We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small family hotel, convenient location near Gotthard but in need of updating”
Review of Hotel Forni Airolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Forni Airolo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Airolo
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have stayed here over the years and not as good as it used to be. Rooms and bathrooms, whilst clean, need to be updated. Rooms at front overlook railway track and tend to be noisy. Breakfast used to be superb, but now a lot less choice available. No more home made jams but standard supermarket stuff - a sign perhaps of decline? Only hotel we have stayed in where there is notice saying any food from breakfast buffet not eaten on the premises will be charged for. And they mean it. With just a bit more effort, this could revert back to the lovely hotel it once was.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GeordieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We picked the Hotel Forni after searching TripAdvisor as we were looking for an overnight stop on the way from the Uk to the Italian Lakes. In particular we wanted a hotel on the Italian side of the St Gotthard Tunnel as we were travelling on a Sunday and thought there might be long delays on a Monday morning at commuter times. Airolo is directly after the tunnel so was an ideal location.
We travelled late May and only found out after we had arrived that we were, in fact, the only people staying at the hotel that night. Nevertheless the owners looked after us very well and laid on a lovely breakfast that was bought directly to the table laid out for us. The eggs were actually the best we had all holiday (which was 2 weeks long) although obviously we didn't know that at the time!
The room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. The front of the hotel looks out on the local railway station so I guess that could be quite noisy early morning. The room itself was very traditional in layout, although the shower was dark and could have done with some extra lighting. Beds were a little on the firm side for us although the room was very clean.
Overall, an ideal place for an overnight stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed here by accident when the company I work for, the removal lorry broke down just outside on our way down to Italy.
Opened up for us at 2am, was clean, comfortable and friendly!
Amazingly beautiful place, I will return for a ski holiday, very tranquil! :)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same! Give or take, Single, Double and twin. Has internet and lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I found the Hotel Forni by accident while driving to Italy and stayed 3 nights (1 going and 2 on the return), the owner was pleasant, the food enjoyable (he has a french chef that is incredible) and most enjoyable was the wine cellar filled with Swiss, french and Italian reds. They were very helpful in finding the right wines from the region that paired with my meals and pallet. The hotel is a little basic, but what is expected from a small family hotel, the one negative was the constant train traffic through the night. Nearby there is great hiking on the mountains. I'll stop again the next time I drive through the region.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDCononver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Hotel Forni s a good hotel for travellers to Italy, but for most Europeans expensive, due to the high exchange rate of the Swiss Franc. The Swiss Italian kitchen is very good. The rooms are spacious, the staff is friendly and the location, nearby the Gotthard pass, is excellent. In the morning you can drive quickly through the tunnel, normally there is no traffic jam at that time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

If you want to get away from it all, like I did, this is the place! It is a small family run hotel in the Italian area of Switzerland at the foot of the Gottard Pass. It has a bar & restaurant that is very popular with the locals. The food was amazing & they had a extensive wine menu. Room was basic but very comfortable, with views to the surrounding mountains. I woke up listening to the bells on cows in the fields nearby! DO NOT miss eating in the restaurant, but beware the menu is only in French, Italian & German. Twice I had the table d'hote menu & the recommended wine & enjoyed both thoroughly. I want to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveOSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This was a stopover hotel on our trip back from Lake Como and although the room was small, smelled of smoke (non-smoking room) and was very dated, the dinner in the hotel restaurant more than made up for this. We had a delicious romantic meal in the hotel (which cost as much as the room) with a lovely carafe of Ticinese Merlot. We would definitely recommend a visit for dinner but not for overnight accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airolo
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes - Restaurant & Bar
5.5 mi away
Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#1 of 1 in Gurtnellen
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
977 reviews
20.8 mi away
Al Giardinetto
Al Giardinetto
#1 of 4 in Biasca
47 reviews
3.1 mi away
Motel Gottardo Sud
Motel Gottardo Sud
#1 of 1 in Piotta
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forni Airolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forni Airolo

Address: Via della Stazione 19, Airolo 6780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Airolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Airolo
Price Range: £79 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forni Airolo 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Forni Airolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Airolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing