We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis amid over-priced options” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Blues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Blues
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Oasis amid over-priced options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Walking into Casa Blues out of an afternoon rain is a warming and relaxing experience. Nick had jazz playing the background, soft lighting in the common area--which is composed of comfortable couches over-looking the valley below. The bedrooms are simply furnished and very clean. They are also apparently well-insulated as we heard no noise from next door and slept without interuption--a new experience after several budget stays in the area around Arcos. Nick could charge twice what he does for a double room and would be justified given the over-priced and worn-out accomodations that dot the pueblos blancos. Nick is well-traveled; this is obvious from the subtle features of his guest house designed to provide a place to unwind, enjoy good music and enjoy a good night's rest. Felicidades, Nick!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lafdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I stayed at Casablues for one night recently and was warmly welcomed by the affable host and proprietor, Nick, who generously shared information, suggestions, and his interests. The house is magnificently situated, clinging to a cliff, and the room, while plain, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I would go back again, and highly recommend this guesthouse as the best I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tootsie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Casa Blues is perched right at the edge of the cliff that Arcos de la Frontera calls home. From the balcony of your room, the enormous common area and the rooftop balcony you have a spectacular view of the valley below. Nick made Casa Blues welcoming each evening with a warm fire in the woodstove, music and good conversation. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and should we ever wander through the mazelike streets of Arcos again, we would definitely return. Thanks Nick! Alisa and Todd

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranchogardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed at Nick's Casa Blues for 4 nights at the end of November 2010, and used the top apartment ( which is quite rustic but also very functional, with plenty of hot water !)

Nick was helpful when we needed help but also allowed us to have our own space. The place has a very musical feel to it hence the name. There are lots of interesting photos and posters on the walls in the communal areas, as well as a good supply of music related journals (as well as travel books of the local area).

All in all a good place to stay, with excellent views.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miguel359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, London UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

A planned one night stay became two, would that it could have been longer. Owner Nick aims to offer the same ambience as traveller dens in the Far East - but with better plumbing and sensational views. Very comfortable and welcoming. We'll be back!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights on our two-week tour of Spain and are so happy that we chose this Casa. Nick was a fantastic host, giving us helpful directions and answering any of our questions. I wish we had spent more time in the Casa because it was so relaxing, and the views were spectacular. The rooms are pretty basic, without A/C but they are naturally cool, so this wasn't an issue. The only sounds we heard were the sounds of the roosters and donkeys from the farm in the valley below. They didn't bother us, though. We particularly enjoyed Nick's cat, Sam. He was our companion whenever we were in the shared space. I would just say that if you drive, you have to park your car down a hill and bring luggage up to the Casa. We didn't have any trouble with this, but it might be difficult for someone with mobility issues. That being said, I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a budget-friendly, unique accommodation in a white hill town of Andalucia.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Outstanding views from almost everywhere in this very good value hostel. My room in the apartment was light and airy. The manager, Nick, is very helpful and contributes to the friendly, relaxed atmosphere. A short walk takes you into the old town of Arcos where you can see the sights and get some great tapas - I'm sure Nick can advise where's best.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.3 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#7 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa El Sueno
Casa El Sueno
#1 of 19 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blues

Property: Casa Blues
Address: Calle Callejas 19, 11620 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blues is a cliffside guesthouse in the old town of Arcos de la frontera. It´s dramatic location offers amazing views towards the Sierra de Grazalema and over the surrounding countryside and lake. It has six quite guest rooms (three en-suite), a huge roof terrace, lounge area, breakfast room and additional balconies, all overlooking the cliff. Free WIFI available and welcome drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Blues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing