We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
205
151
45
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
151
45
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area quiet setting co owner stayed here for one night spanish style surrounding countryside old world charm a great place to stay kettle el spain courtyard seville panorama sunset
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

When we arrived at the Hacienda we were welcome in a very friendly fashion by the staff. Our room was very nice and spacious located right above the entrance to the building and was nice and warm. The weather had been cold and rainy so this was a very welcome environment in the comfortable room. The living room had comfortable seating in front of a fireplace and had great views out toward the beautiful green wheat fields. Our bedroom had a lovely comfortable bed and there was a nice closet to hang up our clothes.
This is a great place to stay and a nice retreat from the nearby busy town of Arcos. Also there are some nice walking paths that lead around the lake that is used by local hikers and bicyclists.

Room tip: Our upstairs room, number 1, had great views and privacy.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rancher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much. We are very happy that even the terrible weather, you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful surroundings. Wishing to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

I drove from Segovia to Grenada, Nerja, Malaga Seville, Cordoba, Toledo and Madrid. Hacienda El Santiscal was a nice surprise that when we think of Spain this always comes up as one of the nicer Hotels we stayed in. Also I liked Don Felipe in Segovia, Europe Conquistador in Cordoba

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank musa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you very much. Be a part of your travel memories make us very happy. We wish you come to visit us again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely Hacienda. Great staff, wonderful breakfast and dinner. Very quiet but only five minutes drive to the lovely town Arcos de la Frontera, hiking possible in the area, a good place to explore Andalucia

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thorsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion and for understand the real soul of our small charming rural Hotel. Wishing that you come back soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

This hotel was our base to explore the area. Rooms are big, bedding confortable, very clean. Breakfasts are served at the table, spanish style but you can ask if you want eggs. One thing that might be trying to improve is the dinner: you have to order 2 hours prior dinner time and on the menu list are only big dishes, no salad, no sandwich, so if you are not really hungry, better try to find another option. I really don't understand why it goes like this, when you are in holiday, you like things flexible.

Room tip: country view
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolineofspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guests:
Thank you for your comments, from the ones we really learned. I just want to point out that in the Restaurant Menu for dinner you have many options for those people who eat little like Iberian ham, cheese, hot creams, cold soups, typical salads, gazpacho, asparagus scrambled, hummus, and other light vegetarian dishes , etc. If you do not get used to eating copious dishes, you can choose any of these or even there are also grilled fish, etc. Due to the fact that dinner is served in the glazed restaurant overlooking the lake, with tablecloth and cloth napkins, with a careful assembly etc., is why we do not serve tapas or sandwiches. However we believe that the selection is enough for the diners since the service is exclusive to the residents. Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Out of the ordinary in every way. We loved it. We loved the sheer peace and quiet. We loved our terrace room - the best - and sat out there and loved the view or sunbathed. Loved the pool on a hot day. Loved the walks you can take. Loved the food all cooked to order. Loved the charming staff. Loved the fact so many guests were Spanish. Loved having the pool to ourselves most of the time.
But this is not fancy up to date - if that is what you want. The food is good home cooking and old fashioned but all fresh. You ring a bell for service. It is quite a way from Arcos but cabs are cheap. So it isn't for you if you want a parador. Our only two complaints are soundproofing between rooms was terrible - we had a next door bathroom by our bed and it wasn't great- and making us pay for every cup of tea as there are no kettles in rooms and the extras add up. But - really is a wonderful place.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank l0ngbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guests: Thank you for your comments that we really appreciate. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would just like to point out that your room is not contiguous to anybody else's bathroom, since the head of your bed and the wall of your room is completely glued to your own bathroom, so the only sounds you could hear were yours and not from another room. Also the room is totally isolated from any other by the terrace, the hallway, and its own bathroom. We imagine that at midnight due to the absolute silence that exists in the Hacienda, any noise however small is magnified and this is why you may have heard some sound. We are sorry. With regards to the kettle and as I informed you at the reception, you could have asked for it and had it in your room during the day, since from 23 a.m. has a free infusion service, mineral water and coffee in the hallway. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews