We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My friends and I decided to have a morning coffee here due to the lovely view of the lake and the potential for some good bird watching. We finished up staying for lunch also, but this was only due to the lovely setting and we wouldn't return. Every time we wanted a drink or the menu we had to go up to the bar to request it. Even when we had a menu, the staff never came out to ask us what we wanted, we had to go inside to order. Things were produced without even a smile or a 'de nada' when we said thank you. The menu del dia was good, apparently - I had a tortilla which was huge but, due to the lack of onions, bland. Potatoes and eggs, basically. Food was plonked in front of us and we decided not to leave a tip. We wondered whether the staff were grumpy due to lack of tips, but they're not helping themselves! Go just up the road to the Meson la Plata for extremely friendly staff and excellent value. We stayed there three days in the end!

Room Tip: Enjoy the view of the lake, but don't expect good service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    41
    19
    9
    14
See reviews for
29
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lovely hotel on the edge of an artificial lake. Most relaxing and great views on the mountain. Please to stay longer with a good book to read. Friendly staff. Fine rooms and breakfast an great fresh orange juice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel is about four kilometers from the town of Arcos de le Frontera and there is an hourly public bus service to the town from the hotel (except at weekends). The accommodation is first class with clean and simple rooms and very comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and helpful. The facilities include a large swimming pool which is cleaned every day when it is open (summer only), but it is a public pool after noon and can get quite busy and noisy. However the hotel and eating areas are peaceful enough.

The hotel is on the shores of the Lake of Arcos and eating el fresco is a must as the sun sinks over the Arcos sky line. The food is excellent with a choice of BBQ or a la carte plus a menu of the day, and breakfast is simply as much as you want based on a continental style.. The cost of food and drinks is surprisingly low which helps make this hotel outstanding vaue for money.

Room Tip: The superior rooms offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with elderly mother and brother. The setting was beautiful and the hotel very clean. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. Food was adequate for a 3 star hotel.(The set menu was good value)
A bit disappointed that the meals had to be eaten in the bar area. (noisy with football on TV)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callahan, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The setting was nice and so was the room. But my wife left her bag down on the terrace and when we came back the bag had been taken and handed in at reception. It had been rifled through, money and phone taken. There had been few people on the terrace and one staff member had been serving us was always close by. The attitude of both the staff and management to the theft was a shrug of the shoulders and little concern for our loss. Strangely the staff member that had been on duty did not retrun to work during the remainder of our 10 day stay as we had asked to speak with her. The service was very slow also with staff very slow to look after our needs. Not a good experience with this Hotel all round, sad to say.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arcos de la Frontera hotels

Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for five days while exploring 'the real spain'. The hotel offers a choice of cheaper bungalows for families (without kitchen or air con) and aircon comfortable rooms (with or without fridge/minibar) which are still reasonably priced for B&B.
The complex is situated by the lake with its own swimming pools and lakeside restaurant (popular with locals) which offers a wide choice of food at reasonable prices. (Ask for english menu) Ideal situation in the heat of andalucia!
All the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially at the reception desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We took a room here on a Saturday night, we appreciated the hotel was busy and the best rooms were not available, not fancy but the room was clean and the beds comfortable. As is was busy we reserved a table for dinner. Imagine our shock to find having taken taken the reservation they had closed the restaurant and everyone was forced to eat in the bar area with satelite football as an accompaniment. The starters were about Little chef standard despite being 12 euros each. Main course was better but not great we were glad to get back to sit outside our room in peace and quiet.

  • Liked — Its situation
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.8 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
330 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
247 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#9 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
502 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Cortijo Barranco
El Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de la Molinera

Property: Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Address: Avenida Sombrero de Tres Picos 17 | Carretera Arcos el Bosque, Urb El Santiscal, 11638 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Meson de la Molinera 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meson de la Molinera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing