We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gmunden
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs a refit”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has a great location but is in need of a refit. The rooms are stuffy with no air conditioning, bathrooms cheap and tacky, showers scald and freeze you alternately and the lift is best moved to a theme park (as a scary ride)!

A pity, this could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean_chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
12
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Large rooms, very awkward layout. Gmunden looks like Brighton, England or the catskills. A dying town. The hotel is fine but nothing special. It looks like a two star hotel. Very Spartan. Nthing like the really beautiful photos shown on the Internet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I contacted this property as we drove along the Romantic Road, and they offered much better rates than the other hotels I contacted. Very good, central location with rooms facing the Traunsee and/or Traun River. The very friendly owner gave us two double rooms since someone had mistakenly told us that they had a quad. The rooms were large and well-appointed. The next morning at breakfast, service was a bit slow. The hotel let us store our bags after check-out so that we could sightsee a bit. I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ecpindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 August 2004

Hidden away in a small alley right in the heart of the beautiful town of Gmunden you will find the Hotel Goldener Brunnen. Having been an Inn from many centuries it offers a very welcoming and comfortable feeling. Even though some areas could do with a bit of updating or redecorating, the overall impression is a very good one and the staff seems to be permantly around to make your stay as nice as possible. Our room was small but very clean and cosy and had a brilliant view over the lake and the mountains. There was a mini-bar (reasonably priced!!) and a TV, telephone and lots of information available. Through the manager it is possible to get internet access as well. Parking is available but access to the garage is a bit of an adventure. The restaurant is very good and we had a brilliant time!

  • Stayed August 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2003

I have stayed a couple times at the Hotel Goldener Brunnen for two weeks at a time on business, and I love it! The hosts were very helpful and friendly. It is in the heart of Gmunden, a beautiful Austrian town on the Traunsee. It is close to an autobahn entrance and exit, small enough to get around easily by car. There are thousands of things to do in the area, (my favorite being the salt mines in Bad Ishel). I think it is about 45min. to Salzburg and the Sound of Music area. One more thing, they have the ceramic factory there where they make an exclusive patterned dishware called Gmunden Keramik. You will see the trademark green swirl incorporated into the city scape, including a tour boat that goes out onto the lake several times a day. There is a flea market in the town square the first Tues. of the month I think. Anyway, back to the hotel, it is first class. The only possible down side is the parking. They have a parking garage with a very narrow entrance, but compared to all the good things about this hotel, that is nothing! I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
7 Thank luckyidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gmunden
1.1 mi away
Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Schwan
Seehotel Schwan
#2 of 5 in Gmunden
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Magerl
Hotel Magerl
#3 of 5 in Gmunden
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Symposion Hotel Post
Symposion Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Traunkirchen
82 reviews
5.1 mi away
Seehotel Das Traunsee
Seehotel Das Traunsee
#2 of 2 in Traunkirchen
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bruderhofer Pension
Bruderhofer Pension
#3 of 3 in Altmunster
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Brunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Brunnen

Property: Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Address: Traungasse 10, Gmunden 4810, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Gmunden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gmunden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Brunnen 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldener Brunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing