We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a relaxing weekend or even a wedding!”
Review of Cortijo Barranco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cortijo Barranco
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting for a relaxing weekend or even a wedding!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I recently dragged 50 friends and family from the UK to Arcos for my wedding at El Cortijo Barranco. It was an incredible venue that left our friends speechless. It is situated in the middle of nowhere which created the perfect intimate wedding atmosphere. One of our guests is disabled and was amazed by the lengths the staff went to to make his stay comfortable. The staff were flexible and enthusiastic, meeting our needs at every stage and allowing us to change details and exact locations right up until the last minute. We're already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Anne_street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed in this beautiful pet friendly place in December 2012. It is set in a breathtaking countryside of Andalusia near Arcos de la Frontera. It was a little difficult to find the turn to this property from the main road in the evening, but if you arrive during the day you aren't going to miss it. Stuff was very friendly and helped us with directions over the phone and stayed late to serve us dinner. We stayed in a room in a main building. It was very simple and clean. The whole place has a wonderful rustic countryside charm about it. You can find a small piece of history in every corner of this place, as well as beautiful views, home made olive oil and in the evening a sky full of stars. The water in a shower is a little problematic, but it is to be expected from a very old building. You can definitely experience local culture by staying here. Our dog had a wonderful time running around in green fields of El Cortijo Barranco. We also took a half day trip to Jerez de la Frontera. It was very close and had very good roads.
Here is a little history about this place:
The property was built in 1754 by a Spanish
priest from Tarifa. The purpose of the land in those days was the cultivation of vines for making wine. A plague called "la filoxera" was responsible for wiping out the vineyards and the land was in due course turned to the production of olives. It's been owned by the same family for over 100 years. Production of oil stopped 50 years ago and the olives are now taken to Seville where the process is completed.
I recommend staying at El Cortijo Barranco for an experience you can hold dear to your heart for many years to come!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My mother and I stayed at Cortijo Barranco in September 2012. We loved it and will definitely try to go back. The location is very good for exploring this part of Andalusia as it's well served by two excellent roads and is only 30 minutes from Jerez and I guess around 90 minutes from Seville. Closer to home; Arcos de la Frontera, Bornos and Grazelma are definitely well worth a visit. Arcos is a beautiful town but be prepared to do lots of walking as the parking in the old town (top of very steep hill) is very limited. The old palace and palace gardens in Bornos are absolutely lovely as I suspect is the lake where you can swim. Grazlema is a stunning town in the mountains (be prepared for 15 minutes of hair pins) with some excellent shops and I'd imagine it's also well served with good restaurants.

The property is located in the middle of the countryside with little to see but fields which, for us, was perfect. It's very peaceful and the gardens are well kept and lovely for relaxing in. The pool is both well maintained and a good size. We only ate at the Cortijo on our first night. The food was basic but good and we felt it was good value for money although it's not expensive to eat out in this part of Spain. If you want to shop for your own food as opposed to eating out, there's an excellent shop that sells local produce on the road into Arcos on the right hand side before the garage. It's about a 5 minute drive from the Cortijo and sells very good fruit, vegetables, cheese, bread (if you get their early) etc. The Carrefour in Arcos is pretty grotty and we could have survived perfectly well on food from the small, local shops.

We stayed in the self catering apartment attached to the chapel. It suited our requirements well, although it is quite basic. Criticisms (although these really are quite minor) - the hot water supply was erratic; it would have been great to have some tea towels to dry up with and a fresh supply of bath towels would have been great, part way through the week. I have to say that I'm fairly certain that if we'd asked for these items they would have been supplied as we found the staff at Cortijo to be both welcoming and helpful. The Cortijo itself is a beautiful building and the entire site is very well maintained. We were especially appreciative of the fig trees, as were our stomachs!

If you want somewhere peaceful to relax but with the option of lots of great day trips, I think this is the perfect place to stay. As first time visitors to Spain we would also highly recommend this area. Having been concerned about the area being spoilt or overly modernised we were delighted to find quite the opposite. The people could not have been more welcoming. The countryside is stunning as is the Architecture. Everywhere we went was spotlessly clean and yet the area still retains the charm and character that is lacking in some areas of Europe that have been overly 'preened'.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordEm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Located in a lovely spot at the end of a mile long unmade road. Very rustic with iguanas scurrying around. We stayed in the middle of May but the weather was still very hot so it was nice to have a swimming poll all to myself. The evening meal and breakfast was a bit pricy for what you received i.e bread and marmalade for breakfast. I throughly enjoyed my stay at El Cortijo Barranco. The only downside of Arcos de la Frontera is the fact that we tried to get on the little train that takes people up to the top of the very steep hill to the castle at the top but was told very abruptly by the driver that he only catered for groups and not individuals. People with disabilities and elderly people would have no chance of climbing to the top unless they hailed a taxi We also complained about this to the lady in the tourist office at the top of the hill but she was not very helpful. I would howver stay at the Finca again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed five nights in early May, 2012 and had a little apartment
attached to the back of the chapel on the grounds but outside the main
building. The pluses are numerous: a lovely and convenient location,
especially if you have a car (parking in the towns is horrible) and want
to explore the western part of Andalucia; the staff is very helpful and
courteous; the views from the grounds and surroundings are glorious. It
was too cool (and wet) when we were there to use, but the pool and
pool area were beautiful and it looked like staying in the main house
would be great.

The following three drawbacks we experienced all could be easily fixed if the hotel paid a little more attention to detail, and to maintenance:
1) The pilot light on the water heater for our apartment blew out two
nights we were there, leaving no hot water in the morning. The staff had warned us something like this might happen and were willing to quickly correct the situation. But that was not until the morning, which meant getting dressed, walking back to the main office, finding someone who could fix the light, waiting for the water to heat up, etc. If you know the pilot light might go out and you know it has been windy, why not check first thing in the morning instead of waiting for guests to alert you?
This isn't going to be a problem when there's no wind...

2) The heater/ac unit in our apartment is located high up on a wall. It
turned out that the unit needed heat in early May (fluky weather) and,
since heat rises, the sleeping loft in our apartment got quite warm
while the downstairs bedroom was quite cold. A portable heater for
downstairs would have helped, but again, that's not a problem when it is warm (I assume the AC works well since cold air sinks) and is unique to the apartment...
3) The coffee served with the breakfast was terrible....very weak. It also wasn’t hot (the coffee sat in a thermos that probably didn’t work that well). Especially in Spain coffee should be good!

While the three complaints could be serious, they didn't interfere with our enjoyment of the place, which we mainly used as a base. Armed with foreknowledge, I would readily return, perhaps to stay in the main house or another unit!

Room Tip: A small house with muliple units is available away from the main house and has gorgeous views; if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I with our two daughters (10 and 12) spent a wonderful week here between a 4 night stay in Puerto de Santa Maria and 3 nights in Seville. My sister-in-law and her family were over from australia and had suggested a break in Spain, where they had never been. Having stayed at the Cortijo Barranco almost 12 years ago we tentatively suggested it as an unusually tranquil base to explore the surrounding mountains and pueblos blancos (white villages), Arcos de la Frontera being the closest and one of the most spectacular. We are so glad we did. We stayed in the 2-bedroom Arroyo cottage, about 100m from the main house and woke every day surrounded by fields of sunflowers and trees fiiled with bee-eaters and other exotic birds. My sister-in-law stayed in the main house with her husband and young son which they also thoroughly enjoyed, albeit without the incredibly unspoilt views that we had. the staff, coordinated by the excellent Remedios, were faultless. We usually self-catered or ate out in Arcos etc. but one night we had a beautiful meal served in the courtyard, heavy with the scent of jasmine, in celebration of a birthday. All very professionally done - huge range of tapas followed by a traditional and very delicious paella. the swimming pool, as well as the individually renovated cottages, was a great addition since our previous trip. Not 5 star luxury in the sense of hairdryers, minibars etc. in every room but for a sense of place in such idyllic and authentic surroundings it is difficult to match.

Room Tip: Arroyo cottage was exceptionally quiet, though I would be surprised if this was a problem even in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red-Skua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in July. Flew into Malaga, hired a car and drove to hotel. We did not drive on the motorways and it took us about 2 and a half hours but the roads were excellent and we saw very little traffic. Seville is much closer but do not get put off with the drive from malaga.
As you approach from a small road which incidentally is 99% tarmacked and is not a dirt road at all you see the hotel and it is idyllic. You are greeted by a wonderful lady who speaks English perfectly and nothing is too much trouble.
Our room was perfect. It had a huge bed and was very comfortable. It also had air conditioning which I did not expect from reading other reviews. I popped my head into other rooms and they all seemed to have air con but when you book make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning.
Location could not have been better. Although it appears to be in the middle of the countryside you are only 10 mins from Arcos. We drove to Jerez to visit a sherry bodega and to see the horses at the riding school. Everything was within easy distance.
Swimming pool gorgeous. We had it to ouselves most days.
We did eat one night in the Cortijo but we also like going out. The meal was good traditional cooking and very reasonable as was the wine.
We needed to eat when we arrived and they willingly made lunch for us and charged us very little.
There is a fridge where you can help yourself to soft drinks and beer and there are also spirits if you require them. Just leave a record of what you have taken and they will be added to your bill.
Breakfasts were such a disappointment. Bread, cereal, honey and marmalade. As we were checking out I mentioned the breakfasts and were told we had the option of a cooked breakfast for an extra 5 euros. It was too late and that would have made my stay perfect. It is mentioned on their website but I missed it, so even that is somewhat my fault.
We had room 15 which was just outside the courtyard but next to the pool. As it was a short walk to the main courtyard I felt that it could have benefitted from a small fridge in the room for cold drinks.
To summarise. I loved this place. It was a jewel in the most beautiful area of southern Spain. I will return again and again.

Room Tip: Room 15 very large and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillykLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
2.9 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
336 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
250 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#9 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Barranco

Property: Cortijo Barranco
Address: Carretera Arcos-El Bosque km 5, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Cortijo Barranco 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cortijo Barranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing