We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda El Santiscal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is situated in a wonderful location.When you drive in it seems you are in a residential area, but as soon as you reach the hotel it is peaceful and all you can see is countryside and the lake. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to friends

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear guests:
Thank, first of all, that you chose us to spend part of your holiday in Spain. We feel very fortunate for that and besides, we greatly appreciate your feedback on our services.
Of course, we will be very happy to see you again here and hope to return again to meet your expectations. We will keep working hard for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

this is our first visit to hacienda el santiscal
it is a heavenly hacienda with a beautifull and extremely well-kept garden with a fantastic view
its location near arcos de la frontera (and with beautifull pueblos as medina sidonia and grazalema) is exceptional
one regret : for 135 € the 'full' breakfast could be included (instead of trying you to pay 7 € per person extra)
25 € per person for a menu is doable, the food is not great, and this is expensive for spain
moreover you eat alone in the patio (beautifull but the place seems dead in the evening)
we would advise everyone to travel with the help of LAS PERLAS DE ANDALUCIA (a dutch organisation of people who live in andalucia : every description is spot-on !)
fred & gudrun hamerlinck - raemdonck

Room Tip: we would advice to choose a standard room and a normal continental breakfast the evening menu for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Hamerlinck:
Thank you for your nice words about our Hacienda. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay and that you like all the región which is really beautiful. Yes, indeed, our location is perfect for explore the área and as well is a good retreat to relax.
Sorry if our meal has been under your expectations.It is true that sometimes dinners at the central andalusian courtyard, which by other side is very nice with the moonlight and stars, seems a bit isolated , but due to the short stays of our guests, most of them decide to explore the near villages and cities and normally eat outside.
Anyhow, thanks a lot again for taking time to write your opinión and we wish that, as you wrote up, this is only your first visit....., maybe you will have a second one.
Regards from all the family at Hacienda El Santiscal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We spent three days here and after Reading other commments on here I have no idea what anyone complaining is talking about. Yes there is an urbanization one side but once you drive down thier long driveway you may as well be in another world. Peaceful, and beautiful. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake and the pool and the beautifully kept gardens. The service was perfect, friendly and efficient. Would love to repeat if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanaalicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Dear Guest:
Wholeheartedly thank you very much for your words and we are pleased to see that you have captured the soul of our little housing. We always emphasize on highlighting our most significant added value as silence, peace, nature, character and of course service, and we strive to make everyone feel at home. We hope that you come back to visit us again. Hasta pronto¡¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The old hacienda is an oasis of peace. The owners are very friendly and helpful when needed. The garden is nice with a small pool and a magnificent view.
The rooms are different in size and we had a big enough room overlooking the garden. It isn't hip or 'design' but rural and comfortable.
The hacienda offers dinner as well on request and it was very convenient to stay in the first night. The wine was good, the atmosphere is good but the food wasn't over exiting. So is breakfast. Not bad but not exciting either.
Arcos (the old part) is a sweet town not too far away with plenty of places to eat and drink and a great view from the Parador at the top of it.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the garden seem bigger than the others. All are very quite, there is hardly any tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you very much for leaving your opinion which of course helps us to improve our services. We know that our dishes are not design nor intend to, because what we wanted to give our guests the feeling of being at home with minimally processed products, homemade or from local producers. We wanted to capture the simplicity of the countryside, both in our decor and our kitchen. We hope at least to have met your expectations. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Having arrived at Arcos de la Frontera on Sunday mid day there was a slight concern that the information office would be closed and finding somewhere to stay might be difficult. Our luck was in and we were pointed in the direction of Hacienda El Santiscal. From the moment we arrived we knew it was the place for us. Beautiful old Hacienda in stunning countryside and very quiet. Beautiful rooms and even the least expensive had a charm of its own. What a good idea to have a round swimming pool when you have stunning views all round. You see it all! We could not have been better looked after by Husain (The Chef, who was not only a brilliant cook but also had great sense of humour) his wife Francessca and their beautiful daughter. Attention to detail was 1st class.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want to spend. All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

WE CAN ONLY SAY, ​​THANK YOU.
Thanks for coming, for your comradeship, for choosing us, for thinking that it was the perfect place for you........, for everything.
Gracias y Hasta siempre¡¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This hotel is very authenthic spanish, has a great atmosphere and very friendly host and cook.
besides that it is located on a very good location, near the mountains, the coast as well as Sevilla.
And the food i very delicious. we hope to come back here!
Karin and Jan

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Karen and Jan:
Thanks for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you liked our services and amenities. We hope you return to visit us. This is a region with many attractions and our Hacienda, we believe, the ideal place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. A very warm greeting from our chef and the whole family of "El Santiscal"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

stayed two nights and enjoyed the restful surroundings as well as the location which is very well- situated for trips in to the mountains and to see the 'white villages' around Grazalema - not to mention Arcos itself which is well worth an extended exploraton. The nature (birds especially) is easy to see here and quite exotic for those like us who live further north.
Warm personal welcome, friendly, good food, and discreet service.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Our standard room initially seemed small but on balance it was excellet too. Swimming pool not tes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

We agree with you that Arcos de la Frontera certainly worth an extensive visit and required historical documentation, not in vain all the top of the city was declared a historic monument. Its strategic location, hanging from a high Rock makes it seem incredible that the houses can be there without falling.
We hope you come back soon to visit us and to enjoy our village and its surroundings. Here we wait for you. Merci beaucoup et a bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
2.4 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
604 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#8 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Santiscal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Santiscal

Address: Avenida Santiscal 173, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: £51 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda El Santiscal 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very name of this exquisitely restored and noble 15th-century manor house evokes a sense of romance and adventure as profound as the Spanish Golden Age itself.The term "Santiscal" comes from a Roman country villa located in the grounds of the Hacienda that was discovered in the late nineteenth century.Story has it there was once a knight called Juan de Armario. In 1485, when Ronda was laid to siege by the Christians, he was the first to enter the mine where the moors kept all their supplies and died in the venture. As a reward for his bravery, the King granted the knight’s sons five estates at the foot of the Sierra del Santiscal mountain range, where they built what would become the family residence, today called “Hacienda El Santiscal”. This beautiful fortified building has magnificent views to the Lake and its Nature Park thanks to its strategic location. You can now enjoy it for yourself.Our countryside property is located in Arcos de la Frontera, a historic city, capital of the Route of the "Pueblos Blancos" of Cádiz (White Villages), near the Nature Park of Grazalema, declared a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO.Arcos de la Frontera, declared a Historical Monument in 1962, is one of the prettiest towns in Spain, perched on a high rock from which hung a multitude of white houses together with a medieval castle that is testimony to the magnificent past of this romantic and legendary town which belonged to the Arab court of Medina Sidonia.Today, Hacienda El Santiscal, is a unique accomodation that has maintained the flavor of yesteryear in its walls with the conforts of today, without losing the charm of the old manor houses, as has successfully adapted to the new times in order to become a green hotel, as they credited the two quality labels obtained in 2011, the spanish "Parque Natural de Andalucía" y the european one "ECEAT". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda El Santiscal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Santiscal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing