We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a rare gem.”
Review of Alcaravan

Alcaravan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a rare gem.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you are looking for a small spot with excellent food, great value and service so friendly you feel like you belong there, come here. The tapas and local wine were perfect accompaniments to the decor and ambiance. Our two waiters, "Alegre" and Fran were so welcoming, we came back 4 times during our stay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GRLWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    104
    27
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely interior, matching food ”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

One of the better tapas spots in this little gem of a town. Croquets were lovely as was the octopus. It's very close to the town square and the parador and makes for a lovely rest spot. You're most likely to end up making conversation with your neighbors as the tables are quite close in the cave-like interior!

Helpful?
2 Thank Violet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 wonderful meals”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

stand out dish -- aubergine with jamon!

staff are convivial and will make you feel well cared for. Bill is reasonable -- good wine!

enjoy!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small Cave, Live Acoustic Guitar, Great Tapas!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We really enjoyed the atmosphere of Alcaravan. Located in the heart of old town Arcos de la Frontera, you won't find restaurants like this in the US. We were treated to live Spanish guitar during our visit. The menu is typical Spanish tapas - lots to choose from. Everything we tried was very good!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olive394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Continued Excellence”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have visited Alcaravan in the past and enjoyed it very much, both for the food and the friendly couple running it. We returned this month and learned the owners had recently retired. No problem. The food is greater than ever as the new owners are part of the family that also runs the Bar Carcel (for us and many others the finest place to dine in Arcos) around the corner. Lamb kebabs, presa and secreto iberico, we enjoyed many fine tapas and chatting with the new owners. It's a genuine treat for visitors to Arcos to have such fine tapas bars/restaurants so close to each other, along with the equally fine Taberna de Jovenes Flamencos in between them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyLaDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcaravan also viewed

Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Alcaravan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing