We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - a must stay in the Loire Valley region”
Review of Maison Carre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrichard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Carre
Ranked #1 of 2 Montrichard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent two nights at Maison Carre and its a wonderful Chambres d'hotes, in an excellent location for exploring the Loire Valley - a must stay! Our room located on ground level with its own entrance was large, very clean, with a big bed (very firm mattress) and sitting area, beautiful antique furniture and a lovely bathroom. The room & bathroom has heaters which kept the rooms really warm. At night it is very quiet, the car parking is in the main courtyard and the main gates to the property are locked in the evening. The breakfast was amazing, so much food layed out for you to help yourselves, homemade jams & cakes, delicious croissants and on our second morning a beautiful homemade cherry custard dish. You have access to this beautiful breakfast area during your stay to make tea or coffee, there is also lots of information on the area and places to see. Beautiful illustrated books in this room and our room. On our first night we had the table d'hotes served in the main house, the food was delicious, cooked and served by Madame Evelyne who is a very charming hostess. We had a wonderful evening with the other guests. The second night we walked to a lovely restaurant for dinner in Montrichard. Madame Evelyne speaks a little English, as we only speak a little French, booking was easily done via the Internet and a phone call. We highly recommend a stay at this charming property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and, selfishly, are a tad reluctant to recommend it in case we can't get in next time! For us this is the very pinnacle of B&B in France (and we have stayed in literally hundreds on our cycling trips). The owner couldn't be more helpful, the bedrooms are vast and beautifully decorated, (one is in effect a suite with a mini kitchen) and the building a delight to the eye. The breakfast are stupendous and the value extraordinary. Our only criticism is of ourselves and why it took us some years to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodfansofBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A very good B & B French stile, with an excellent hostess. Good position, easy to locate ideal for the upper Loire and Cher valley Chateau. You are near the centre of Montrichard with shops and restaurants. Cross the road and walk 100 meters you are at the station with easy access Monday to Friday to Tours. If madame offers you an evening meal - take it !! very good indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouristSteven123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visited Maison Carre en route from the South of France as we wanted to visit some of the chateaux. It is superbly located only a short walk from the town centre and the river and many of the chateaux are within an easy drive. A bonus is the fact that you can park the car in the courtyard of the house so any luggage left in the car is safe. Mme Filiozat was a mine of information about all the chateaux and most helpful - we were not able to sample the table d'hotes as there were not enough guests, so ate in the town at restaurants recommended by her. On the first night we got absolutely drenched in a thunderstorm and when we told Mme Filiozat the next morning, she said she would have come to pick us up if we had called! Lovely room with a four poster bed, although the mattress was a little firm for our liking (personal choice), and it was nice and warm. Good breakfast with different types of bread, croissants and home made cake, yoghurt, fruit juice, fresh fruit. Would make a great base to explore the region.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fisiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

What a treasure Maison Carre is. We spent a couple of frosty February days in the Loire Valley where Maison Carre is perfectly placed for visiting Chateaux and Vineyards alike. With its own enclosed court and parkland it is very peaceful yet it is a very short walk into the centre of Montrichard. Mme Filiozat is very welcoming and made us feel right at home.
We had hoped to sample the table d'hote too, as I love the conviviality of the French dinner table and conversation with new friends and acquaintances. Unfortunately as it was out of season there were no other guests so we sought our first evening meal at a restaurant in the town recommended by Mme Filiozat. For our second night, having had lunch out at a restaurant, we decided that it was too cold to venture forth into town in the snow and sub-zero temperatures and enjoyed a simple meal of our own making by cosy candlelight in the guest dining room at Mason Carre. We took the opportunity to sample the local Monmousseau Vouvray too!
All in all a very pleasant break and one we hope to repeat. Perfect. A la prochaine!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We arrived by train with our "grande valises" not realising the accommodation was about 300 metres away. The railway assistant tried to book us a taxi, none would come as too short a trip. The assistant then phoned Madame Evelyne who literally dropped everything and picked us up in her own car. We were staggered. Our delightful bedroom was upstairs and Madame even carried the biggest case up as my husband was using a walking stick at the time. Madame Evelyne would win any award as the friendliest and most helpful hostess - we just had so many laughs and were lucky enough to be there at the same time as another Australian couple. What a wonderful place, breakfast superb and dinner also superb (for a most reasonable price). Helpful information provided and we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robynd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Madame Evelyne is the perfect host & she knows where to buy good & interesting wine. Breakfast is a magnificent feast-too much. We were the only English staying there, & as I have a little French I was bombarded with questions,& jokes, by the other French guests seated around the large( as the Yanks would say "community table") every morning. I was exhausted by 09.30!
Great location for visiting the chateaux, which are all different. Madame will tell you where to go. She understands more English than she modestly lets on

Room Tip: Just go there for a great time. Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montrichard hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue
Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue
#2 of 4 in Montrichard
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Chambres du Faubourg
Les Chambres du Faubourg
#2 of 2 in Montrichard
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Tete Noire Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Carre

Address: 80 rue de Tours, 41400 Montrichard, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Montrichard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montrichard
Price Range: £53 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 spacious rooms in the heart of the famous chateaux of the Loire's region. Site of 5 ha, park, pond, meadow, near downtown Montrichard ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing