We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I won't be going back ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I won't be going back ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Four star? Not in my books. The front foyer and garden are lovely and look 4-star but I didn't think the hotel room or service deserved that rating. Our room had a run-down feel to it, damp marks on the wall and the bathroom was not clean when we arrived (empty shampoo bottle in the shower, hairs on the toilet... ). I asked for a cleaner to come back in and whilst they obliged, they didn't apologise and the toilet STILL had hairs on it after this 2nd clean. The service was mixed. The lady who checked us in was very nice and helpful (although didn't apologise re toilet). The lady who checked us out was just plain rude. Breakfast was ok, except that many of the plates of food on the buffet table had nearly run out and no one bothered to top them up while we were there ... felt like we were eating the leftovers (or maybe we were the last guests to have breakfast although it was only 8am). We stayed in another hotel in Frascati after that - a 3 star and it was much better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyOz_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfredi B, Direttore generale at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Any Complaint, remark or criticisms is helpful to check and improve our services.

In this case I believe that not everything says SydneyOz_Gal it's correct ..

1) The guests arrived before the check in Time, as courtesy we solicited the chambermaid to cleaning their room . It 's possible that in the rush, some thin hair was not noticed in the toilet ..
What I don’t understand is : How was it possible , after the second cleaning , that the hair was still in the toilet , and why they didn't call the reception or the room service ?

2) The receptionist, that SydneyOz_Gal says was " very nice and helpful " , confirmed me that she apoligized for the inconvenience ..

3) Dump marks on the wall : were lights traces of painting to cover a fresh hydraulic loss in the bathroom .. In our opinion , the room was definitely rentable !

4) Breakfast: see previous tripadvisor reviews ..!

5) Value for money: it's such a personal point of view ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    71
    43
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
58
5
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We decided to look for a hotel outside of Rome the day before our rental car was due back. We found this charming hotel on-line. We got a rate of 150 euros (down from 500 euros) which was amazing. The front desk clerk was very helpful. It appeared that it was just him and one young woman who manned the bar, changed the beds and seemed to be the jack-of-all-trades. Off-season staffing, I suppose. The room was beautiful, clean and air-conditioned. Unfortunately their restaurant was closed so we had to go and eat at a piazza not far away. If we had had to pay 500 euros a night I would have been annoyed that the restaurant was not open, but we really only needed somewhere to stay for a few hours overnight so it was not a concern. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom very nice. I would recommend them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night recently and found it a challenge to say the least. On several sites it says the hotel has facilities for disabled guests and the pictures on the hotel web site looked as if there was good access, so we booked our stay with confidence. The first hurdle is getting down 10 steep steps from the drive to the front of the hotel. There is a step at the front door, another step to access the lift, and the breakfast room has a step up and then a step down! The dining room also had a step and a door which made it very difficult to access without a great deal of fuss.
This hotel has recently been refurbished so it would not have been difficult to create at least some discreet ramps.
We were given a room at the front of the hotel and found it very noisy. The A/C was ineffective and we were forced to sleep with the windows open. The bathroom was a reasonable size, although getting in and out the shower was difficult because of an ornate wash hand basin

There was no lunch available, not a problem for able bodied, but for a disabled person who had managed to circumvent all the obstacles to get into the hotel it was a pity. In our opinion dinner in the hotel was over priced and not particularly well cooked. Breakfast was extremely poor, a few cakes and cereals and cold boiled eggs.
We thought this hotel was expensive for the facilities it provided. The outside space was unsuitable for wheelchair users apart from the table at the front door because of steps and pots of plants

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the main villa due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crew-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfredi B, Direttore generale at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
I am very sorry for the difficulties that our disabled guest have found ..

The problem is that our hotel is an old residence built at the end of 19th century with very high ceiling and steep steps.. during various renovation we tried to reduce these differences in level and the majority of steps , but some steps could not be eliminated!

I can say that given the specific characteristics , our hotel is definitely not suitable for disabled

About the breakfast , we serve a typical continental buffet breakfast including : a selection of cold cuts, variety of cheeses, boiled eggs, salmon , choice of cereals , croissant , cakes , biscuits, different yogurt , milk , american coffe , espresso , selection of tea etc..
I really don't think it 's a poor breakfast as you can read in many other rewiews !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frascati hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found this a nice little place to stay, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the outside garden is lovely to sit and have a drink. The rooms were clean and quiet the only thing I would say is the bathrooms are quite cramped, I m only 6ft but there was no way I could shower unless I sat done in the bath, also no matter how careful you are in the shower you always mange to flood your entire bathroom floor!! On the whole it is a nice place to stay, quiet close to walk to the square, so good location. You just need to be short to shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is on a bit noisy street, but it is pleasant to sit in the garden. Unfortunately, their restaurant is closed till September, so I had to walk to town (200 m :-) ) for a dinner. This time I got a room on the third floor with a nice view on Rome, but earlier I had a room in the basement of the smaller building, where the window opened on a blind wall.

The breakfast is better than in the other hotels I know in Frascati, but it still remains an Italian breakfast: too much sweet and little substantial staff (e.g. ham and eggs). But the capuccino is perfect.

My bed was a bit strange: if I leaned against the wall with my pillow, the bed moved avay from the wall: it had weels. This made reading a bit cumbersome...

Room Tip: Do not take the room in the basement of the smaller building. Ask for rooms at a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoltán V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frascati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in Hotel Flora for 2 nights and were very pleased. The location is great, parking makes life easier, our room was spacious and light, very clean, bed was comfortable, two choices of pillows, breakfast was nice and the staff very nice and helpful. I recommend and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank JaanaHelsinkiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach Waters
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Staying at the Hotel Flora is such a delight, parking in the grounds, a pleasant walk to anywhere in Frascati for anything. Ten minutes walk to the station and a 20 minute ride to Termini Rome. We enjoy a suite with a balcony overlooking wonderfull views. A special thank you to "Ines", a most pleasant, professional and helpful gentleman at reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazacos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frascati hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Tuscolana
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonna
Hotel Colonna
#4 of 14 in Frascati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacciani
Hotel Cacciani
#6 of 14 in Frascati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
0.2 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 8, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flora Hotel offers to its guests a charming warmth and welcoming atmosphere with its unique style and good cared services.The Hotel Flora is situated just in the centre of Frascati, the most famous hill thanks to the charm of its Villas and to its good quality wine. It is very near to Rome and inside its own green gardens, representing one of the most known tourist hotel in the history of the Roman Castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Frascati
Hotel Flora Frascati, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing