We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location off the main square”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonna
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park CA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location off the main square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

A very pleasant hotel, with adequate sized room. Quiet enough. Parking on the street. they said that parking was included, and it was. Seems they had to move the car several times during the night. Helpful staff. And well priced

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    104
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
104
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

If you want to save some money while touring Rome, this is the place. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The owner even took us to the train (beware that it is quite a shlep up many stairs from the station). The breakfast was nice and the room standard. The town is quite lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

It is situated in a first class position for Frascati. Staff are very friendly, but their english is variable. We had a fault on the air conditioning, but it was rectified quickly. Breakfast was good and service reasonable. The room was of a good standard. However, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which I would have expected. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puzzler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Colonna for one night after a 2 week holiday in Puglia. The hotel was nicely situated at the heart of Frascati. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful, their English was excellent and they recommended some really lovely restaurants to eat in that evening. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigrestad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

If you for an unknown reason are going to Frascati this is a nice hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singstaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

This is a lovely small hotel with wonderful, friendly and helpful staff, and the location is superb if a little noisy at times. Many restaurants are a very short walk from the front door. The hotel's rooms are small but very nice. My room was very dark due to heavy wooden shutters that opened onto a narrow interior light well, so not all rooms have a pretty view. The only real caution I would make is that this is not a good choice for individuals with mobility challenges - the rooms are up one or two flights of stairs, the breakfast room is down one flight from the lobby, and there is no lift. The shower in my room was the typical extremely tiny stall, and it was almost impossible not to bump the faucet and turn the water off while showering (especially while trying to wash hair - I ended up washing my hair in the sink). But if you have no challenges with stairs and can cope with the miniscule shower with aplomb, you will adore this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalahariNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

This was on the list of recommended hotels for a scientific conference. I worked with collaborators for a few days before the conference; the hotel was nice enough to bill my entire stay at the negotiated conference rate.

Location is excellent. Close to the main public square, but far enough away that it's not too noisy at night (with the windows closed). My room on the first floor had a decent central climate-control system, a fridge, and a window that opened. (Not all rooms have fridges or operable windows, though!) Free wi-fi for all guests.

My only complaint is breakfast. They serve a typical continental breakfast; pastries, breads, cereals, juice, cheese, but no meats or eggs (not even salami or prosciutto). The cappucino at breakfast was only fair; the bars on the street made much better cappucino.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJB_SLAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frascati hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Tuscolana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacciani
Hotel Cacciani
#6 of 14 in Frascati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#8 of 14 in Frascati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonna

Property: Hotel Colonna
Address: Piazza del Gesu' 12, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#2 Family Hotel in Frascati
#2 Business Hotel in Frascati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far only two steps from San Pietro Cathedral in Frascati, the Hotel Colonna faces Piazza del Gesù, wherestands the homonymous church of the 7th Century characterized by a wonderful front, a Carlo Fontana’s project.Breakfast is served in a polished room with original frescoes representing the beautiful facades of tuscolanas villas.Hotel Colonna offers advanced services and it answers carefulnessy to tourists and working people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Frascati
Hotel Colonna Frascati, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing