We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pezzafina - CLOSED

Pezzafina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Pezzafina in Frascati, the new restaurant born from 'friendship with Enrico "Pezzafina" Troiani and Fausto Soldini.
London,UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Really excellent food, with friendly and efficiant service and lively environment. The best restaurant I have been to for some time in Italy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    147
    44
    23
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do Yourself a Favor, Eat at Pezzafina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

After reading the reviews for Pezzafina, my husband and I set out on a short trek to the restaurant. It was less than half a mile from our hotel and well worth the easy walk. Upon arrival, Fausto warmly greeted us and gave a quick explanation of the menu. He talked us into the house antipasti and it was a delightful variety of small plates. One of my favorites is always zucchini flowers and Pezzafina's did not disappoint. Our pasta dishes were excellent and I am now a huge fan of guanciale. Evidentally during our meal, it started to rain - hard. We were without umbrellas and on foot. Fausto came to our rescue, put us in his car and drove us back to the hotel. That is customer service above and beyond my expectations. We had originally planned to eat elsewhere the next night, but his gallant gesture changed our minds.

Our second evening was every bit as good as the first. As a testament to the fact that this is not a "tourist" restaurant, there was a large party of local college students who were occupying over half of the tables. Despite having to tend to the large group, our meal did not suffer in food quality or service.

We travel to Italy usually at least once a year and we couldn't have been happier to end our trip on such a high note. Do yourself a favor if you are in or near Frascati, eat at Pezzafina.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationsr4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent ! Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our first night in Italy and we were staying in Frascati. Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we went early (before 9:00 PM) and Fausto greeted us warmly and spent some time explaining the menu and recommending a great, inexpensive, Italian red wine. The meal was one of the best we had during our 10 day sojourn around northern Italy and we had planned on eating there again on our last night when we returned to Rome. Being that it was a Saturday and we neglected to make a reservation before hand, we were unable to get a table. That was very disappointing, but we have very fond memories of our first night's dinner there and we highly recommend the overall experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zsnobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALGARY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Appetizers were excellent, pasta was good although one dish was too salty, owner (Fausto) was very friendly, it was a great find off the tourist track!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a trip from downtown Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We selected Pezzafina based on the Trip Advisor reviews, and although it was a bit of a hike from our Frascati hotel, we were so glad we made the journey! We showed up without reservations, a family of four, but the maitresse seated us without hesitation, and from that point on our evening was tremendous Each of us enjoyed the antipasti and primi piatti, and while our children proclaimed their carbonara to be wonderful, I was very impressed by the chef's take on my amatriciana al marinaio with a superb mixture of small clams, squid and pancetta. One by one, the family proclaimed fullness, so only two of us tucked into the fritto misto as our secondo - so much the better as the shrimp and squid had been fried in a delicious light batter and served with plenty of fresh lemon. Of course, the local wines complimented the meal superbly, and Fausto lavished attention on us throughout the evening. We left late, full and happy! Don't miss this gem!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pezzafina also viewed

Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 
Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing