We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aparthotel Ferienalm
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We (2 adults and one 6 year old child) stayed in the Ferienalm in February 2010 for 8 nights. The hotel is a good quality 3 star hotel, with nice rooms, clean and relatively recently renovated (unless you take the single room apartments on the fist floor, which have not been renovated yet and which I suggest you avoid). Excellent view from most rooms, directly overlooking slopes (not good from those few which dont).

The staff in the hotel are very very friendly and helpful (Goran and Andreas were fantastic). I stayed in many hotels and the attention here is first class.

In terms of child friendliness Hotel was good, we didnt have any issues.

I red a lot in the earlier reviews about the excelent food. I was less impressed (maybe inflated expectations) but it was good quality with reasonable options, but not something to get excited about. Kitchen staff were very helpful and accomodating too. if you want good restaurants ask reception ("winter garden" was OK, Mexican restaurant in the village was OK too).

In terms of value, I think hotel was excellent

In terms of location not very good I think (c. 1km to both, closest ski lifts). Busses work regularly (every half hour) and taxis costs euro 10 -15 per trip, walking with equipment even down to lifts not recommded. But if you have a car (and almost everyone there had one) then its all very very good. Car parking at ski lifts is easy and plentiful and free. We found you need a car there in any case if you want to go to other attractions of the resort.

In terms of the resort itself Schladming has a very extensive intermidiate ski infrastructure, with many long slopes and good ski lifts (I uderstand one of the best in Austria). The resort overall is reasonably cheap too. However, I found Schladming itself not very atmospheric (on an important regional road, rathery busy, not very beautiful). The village above Schladming, Rohrmus I think is much better but is further from big slopes.

Go to Dachstain, its a very impressive trip and an interesting skiing experience. For sure go to sledge (7km long). Ask reception for direction. Take a horse ride, its good too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruben5571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2010

Although we never stayed here as we have timeshare in the town, we were invited for dinner by our friends. The Manager was the most accommodating man I have ever met, he was very warm and friendly, he served us drinks in the bar and as we admired something in the hotel, he gave it to us as a gift. The restaurant was immaculate and the food was superb, I would definately recommend people to stay here they would not be disappointed I only wish this was our Timeshare resort and the food and restaurant is much better than our resort.
Thank you to the Manager if you ever read this.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We stayed at the Ferienalm for a ski trip and it was 1st rate.

It is located on the opposite side of town to the main gondola stations, but ther si a bus service (from just outside the hotel) every 1/2 hour or so. The walk to town takes about 10 minutes (downhill), but somewhat longer back again! (not recommended with ski boots on).

The service in this hotel was exceptional. The staff were veru helpfu and very friendly. The food was also very good - all prepared daily by the resident chef - and was much better than we had expected. The chef even made a birthday cake for us.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. the apartments were HUGE.

I have no hestiaion in recommending this hotel and I WILL stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrAOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Though the location is a bit outside of Schladming, but it was still easy access to all the Schladming area lifts.
The apartment was clean and spacious. 2 showers made it a convenience with a family of 5. Wood burning stove gave it a nice atmosphere when friends visited after dinner.
Easy parking right outside of door.
Extremely helpful & friendly staff. Food is average 3 star fare but hotel is rated as a 4* (4 hearts?) level.
Good prices, even for New Year week.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WSS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2007

Great host's, very good food, though not for a 15 year old, host's got pizza in (extra charge) so we could all eat together, brill of them.

Accomadation basic and traditional, some may say needs updating, but thats the charm of the place.

Location, a bit on the edge but great views of the slopes. Ski bus 100yds away, plenty of room and regular. We walked into town on many occasions, nice 5 minute walk.

Resort, very good, bit smoky at night though if you are none smokers, but thats Austria. Plenty of good all round skiing with 4 hills to choose from, you will not cover it all in a week.

And yes would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gloucesterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge UK
13
Reviewed 18 January 2006

Met up with some mates there last week - the hosts were extremely congenial (very helpfull and charming)and the cuisine was wonderful. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Schöne Aussicht in Zimmern die Richtung Schladming zeigen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loly2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zirngast
Hotel Zirngast
#6 of 35 in Schladming
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
0.5 mi away
Posthotel Schladming
Posthotel Schladming
#11 of 35 in Schladming
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Schladmingerhof
Hotel Schladmingerhof
#25 of 35 in Schladming
34 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnschupfer
Hotel Sonnschupfer
#7 of 35 in Schladming
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#3 of 35 in Schladming
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Ferienalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Ferienalm

Address: Sonnenhangstrasse 163, Schladming 8970, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Schladming
Price Range: £93 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Ferienalm 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aparthotel Ferienalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienalm Aparthotel Schladming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing