We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Town - Gold Standard View - Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were at Arcos in May for two nights. This turned out to be one of our favourite places, both the hotel and town. I for one will come back her one day. Once we settled in we really regretted that we had only two days here.

The hotel is "On the ledge" of the cliff and the views are amazing. You look out onto a great pastoral landscape from the hotel. There we three of us and we had a room with a terrace and one without. We spent all of our time on the terrace just taking in the beauty, watching the birds and enjoying the sun with a bottle of Rioja.

The rooms are very elegant and super clean. The air-conditioner is also a heater if it gets cold at night. The beds are quite comfortable and bathroom is marble and made out for a king. The coolest thing about this hotel is the location and those terraces with loungers on them. My advice is to book early and get one of the rooms with the terrace.

The other thing about the hotel that is great is it's location. There are great stores around, and if you do your research there are some great out of the way tapa restaurants with amazing food. The people in Arcos are so nice. We found a shopkeeper who supplied us with our wine and also ceramic souveniers and tiles. On the day that we left he gave us fruit that he had picked from a tree on his farm that day, so we could try it before leaving the area. The day before we found a tapas place that was recommended on trip advisor, it was more or less a local bar. When we came in and ordered food, the bartender made a phone call, about 3 minutes later a lady came rushing in to make us our tapas, which were great. This is all part of what made Arcos de la Frontera so special; the special setting, the beautiful town, the beautiful people and this great hotel.

Please do me a favour though, skip Arcos on your vacation to Andalucia and never tell anyone about it. I want this place to still have it's sleepy down to earth feel when I come back and not be over-run with a zillion day trippers!

Room Tip: Book well in advance and spend the extra few Euros for a suite with the terrace. Run up the small hi...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Copado,

thank you very much for your nice words about Arcos and, of course, about the Hotel. We appreciate it!
It is nice to know that you really enjoy your stay at El Convento and hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel El Convento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

my wife asked. The senora smiled and pulled up the blind to review the massive view of the valley, cliffs and old town.

We loved this hotel, right in the middle of Arcos, perfectly placed for exploring the town and eating out. Rooms were clean and comfortable - bathrooms a little dated, but fine.

If you are travelling to Arcos by bus, then you can take the local minibus (every 30 mins, €.90, not Sunday) from the bus station, which drops you 50m from the Hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 3 with a balcony rather than a terrace. Worth considering as this room is cheaper. You g...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear MaxM,

thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

Sincerely,
Hotel El Convento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel. We had a room with a terrace which we would highly recommend. The staff couldn't be more helpful. It is a unique location so pay attention to the staff recommendations about parking in Arcos, although it is part of the adventure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mygelatoisbigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Likeshisluxury2013,

It is very kind of you to say that. Our aim is the customers feel as at home!

Thank you very much again.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The view and patio was wonderful and relaxing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio and view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Mr. Donnelly,

It is a pleasure for us to receive flattering words from our guests, as this encourages us to improve our service.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Arcos.

Sincerely,

Hotel El Convento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Perched on the cliff with Andalusian countryside views is the reason we chose this hotel. As all other tripadvisor reviewers mentioned about the very narrow one-way to the top of the hill and the limited public parking space around Plaza del Cabido, we contacted the hotel about parking at their sister hotel's parking facility instead. They emailed to us the directions along with the map to Hotel Los Olivos-the sister hotel. With the lugagge and not wanting to hassle with the hotel directions, we decided to take a taxi to get to our hotel. Walking to or from the sister hotel from our hotel is actually very doable and not too far (10-15 minutes one way). We did this stroll after checking in our lugagge, had dinner at the new town at the bottom of the hill and walked back to the hotel.
Our room number 5 is very roomy and airy. Perched on the cliff with Andalusian countryside view was the reason why we chose this hotel. As all other tripadvisor reviewers mentioned about the very narrow one-way to the top of the hill and the limited public parking space around Plaza del Cabido, we contacted the hotel about parking at their sister hotel's parking facility instead. They emailed to us the directions along with the map to Hotel Los Olivos-the sister hotel. With the lugagge and do not want to hassle with the hotel direction, we decided to take taxi to get to our hotel. Walking to or from the sister hotel from our hotel is actually very doable and not too far (10-15 minute one way). We did this stroll after checking in our lugagge, had dinner at the new town at the bottom of the hill and walked back to the hotel.
Our room no# 5 is very roomy and airy. The view from the room private balcony is amazing. The balcony itself is decorated with Andalusian tiles. This was definitely a memorable stay at this charming pueblo blanco - Rick Steves' favorite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleursdusoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the nice comment that you have provided about us.
Thank you so much, again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We enjoyed staying in a former convent. Our private patio had an amazing view. The steps winding to the second floor are narrow so you need strength carring up luggage. The room for three is on the second floor. We ate our meals in the town. Arcos de la Frontera is a unique city to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear guest,

We are very happy to know you have enjoyed in our hotel.
We hope visit us in a next time.

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The view, as others mentioned, was fantastic from a wonderful patio. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They note to park your car at their sister hotel at the bottom of the hill. It is a short walk down hill. It is worth taking a shuttle up to your hotel at the bottom of the hill with your luggage. It was about 1 euro each.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Pakebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelconvento, Director de Recepción at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Mr Pakebo,

thank you for letting us know about your stay al the Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoy the views from the roof terrace.

Thank you for choosing Hotel El Convento.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
519 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#9 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marques De Torresoto
Marques De Torresoto
#11 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Calle Maldonado 2, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el corazon del conjunto Historico-Artistico de Arcos, parte del convento de las monjas Mercedarias se ha transformado en el Hotel El Convento para que los visitantes puedan disfrutar en calma de la antigua belleza de este pueblo hecho monumento de claridad.Desde sus habitaciones o desde una amplia terraza se contemplan magnificas vistas sobre la Pena y la vega del rio Guadalete en un enclave tranquilo, entre iglesias y casas senoriales.Un placer para los sentidos es lo que encontraran los huespedes del Hotel El Convento.Tradicion, buen comer y unos alrededores naturales que tiene mucho que descubrir, siempre predominando la tranquilidad. Sus 13 habitaciones que disponen de TV, telefono, wi-fi gratuito, aire acondicionado y bano completo pero donde se ha querido mantener el estilo tradicional de este pueblo en todos los rincones y estancias que componen el edificio.Algunas de las habitaciones poseen un nombre distinto en homenaje a escritores, poetas o personajes del mundo de la cultura. Un trato cordial y atento contribuye a hacer inolvidable su estancia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing