We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, shame about the guests!”
Review of Hotel Stadttor

Hotel Stadttor
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schladming
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Stadttor
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Reviewed 6 February 2006

Hotel is in a quiet location just off the main squaure. A manageable walk in ski boots to the main Planai Gondola. Efficient approachable staff. Rooms were clean and an adequate size. Food was a good standard with a choice of main course in the evening. We found the bar unpleasant to use as it was constantly filled with tobacco smoke and later by loud singing guests which went on til the early hours of the morning! Both sound and smoke percolated into the bedrooms!

Schladming is a compact well-established, pleasant town with friendly folk. Skiing was terrific with a wide choice across four mountains accessed by an efficient bus and ski-lift service. Would definitely return here but not to this hotel as would prefer non-smoking, quieter accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandyD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2006

The hotel is in a good location a few minutes walk from the main square and ski lifts. Rooms are clean and a good size. The lady on reception was always helpful and polite. Food was good with a salad buffet and a buffet breakfast. The waiter was sometimes a little over efficient i.e bringing out the main course before you have finished your starters!

Unfortunately, the hotel inhabitants smoked a lot. The only non-smoking section in the hotel was a part of the restaurant. The smoke even drifted from the bar/restaurant up into the hotel rooms, which was not very pleasant. Noise from the bar was also a problem at night. So if you enjoy the fresh mountain air rather than the smell of cigarette smoke perhaps this place is to be avoided. Ok hotel but wouldn't stay here again.

Schladming is a lovely traditional town with very friendly people. Skiing was great with lots of wide intermediate pistes. You can get a real sense of travel because all four mountains are interconnected. Good network of buses taking you to each mountain (inc. with ski pass). Lots of lovely mountain huts. Great swimming pool in the town - fun for all ages.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALD.forest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Greater |Manchester
17
Reviewed 19 March 2005

Its been nearly 4 years since my husband and I went on a winter holiday, mainly because of the arrival of our son in 2002. As you can imagine, we were really excited about the trip, though 4 years older I did wonder how the old bones would hold out for me snowboarding. . at 41 you might say - good for you or hope your insurance is up to date.! We booked the holiday last may with another family with a girl of 8 and son of 15, none of whom had been on a winter holiday before.
The transferes were fine, though the flight wasn't 'til late,3.55pm take off from manchester, we arrived somewhat late at 9.30pm. This is something I would look at more closely when we come to book another holiday, its really late arrival with a small child. But that was to a 4 course hot meal at the Stadttor. Tired as we thought our son was; he'd been asleep on our knee for the majority of the transfere, he promptly woke with as start as we were taking him up the stairs, and announced he was starving! Soup to start, something like melon, ham with soft cheese for a 2nd course were the norm,and a selection of 2 or 3 main courses we on the menu each day. A 'help yourself' salad buffet accompanied the evening meal. . . a great variety, and a bonus to anyone like myself who is vegetarian. A vege meal was on the menu each evening as standard, the Austrians are big meat eaters so it was pleasing not to be thought of as some kind of weirdo, or trouble to accommodate. The next evening, we were asked if the cot they had provided us with was o.k, or did we want a bed for our 3 year old. We didn't ask they were just aware and kind enough to enquire. That really is our overall view of this 4* hotel. They were very attentive, whithout being pushy, nothing was too much trouble and they were really child friendly. Incidently the brochures quote that most of the rooms have balconys, infact only two don't and although they do have two 'family rooms' these are not available thro' any brochures - directly bookable only with the Hotel. The owners said that they don't let these rooms to agents because they are practically booked up the whole year through anyway. True family rooms are quite difficult to find in any Hotels. Couldn't fault the hotel at all, but beware of the' Pine needle snapps' . . . it tastes like toilet duck !

Two happy families from Manchester

P.s We had 1 meter of snow in 2 days . . Excellent !

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, UK
110
Reviewed 28 July 2004

Full marks to Karl and his wife for such excellent cuisine, accommodation, friendliness etc.

Even with children, they were excellent and would recommend this hotel to anyone with or without children.

Thank you for an absolutely fab holiday!

The O'Hanlon Family

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Derby, England
230
Reviewed 16 June 2004

We have been staying at the Stadtorr over the past 8 years. After every trip to the Stadtorr we try a new resort & hotel the next year only to find that they are not quite as good so we return to the Stadtorr. We have had 4 trips now the last one being in March 2004!

The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to the main lift.

Rooms are spacious, well maintained and clean. The standard rooms for a family of four are more than adequate - although if you want separate sleeping areas suites are available.

Food is excellant. Bar Prices very reasonable. But most of all nothing is too much trouble for the owners and staff. They do everything then can to ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible. All in all a great little family hotel. I'm sure we will return.

26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sind alle recht ruhig gelegen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alaska66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#2 of 35 in Schladming
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirchenwirt Hotel
Kirchenwirt Hotel
#18 of 35 in Schladming
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadthotel brunner
Stadthotel brunner
#17 of 35 in Schladming
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#11 of 35 in Schladming
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
#8 of 35 in Schladming
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zirngast
Hotel Zirngast
#6 of 35 in Schladming
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadttor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadttor

Address: Schulgasse 430, Schladming 8970, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Schladming
Price Range: £117 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stadttor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Stadttor Hotel Schladming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing