We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gmunden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A great location by the lake on a quietish road. Good views of the town/mountains/lake from a well appointed room with a nice balcony. Restaurant food was of a very high standard as the Lady of the establishment is a renowned chef. Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Go for the food and the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelfleming687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Since I am a child, I regularly visited the Gruendberghof. I have seen what the owners made out of this beautiful spot. And they have been sensible to their surrounding; gradually the place improved over the years and now this is a stunning property.

In my childhood days, I would insist to first have a trip with one of the electric boats around the lake… with me being the captain ;))) followed by a lunch, or dinner at the Gruendberghof, and I always had to have the Wiener Schnitzel (escalope) …

Well, I matured, and still this spot is very special to me. At any given time I have experienced very friendly, and efficient service. The team, is obviously enjoying working there and you can feel that as a guest. Nothing is too much for them to make you happy.

The food is excellent! I must admit, I am no more onto the Schnitzel, but I truly enjoy their fish and daily specials. Last week, they had a special from the lake… a four course menu, accompanied with two glasses of Austrian white (Gruener Veltliner and Riesling). Two of my favorites were included in the menu, a cream of ramsons and the main course, a Reinanke (Coregonus), as a delight.

Ensure that you check out the soup section, depending on the season, they offer a cream of garlic soup, liver dumpling soup, etc. The desserts, are also kept seasonal… and when they offer the Marillenkuchen or Marillenstrudel (all made from apricots) just go for it, you won’t regret it!

The only thing I would want to moan (and it’s moaning on high level) is their mixed side salads… the beans, the potato salad, the carrot salad… somehow I have the feeling that these are made long / well in advance / might be from the can and this is a bit of a let-down.

I am very much looking forward to many more delightful meals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LNZ0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stopped at this hotel for two nights during a business trip.
The rooms are very clean and adequately furnished. Not luxury but very good value for money.
The two highlights for me were the location and the food. Beautiful views across the lake and into the mountains.
The food was delicious, very well cooked traditional Austrian dishes, also very good value.
Service was also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Clean and good view – but not exceptional

Nice hotel, well located – 20 meters from bank of the lake Traunsee and about 10 minutes walk from the town of Gmunden. I had a room with a beautiful view, and at the sunset it really looked like being in heaven. The room was ok, pretty big, though rather modestly furnished with a bathroom like from 70s or 80s. But it was very clean, everything - from bad to bathroom. Excellent, big TV with enormous number of channels. The restaurant where I had dinner – from the menu, paid separately - was probably the best part of all. Also the breakfast was very good, with wide choice of everything. Good service, friendly staff.

On the dinner, I really enjoyed having it in the restaurant. Later, as staying in the hotel, I laerned that the lady owning the hotel and restaurant wrote several cookbooks. That probably explains very high quality of the food. I first had Gmundner Fish Soup, delicious as a starter. This was followed by a Ragout of venison with cranberies, bread dumplings and red cabbage – everything really perfect, an excellnt combination of flavours and in decent quantity. Finally, I had a piece of Esterhazy cake – good, real one. On the drinks, I started with a beer, followed by red wine and finished with coffee. Real pleasure. And all this for about EUR 30 – very reasonable. Recommended to go and try the food, you will love it!.

Room Tip: Take a room looking on the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is one of the best hotel for me.
Outside of Gmunden but just 5 minutes from the center.You can see the lake from your bed.
Good breakfast, friendly personel, very clean and quiet place.
The best place in Austria to visit a lot of places.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The hotel is located just outside of town next to the lake. Views from the terrace, restaurant and supposedly the rooms facing the lake are great. I had a single room to the other side of the building, with precisely no view. The room was but clean and with modern furniture. I never made it early enough for the breakfast buffet but I always got some bread and coffee free of charge. Staff is very friendly and service is with a smile. All my extra wishes were promptly fulfilled.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The hotel is a couple of kilometres outside Gmunden, but its location by the Traunsee is idyllic. It is also close to the impressive cable-car ride up to the top of the Grunberg. Our room had an excellent view and a balcony and was itself spacious. Whilst the hotel reception is a bit pokey, it functions perfectly well. The in-house restaurant is fine and the staff are charming. There is a surprising amount of free parking, given the location right by the lakeside road.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gmunden
1 mi away
Seehotel Schwan
Seehotel Schwan
#2 of 5 in Gmunden
96 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seehotel Das Traunsee
Seehotel Das Traunsee
#1 of 2 in Traunkirchen
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
#4 of 5 in Gmunden
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Hochsteg Guetl
Hotel Hochsteg Guetl
#1 of 4 in Ebensee
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Magerl
Hotel Magerl
#3 of 5 in Gmunden
37 reviews
4.1 mi away
Symposion Hotel Post
Symposion Hotel Post
#2 of 2 in Traunkirchen
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg

Address: Traunsteinstrasse 109, Gmunden 4810, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Gmunden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gmunden
Price Range: £97 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing