We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matterhorn Valley Hotel Hannigalp
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Graechen
Rorschach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Hannigalp, family-run for 4 generations, has great service for a very reasonable price. Staff is incredibly helpful, multilingual. Rooms are simply furnished, but our bath featured nice toiletries, a huge shower (slippery porcelain shower pan, though), 7X mirror, hairdryer, decent lighting. Beds are very comfortable, with good mattresses, seersucker duvet covers and down pillows. Breakfast offers a huge array of fruits, yoghurt, cereals, good breads, hot eggs and bacon, alpkäse and hams, and the best coffee machine ever! We stay here every time we go to Wallis (about 2X per year) and always get a friendly welcome. This time we stayed 2 nights; wish it was more. They also threw in a trip to Zermatt to ride the cogwheel train to Gornergrat for only 50CHF.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA-CH-FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Hannigalp for 1 night in December 2010. We stayed in a 2nd floor room that was very comfortable (better than the hotel pictures suggest). We dined in the hotel restaurant that night and the food/service was very good. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Hannigalp for three nights in July 2010 and enjoyed a very pleasant stay. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable. We found the the hotel restaurant was of a good standard and there is also plenty of choice of eateries in the village. The views from the restaurant side of the hotel are beautiful and there are lots of on-site amentities such as table tennis, tennis and a swimming pool to occupy the children.

The hotel is located in the car-free part of Grachen village. We thought that this would be an inconvenience, but the hotel provide secure parking in the village centre which is 5-10 minutes walk away and the staff can provide a lift in a small electric taxi where necessary, for example to carry luggage.

Of course Switzerland is not a low-cost holiday destination, but (cost aside) we really enjoyed our visit to this hotel and to this part of the world. We would like to return for a winter experience!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donohoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Various, UK, Aus, NZ, HK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed here while hiking the Tour de Monta Rosa and arrived later than we expected in a rainstorm. The staff were most helpful when we checked in. One of our party was coming up from the valley by train and they went to meet her at the bus stop with a little cart to bring her to the hotel. Our room was fine - it was a 'family room' shared by 4 adults, but we had plenty of space and a nice balcony. Good bathroom (no amenities, but there never seem to be in Europe!). Hotel has an indoor swimming pool and spa - very welcome after such a long walk. Nice restaurant - dinner was good (pricey, but no more than usual in Switzerland) and the breakfast was first class. Even some hot items like scrambled eggs! Very good breakfast, much better than any other hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

This was our third stay at the Hotel Hannigalp. We have been there twice for skiing holidays (Feb. 2007 & 2008) and recently during the summer holidays.
Our overall assessment is extremely positive!
The positive points are: the hotel owner (Olivier Andenmatten) is very welcoming and always ready to help you. The hotel staff is extremely client-friendly. The rooms (ensure you book the superior rooms!) are sufficiently spacious, very comfortable (no airco, but this is not really necessary) and a sublime south-oriented room view! The food is pretty delicious for a half-board formula. The hotel is very children-friendly and has a perfect skiing accomodation (ski superior formula: ski passes are prepared for you in the hotel, hotel bus to the cable-lifts (although never used - only a 5 to 10 minutes' walk away), warmed ski-lockers 20m away from the cable-lifts). Your car can be parked in a covered car park in the centre of the village (where the traffic-free area begins). It's the only hotel with a covered swimming pool in the village.
It is difficult to come up with (even minor) remarks: a fridge/mini-bar would be welcome in the rooms.
We loved our stay at the Hotel Hannigalp and will certainly return.

  • Liked — Client-friendliness
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_Tervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2007

Stayed at the Hannigalp last June for a few days and really wished we could stay longer. Excellent food and west facing room, very good swimming pool, would recommend to anyone visiting Graechen.

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

we have just spent a most relaxing and enjoyable week in Hannigalp hotel in Grachen. we cannot write too highly about it.
The staff were so friendly and helpful
The food was superb and varied
the ambience was comfortable and relaxing
The room was without fault
The Management relationships seemed excellent.
All in all we could not fault our stay here and intend to return as soon as possible when the snow comes..
We highly recommend this hotel and village for a memorable experience.
Joan and Leo Hawkins ....... Ireland.

  • Liked — pleasant and comfortable
  • Disliked — coming home
  • Tips/Secrets — be sure to ask for room with lovely view
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymathewobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graechen
0.3 mi away
Turm Hotel & Spa Gracherhof
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Walliserhof
0.4 mi away
Matterhorn Valley Hotel Desiree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel zum See
Hotel zum See
#8 of 15 in Graechen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#6 of 15 in Graechen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Buerchnerhof
Hotel Buerchnerhof
#1 of 1 in Burchen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Valley Hotel Hannigalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Valley Hotel Hannigalp

Property: Matterhorn Valley Hotel Hannigalp
Address: Heiminen 468, Graechen 3925, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Graechen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Graechen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matterhorn Valley Hotel Hannigalp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matterhorn Valley Hotel Hannigalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Valley Hotel Hannigalp Switzerland/Graechen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing