We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonna
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

It is situated in a first class position for Frascati. Staff are very friendly, but their english is variable. We had a fault on the air conditioning, but it was rectified quickly. Breakfast was good and service reasonable. The room was of a good standard. However, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which I would have expected. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puzzler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Colonna for one night after a 2 week holiday in Puglia. The hotel was nicely situated at the heart of Frascati. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful, their English was excellent and they recommended some really lovely restaurants to eat in that evening. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DB1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

If you for an unknown reason are going to Frascati this is a nice hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singstaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This is a lovely small hotel with wonderful, friendly and helpful staff, and the location is superb if a little noisy at times. Many restaurants are a very short walk from the front door. The hotel's rooms are small but very nice. My room was very dark due to heavy wooden shutters that opened onto a narrow interior light well, so not all rooms have a pretty view. The only real caution I would make is that this is not a good choice for individuals with mobility challenges - the rooms are up one or two flights of stairs, the breakfast room is down one flight from the lobby, and there is no lift. The shower in my room was the typical extremely tiny stall, and it was almost impossible not to bump the faucet and turn the water off while showering (especially while trying to wash hair - I ended up washing my hair in the sink). But if you have no challenges with stairs and can cope with the miniscule shower with aplomb, you will adore this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalahariNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This was on the list of recommended hotels for a scientific conference. I worked with collaborators for a few days before the conference; the hotel was nice enough to bill my entire stay at the negotiated conference rate.

Location is excellent. Close to the main public square, but far enough away that it's not too noisy at night (with the windows closed). My room on the first floor had a decent central climate-control system, a fridge, and a window that opened. (Not all rooms have fridges or operable windows, though!) Free wi-fi for all guests.

My only complaint is breakfast. They serve a typical continental breakfast; pastries, breads, cereals, juice, cheese, but no meats or eggs (not even salami or prosciutto). The cappucino at breakfast was only fair; the bars on the street made much better cappucino.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJB_SLAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

After a bad experience in another hotel, it was a pleasure to book into this fine place. They gave us a lovely room with a balcony looking onto the historical central piazza of Frascati. The staff were courteous, friendly and attentive. We'd like to mention particularly the very nice girl who was both room maid and breakfast attendant for most of our stay. The room was superb for a 3-star hotel. There are excellant cafes and restaurants within walking distance, and the train station is very close, though at the bottom of a flight of 120 steps. The train takes 25 minutes into Rome, and a 7-day ticket covering all public transport in the city and the trains out to Frascati costs €23.00. A lovely town, and particularly hotel, to come back to a after a day in the city. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I have been staying at Hotel Colonna for a couple of days and i have to admit that I have found it one of the best places i have ever been.
As former long haul flight attendant i have been travelling almost all over the world, staying every night in different hotels, dealing with new staff etc.
This hotel has the highest standards of cleanliness, the rooms have been recently renovated with a classic Roman touch, they are cosy and comfy.
The location is excellent, right in the centre, and they also provide car park (very difficult to find in the historical centre). I basically left my car at the entrance and they would park it for me. (WOW!)
The true PLUS of the hotel, however, is the staff. Giulio and his son are the friendliest and most helpful people, when it comes to restaurant suggestion or car rental problem, you'd just speak with them and they'll do the rest...
Defo, I place I'll visit again..and again..!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ornella1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frascati
0.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#9 of 14 in Frascati
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonna

Address: Piazza del Gesu' 12, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#2 Business Hotel in Frascati
#2 Family Hotel in Frascati
Price Range: £68 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far only two steps from San Pietro Cathedral in Frascati, the Hotel Colonna faces Piazza del Gesù, wherestands the homonymous church of the 7th Century characterized by a wonderful front, a Carlo Fontana’s project.Breakfast is served in a polished room with original frescoes representing the beautiful facades of tuscolanas villas.Hotel Colonna offers advanced services and it answers carefulnessy to tourists and working people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Frascati
Hotel Colonna Frascati, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing