We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Change in Pace”
Review of Babel Restaurant

Babel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a small restaurant located at the gates of the old town of Arcos de la Frontera, our menu is composed of the traditional Moroccan meal, are authentic homemade dishes like our pastries handmade by ourselves. Our restaurant is decorated entirely by the Moroccan-style rooms have two tables one below 4 and one at the top of the local 5, is a cozy, romantic and quiet place where you can enjoy the smells, tastes and rhythms of music good ethnic, come to know.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Change in Pace”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

After being in Spain and Portugal for awhile it was really nice to change up the type of food we were eating and have some Moroccan food. This place is great and has great food. The husband speaks great English and can help explain everything on the menu. The baba ghanoush was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    37
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great food/ helpful staff”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A solo traveller, I stumbled into Babel having endured hectic day. I had a delicious meal and the waiter/owner was most helpful in giving advice about places to see and where to hear good music. I returned several times and really enjoyed my meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7mariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good - Really Good”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We walked in to Cafe Babel because we were hungry, and Moroccan food seemed like a nice detour from the typical Tapas. The simple atmosphere reminded us of many places that cater to tourists, so we weren't expecting anything special in terms of value or quality of the food. We were presently surprised to enjoy courses of home cooked couscous and humus. The basteeya is excellent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olive394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Moroccan food and great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Delicious food in a charming, small restaurant up near the historic center of Arcos. Try the pastel! Also, the hummus is delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Did the job ”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We wanted to avoid Spanish food for a night and this worked well for us. Good hummas, although pitta bread was more like a tortilla. Lamb tangerine and chicken kabab were both pretty good. As others mentioned smelled a bit smokey.

Helpful?
Thank dt95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babel Restaurant also viewed

Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Babel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing