We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
194
62
17
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
62
17
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace the cliff top floor old town small hotel flights of stairs lower rooms covered courtyard parking place junior suite no small feat sweet room memorable place no reservation nice library rejuvenating experience far exceeded my expectations
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2018

We were delighted! Took a bit of a struggle to locate La Casa Grande, particularly as we were pushing heavy bicycles in the old town, but we were warmly welcomed with oloroso sherry and a dish of olives and shown to a sweet room down in the bowels of the house with our own lovely little patio. I've read the other reviews and I agree - perhaps unsuitable for folks who are not too mobile and certainly our bathroom door was skimpy and recalcitrant. But the breakfast was special and the historic house a treat. There's even a library for guest use. What more could you want? A great stay - wish we could have had more than one night. PS: Thanks for storing the bikes!

Room tip: Ask for a view room.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grandmumirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasagrande28, Recepcionist at La Casa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Dear grandmumirene,
Thank you for your nice review, we are happy you were delighted while in La Casa Grande!
We like guests like you that appreciate the small details of our service as well as the autenticity of our Old Historic House, where we made little changes for a real experience of a18th century house.
We hope you would be able to stay longer next time!
Best wishes,
La Casa Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018

This is a boutique hotel par excellence! Be careful to follow the hotel's access instructions which they send you in advance. The sat nav instructions will probably get your car wedged in a tiny street and are not to be trusted. If you're lucky enough to get a parking place in the Plaza del Cabildo, the hotel is only about five minutes walk away. We had a very generous sized and comfortable room with a stupendous view. A rather cramped bathroom space was the only drawback. Breakfast was really excellent with a large selection of home made jams, bread and freshly prepared scrambled egg. We very much enjoyed ourselves here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeatherheadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasagrande28, Recepcionist at La Casa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2018

Dear LeatherheadTraveller,
Thank you for your review of La Casa Grande, your feedback is important for us.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, the view, the breakfast... Thank you for advice reading our instructions.
We hope you will be back soon.
Yours sincerely,
La Casa Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel some 6 months ago and from their website, looked OK. Sadly we were very disappointed. Hotel very tired and still in times medieval! Definitely unsuitable for anyone over 50 as stairs are treatcherous!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasagrande28, Recepcionist at La Casa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Davir T,
First of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review of La Casa Grande. Although we are very surprised about what you write about us as the feedback when you stayed here was very different, you looked very happy here. And we didn't receive any complaint from your part regarding something wrong to be solved. We would have appreciated very much to know what was bad during your two night stay, so we can try to fix it.
Most of our guests appreciate the experience at our 18th century house. We hope you would enjoy what is offered to you in the future.
Best wishes,
La Casa Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We just had one night in this rather grand house, and made the most of our room with terrace overlooking the big view. The accommodation was characterful but the bathroom desperately needs a revamp. The sliding door didn't fit the gap, kept coming off it's runner, and was more of a modesty screen than a door. Don't come here for a romantic break with somebody you're just starting out with. The bathroom/sleeping arrangements are definitely a passion killer. On the other hand the private terrace and the upstairs terrace probably make up for the bathroom. Lovely, helpful staff.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank simonclark12200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We stayed in the hotel for just one night on a recent car trip. We loved the character of the old hotel which was quite a rabbit warren. We had one of the lower rooms which , with its precipitous terrace, gave us a fantastic bird's eye view from the top of the town. We also visited the rooftop terrace for a sunset drink admiring the roof tops. The very personal breakfast service was another good experience.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat-Romsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasagrande28, Recepcionist at La Casa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2018

Dear Pat-Romsey,
Thank you for your review of La Casa Grande, your feedback is important for us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, your room, the terraces, the views and breakfast...
We hope you will be back soon!
Best wishes,
La Casa Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews