was clean, comfortable, quiet and in a great central location. I liked that it was a family run hotel with character and an authentic Austrian feel - and with wonderful Schladminger beer on draught. The staff were marvellous - helpful, friendly, interesting people. I had my birthday while we were there. The hotel surprised me with a truely delicious cake and then Albert (of the Familie Tritscher) opened a few bottles and somehow created a inpromptu birthday party for me of all the other guests who were still in the restaurent, which was a blast! This hotel makes you feel really welcome. It somehow manages to completely look after everyone as individuals without over doing it. We had a magnificent holiday. I absolutely recommend the Kirchenwirt Hotel and skiing in Schladming. Oh, and we skied on the last day after checking out and the hotel allowed us to use their last newly cleaned vacant room to shower before our departure. You can't ask for more!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinShotford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at several hotels in Schladming, including the supposed "best" one the Royer. However, Id say that if you're looking for a hotel that is clean, friendly and central; this is your best bet. We will certainly stay here again.
It is old fashioned and could do with redecorating and, yes it is in the centre of town, so it can be a bit noisy, but the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and it's only about 4 minutes stroll to Planai gondoler.
The food is OK but a bit limited and there isn't a proper bar: just some Formica stands at the end of the restaurant but it's nice and warm and gives good service. My only criticism is pork for pretty much every meal!
My advice would be invest in a ski locker so you don't have to walk back in your boots.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lottiesmums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#4 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posthotel Schladming
Posthotel Schladming
#11 of 34 in Schladming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
0.4 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#7 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
#8 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirchenwirt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirchenwirt Hotel

Property: Kirchenwirt Hotel
Address: Salzburgerstrasse 27, Schladming 8970, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirchenwirt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kirchenwirt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing