We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We arrived through the very narrow archway into the square, luckily we had a hire car and managed to get through. We parked in the square and decided once parked we would leave it there. The room we had was with a balcony, which is worth the additional cost as the views are splendid and the birds of prey nest below. Our room was clean and acceptable. We ate in the Parador as there did not seem any restaurant within walking distance. The food was good. We had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBUKLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    193
    49
    20
    8
See reviews for
91
316
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Spanish Paradores chain are a great idea: historically important buildings turned into luxury tourist accommodation. The Parador in Arcos de la Frontera is perched high on a cliff and offers breath-taking views of the countryside. If you will spend any length of time in the room, the extra € 25 for a room with balcony is well worth it. HOWEVER, for this level of (low-season) nightly rates (€155), guests should be entitled to (i) decent furniture (all furniture is low quality, old and in poor shape), (ii) some kind of valet parking assistance (the small square with its pay-parking is a nightmare) and (iii) help with the luggage (we were not offered any!) The buffet breakfast was excellent but we passed on dinner, guided by previous TripAdvisor community comments.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanDan2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This parador was enjoyable in general. The room was good and warm. We were pleased in many way but there some things upon arrival that would have saved us some nervous moments. We came by a car (actually a minibus), there were no signs at all, the roads were very narrow and only with good luck (and the kind help of the locals) we managed to get there without getting stuck or a lot of damage to our car. We did have a gps but it lead us wrong. Also the parking system up there was chaotic + a person asking for money in order to keep an eye on your car. Once all that settled our stay was good, the view is great (some rooms have it too), and the next morning the locals were helpful again with getting our car out from the parking space.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riitta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The room was great, and we had a nice balcony with a fantastic view. The location is superb.

However we had a bad experince, which completely ruined our stay at this great hotel.
We had room no 6, and the heating system (thermostat) did not work. During the night the temperature was about 30 degrees, and it was hopeless to sleep. We turned the system off, but it still continued to heat. We complained on the phone in the evening, and in the morning by walking down to the recepcion. The recepcionist in the morning admitted that there was a problem, as the guests in room no 2 had complained about the room being too cold. But when we checked out, the recepcionist had changed. This person was quite rude and did not belive us when we told him that the heating system was completely malfunctioning. He did not understand that the system was heating the room even when it was swithced off, and he said that everything was working. We ended up with a 20% discount, which was not enough for a night without sleep. This was a very disappointing experience for us, as the next day was completely ruined after no sleep.

Room Tip: Do not choose room no 2 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gromness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

the parador in Arcos is beautifully located overlooking the Plaza de Cabildo on one side and the gorge on the other. The drive from lower Arcos up to the parador must have been laid out for donkeys but locals zip up and around at full speed seemingly unaware of the narrowness of the cobbled roads. We pushed the side mirrors in and forged ahead albeit at slow pace and found parking in the plaza. Although we couldn't find the usual signs, we just kept going up. Please note that the parking is not free. The hotel was renovated about 10 years ago and is a mix of dark woods and lovely drapery and tile work. Our room and bathroom were huge by North American standards. Service was friendly but as always eating at the parador is expensive. We enjoyed walking to nearby cafes for coffee, tapas, local vino, and good cheer. The lighting at night makes the place magical.

Room Tip: At night your view from the gorge side is pretty dark; we enjoyed our room overlooking the plaza an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Most Paradors are signposted from miles away, but not this one. Access is through narrow winding streets, and we had to do two laps of the town and ask directions at another hotel before we found it. There is one small Parador 'P' on a wall on the way up through the Casco Histórico, but no sign at all to indicate the tight turn that you have to make to reach the square where the hotel is located. The small square, with castle, Parador, Basilica and Mirador on its four sides, provides parking for residents, tourists and hotel guests, and you have to be extremely lucky to get in.

But once there, the Parador is delightful. Perched right on the cliff edge, it's a spectacular setting. There's an elegant restaurant, cosy bar with a huge window taking advantage of the view over the precipice, beautiful patio for summer eating and drinking, and the friendliest staff throughout the hotel.

The food is excellent and the vegetarian menu is imaginative and varied. They even asked if I was totally vegetarian and brought a suitable appetiser. I've stayed in 25 Paradors, and this is only the second where they seem to understand that veggies can't eat a little bit of meat, or something with a morsel of fish mixed in.

Our standard room was comfortable, and both bedroom and bathroom had tiny balconies overlooking the square - we were lucky to be there when a parade passed through, the Virgin conveyed on many shoulders, accompanied by churchmen and a traditional Spanish band.

Room Tip: The square can be noisy so if you need total quiet to sleep, choose a room at the back. They also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The signs to the Parador have recently been removed. If you don´t speak Spanish, it will be an adventure to find it. GPS is useless. The major downside to this Parador is parking. There is a public area in front of the Parador, and during certain hours you have to access a machine to purchase a ticket. Very inconvenient. There are times when no spaces are available. Once you leave the area, you will have to deal with a serious complication of one-way streets, one of which will take you out of the old section of the town and back to where you began, starting from scratch. The breakfast is similar to what one gets at other Paradores (I have stayed at over a dozen), but not as ample in variety. Not worth the 17 euros. Same for dinner. Take a short walk to "La cárcel", a very nice tapas bar with great food. If you are exploring Andalucía, consider not staying in Los Arcos. Carmona, Ronda, and Nerja are much better options. Granada if you can get in and can afford it. There is not a lot to do in Los Arcos, much less to see.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifJ0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#10 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Arcos de la Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Arcos de la Frontera

Property: Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Address: Plaza del Cabildo s/n, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Arcos de la Frontera 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cultural crossbreeding of the Casa del Corregidor displays an andalusian character, with latticework and a courtyard. Many of the rooms overlook a splendid landscape filled with art, nature and history. The flowery tiling enlivers the wood of the furniture and the ochre of the terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Arcos de la Frontera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing