We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality and value”
Review of El zindicato

El zindicato
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

It was thanks to Trip Advisor we visited here but were still blown away by the quality and value of the food and drinks. We took a couple of friends, one a fussy eater, and none of us have much Spanish so picking dishes was a bit of a lottery. We were so pleased we arrived well early at 1.15pm as it gave us a chance to partly translate some of the dishes before they opened at 1.30pm.

It was our first experience of Tapas and all agreed it was brilliant. The meat in tomato sauce was so tender and tasty and the smoked salmon and cream cheese dish was great too. Our fussy eater tried everything and ate as much as the rest of us. The house red was excellent and the 7Up was........7UP !

We know the Tapas dishes were €2 each but don’t know what the drinks cost as our friends insisted on paying but the bill didn’t break him ;-)

Oh, and the loos were very clean too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rojanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    63
    12
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“excellent tapas and fast service”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The ZINDICATO is situated at the Carrefour (supermarket) roundabout coming into Arcos from direction of Jerez. Next to the excellent chinese restaurant BIG HOUSE and the Hostal Andalucia. Very popular becasue of the great value dishes as well as excellent quality and slick service. The management know how to please. Most tapas are Euros 2 and you have a good selection. Good choice of sauces and frankly never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Pedro da Serra, RJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheapest, busyest, good spanish tapas.”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

El zindicato is the cheapest place I have ever eaten in... their food is very good and a group of 4 could esasily eat fot 20€ (5€ each)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Discovered by accident, an un-appealing setting but we persevered when we saw the queue, they obviously knew something we didn't. What they knew was that the combination of great service, fabulous food and stunningly attractive prices more than make up for sitting at cheap garden furniture next to a busy roundabout. We returned a further 4 times during our holiday in Arcos although they were shut on the Tuesday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YostickiTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Tapas in Spain”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

OMG what a find, when we arrived the place was empty so nearly turned round and left but decided to give it a go. So pleased we did, within 15 mins all seats were full and within 30 mins they were queueing out the door for tables. Best tapas we have ever had in Spain, and we have been to many places. The waitress was extra friendly even though she could not speak any English, it made us practice our basic Spanish. When my husband spilt his cup of coffee over the table, she was there in seconds to clear it up and straight away brought him a fresh cup which she did not charge for, and the table behind gave me a babywipe so that I could wipe the coffee off me.
We shared six tapas which were large portions, beers, coffee and brandy and all for 20euro!!!! Would certainly recommend even though its not in the best location, once you concentrate on eating the wonderful food you are not looking at the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 03maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El zindicato also viewed

Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to El zindicato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing