We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late arrival”
Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gmunden
Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Late arrival”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

My visit to this hotel did not start best way. We had a lot of luggage, but to find from garage to the hotel was not that easy. There was a lady who let us in to the bar on the second try (I got instructions by phone beforehand, but still it was confusing).

Room was big and clean, view was not on the lake side.

I could not find any information about internet connection so no connection this time.

Location is very good, but some construction work is still done around the building.

We needed to park the car only to get luggage out, but we got a ticket for 24 hours and the cost was 8 euros. We tried to cancel the ticket before using it, but there was nobody in the lobby anymore.

For a business trip, I may choose another hotel but for holiday this could be just fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Lehner4810, Manager at Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guests,

we would like to thank you for your rating and your comments. And we would like to excuse for
the problems you had. We had an internal meeting to improve the quality at the hotel Esplanade. Thank you very much that you mentionned these points to give us an input for training our staff and to improve.
Best regards, Susanne Lehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

The rooms are fine, typical Austrian cleanliness and quality. The Internet connection was much better in the rooms than in the breakfast area, which boasts a fabulous water view. The hotel is well located, right on the water. Be SURE to request a water view. The housekeeping service did not change the towels daily, just every other day...so to me that knocked the rating to average. The breakfast was ok, friendly staff will make eggs as you like them.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SkipperDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Lehner4810, Manager at Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for the time you took to write the review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Esplanade. Regarding the change of the towels we would like to excuse us. We spoke to our housekeeping team to improve this. Thank you for letting us know.
Best regards and many thanks,
Susanne Lehner & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Have just spent several days here. Firstly the rooms have recently been renovated & are kept very clean & tidy. The stafff are very helpful. The views from the brekafast room are quite spectacular over looking the lake and mountains.The hotel is centrally located & in a perfect position for a walk around the lake edge or wondering in town. Plenty of restaurants and bars loacted close by as is a small, well stocked supermarket.

Things to consider - there is no internet access. There is no laundry service. Would recommend booking a lake view room - I had a room on the other side of the corridor i.e. facing out the back and was woken every morning arond 5.30 to 6.00 by street sweeper/ bin lorry/ delivery van.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentStjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Ghost hotel, No paid view & Unhelpful staff.

Arrived at 8:30pm to find a locked hotel. After the kind help of a café owner (under the hotel) hotel staff where contacted and we got into the hotel. The key was left on the bar, as hotel was managed from another location cross the lake (so we then discovered). It was clear by the lack of sound no one else was staying in the hotel that night. After finally reaching the room (now 9pm) we discovered plastic covering all the windows, hence zero view of the lake.

Room phone didn’t work hence had to call the offsite reception with a mobile phone. My wife complained about the lack of view (we paid extra for a claimed view of the lake) only to be greeted with response, sorry renovations. There was no offer to reduce the room rate (it was 160 euros to view black plastic) and after 10min of debate we asked for the booking to be cancelled only to be greeted with the response, “You’ll find nowhere else to stay in Gmunden at this time of night” in an final attempt to make us not cancel (we did, see my Seehotel Schwan review)

While I’m sure Hotel Esplanade is a nice hotel, I suggest people check twice that the renovations have finished before booking in the next couple of months

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_esplanade, Empfangschefin at Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 15 November 2009
Thank you very much for your comment, which we take very serious. We regret the experience your made and are very sorry for the inconvenience you had.

At this time renovation of the building front is completed. In the future for sure we will keep the hotel closed in case of any work going on.

We hope to maybe have you here with us again, so we can convince you about the real quality and standard of our hotel.

Wishing you all the best,
Hotel Esplanade Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gmunden hotels

New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Our stay at the Esplanade Gmunden was ok. We certainly liked the location because it is lakefront and close to the tram stop ( about 3mins walk). We booked a deluxe double room with the view of lake Traunsee. The view was definitely worth paying extra for. The room itself was really average and I felt like it could have been less expensive. I'm pretty sure there are better deals out there.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gmunden
1.0 mi away
Landhotel Gasthof Grunberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
#4 of 5 in Gmunden
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Schwan
Seehotel Schwan
#2 of 5 in Gmunden
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Seehotel Das Traunsee
Seehotel Das Traunsee
#2 of 2 in Traunkirchen
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Magerl
Hotel Magerl
#3 of 5 in Gmunden
36 reviews
5.0 mi away
Symposion Hotel Post
Symposion Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Traunkirchen
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Property: Hotel Esplanade
Address: Kursaalgasse 5, Gmunden 4810, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Gmunden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gmunden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing