We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great service, good value”
Review of Hotel Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonna
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Good value hotel, centrally located in Frascati. Parking is tight in Frascati, so we were attracted by the free parking. This is a gracious old hotel that is well maintained. We had a really large bathroom and comfortable room. Breakfast is basic but

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed here a few days while attending a conference in Frascati. The hotel is clean and very centrally located -- I enjoyed each evening walking back to the hotel through the "piazza" and seeing the social activities of the town. Be aware that you need to be fairly fit though -- there's no elevator, so you'll be dragging your bags up multiple flights of stairs to your room. Plus you're heading down another flight to get to the breakfast area. It's a definite hike if you're coming in by train, too, since there's a steep flight of stairs from the train station to the main square. The bathroom is good sized, but with a very slippery tile floor, and the bathtub is tiny tiny and a bit difficult to navigate if you're trying to wash your hair or something. No shower curtain, so the floor gets wet (and slippery) quickly. Wi-fi was free, but keeps timing out so you have re-login with the password every time you want to re-connect, which gets a bit old. All in all though, a good economical choice, in a great location.

Room Tip: No elevator, so you may want to ask for a lower floor if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GamerGirl-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The staff were friendly and the rooms well furnished and comfortable. The breakfast was OK - you could squeeze your own orange juice - but for a Brit the offerings could be considered sparse. However the electric sockets did not work properly and they blew the fuses if you tried to plug in a kettle or iron. I also had a problem charging up my laptop, although the owner insisted it was not the problem of the sockets. Alora ............................

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We returned to Frascati for a short break trip to Rome, the town is a lot better in the evening than the hustle and busyness of Rome. The train from Frascati gets you to Roma termini in 30 mins and costs 1E 90 for a single and a train goes ever hour, the train also stops at Ciampino so handy for budget flights from the uk.
Ok on to the hotel, we booked the junior suite for 130E per night for two of us. We were met and shown to our room, we arrived at 12 midday but there was no issue with checking in earlier than stated on the website. The room was spotlessly clean and a great view of the street and church from the balcony.
The staff were very helpfully indeed and always greeted you with a smile and checked everything was ok with you when they saw you. The only down side to the room was the shower could be more powerful as it took my wife about an hour to wash her hair!!
If your looking for a great place to stay then stay here, we will be back to visit again!!



  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qwertyiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

A very pleasant hotel, with adequate sized room. Quiet enough. Parking on the street. they said that parking was included, and it was. Seems they had to move the car several times during the night. Helpful staff. And well priced

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

If you want to save some money while touring Rome, this is the place. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The owner even took us to the train (beware that it is quite a shlep up many stairs from the station). The breakfast was nice and the room standard. The town is quite lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

It is situated in a first class position for Frascati. Staff are very friendly, but their english is variable. We had a fault on the air conditioning, but it was rectified quickly. Breakfast was good and service reasonable. The room was of a good standard. However, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which I would have expected. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puzzler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frascati
0.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#8 of 14 in Frascati
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonna

Address: Piazza del Gesu' 12, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#2 Business Hotel in Frascati
#2 Family Hotel in Frascati
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far only two steps from San Pietro Cathedral in Frascati, the Hotel Colonna faces Piazza del Gesù, wherestands the homonymous church of the 7th Century characterized by a wonderful front, a Carlo Fontana’s project.Breakfast is served in a polished room with original frescoes representing the beautiful facades of tuscolanas villas.Hotel Colonna offers advanced services and it answers carefulnessy to tourists and working people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Frascati
Hotel Colonna Frascati, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing