We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Frascati”
Review of Hotel Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonna
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This Hotel is situated in the centre of Frascati, the most beautiful town of Roman Castles, near Rome and Castel Gandolfo, Pope's holiday residence. Our room was wide, clean and tidy. Services and assistance were good and punctual. Prices were right. We will come back in this hotel: the location was so fine!

Room Tip: room 114 was wide and brightful
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto's T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Colonna appears to be a family-run business located in the center of Frascati, next to the plaza of the church. This means very easy access to restaurants, ice cream parlors (don't miss those!!) and local shops. It also means interesting navigation through rather narrow roads to reach it by car. Parking done by the hotel staff, worked perfectly well. One should probably inform the hotel in time if arriving by car since parking might be limited.

The hotel itself is very pretty inside, hallway and guest rooms beautifully decorated. Guest room was more on the small size, but fully sufficient, bed large and comfortable. Silent room, no noise. Wifi in room worked OK, sometimes a little slow. Bathroom included bidet, shower inside bathtub. Shower could have worked better, water pressure was a bit low.

Breakfast Italien style with selection of mainly sweet pastries and cereals, no hearty or hot food. Excellent coffee.

Very friendly and helpful staff with good English. A place to return to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germaniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Overall a central, comfortable hotel in a traditional style. Rooms are in good shape and staff is very friendly. Would return if in Frascati.

Location: right in the center of Frascati abt 5-10 min walk from the train station (although coming from the station you have to claim some steep steps).

Rooms: fairly roomy rooms in a classical style. Nice, traditional bathroom, quite spacious. Rooms have Wifi and a safe. Very comfortable all in all.

Service: Nice breakfast, helpful staff, WIFI

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We booked six rooms here for the six nations rugby Wales v Italy , sent two e mails to the hotel requesting luggage collection from the station, they didn't bother responding. Rooms were just adequate. Our room was not cleaned for two days, no towels changed even though we were out all day and most of the evenings,hotel could not explain why just that the staff did not understand !! We have stayed at this hotel on four previous times and its gone downhill in our opinion.Get your act together Colonna. Tony Hinds.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Colonna, Direttore at Hotel Colonna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

La Direzione

Dear Mr. Hinds,
We are very sorry for the inconvenience that you had during your stay with us. However, please allow me to explain what we think happened, and what we think is the reasons of your discomfort.
With reference to your shuttle reservation for your luggage transportation , as communicated by e-mail, we were waiting for the precise time of your arrival at the station, in order to proceed with sending the shuttle. Since we have not received any further communication on this matter, we could not know when to send the shuttle.
The complete cleaning of all rooms (like in all three stars hotels) is carried out by our staff from 07:00am to 1:00-2:00pm. If the guest wishes not to be disturbed during this time, the cleaning ladies provide any guest’'s needs (eg. towels, etc.), and the complete cleaning of the room is postponed to the next day. This can happen, for example, because of a desire of «privacy» of the guest, or (as in your case) if the guest retires very late at night, preferring to rest until the afternoon. In this latter case, the cleaning of the room cannot be carried out. However, our reception staff is available 24 hours a day for all cases of urgency, and we regret very much that we were not informed promptly about the discomfort you had, in which case we would have done everything, as far as possible, to solve your problems.
We apologize again for the inconvenience, and for any other possible misunderstanding that there may have been. We hope to be able to remedy on a future occasion, and be able to meet all your needs.
Best Regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hotel Colonna is my favorite location whenever I am in Frascati. Rooms are clean and big and the price is small compared to other hotels around. It's located right in the center of Frascati with plenty of excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g_plank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I booked this hotel two months in advance using booking.com. When I arrived they claimed they knew nothing about my booking although I had the reference number and all the details. After checking on the website they found it but were fully booked, as were all the other hotels in town. In the end I was put in a kind of overflow room of another hotel that was also fully booked. The staff didn't seem too bothered. I asked to speak to the manager on several different occasions and even afterwards by phone. The guy at reception gave me the same story about why she was unavailable every time, which some how seemed implausible. He also claimed that it was somehow the fault of booking.com because they hadn't received a fax from them but booking.com confirmed that it was the hotels error. They were pretty unapologetic. It ruined my trip. Obviously I can't comment on the hotel itself as I never managed to stay there but I doubt I would attempt to book it again unless I had confirmation written in blood!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank JonB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This was really a business trip, but I'm putting it under "couples" because my girlfriend came along, and this is quite a lovely hotel for a romantic getaway. To be honest, I think that all the charm of the hotel and downtown Frascati would would be wasted on a solo business traveler.

The hotel is located in the picturesque downtown area, near the cathedral (don't worry, the bells *do* stop ringing around 10PM). We arrived by cab, and the driver had a heck of a time navigating the downtown area even with a GPS. If you come by train, it's just a short walk from the station, but there are stairs that would be a real pain if you have a lot of luggage (that would be true of any Frascati hotel). The decor is tasteful and charming. There are very nice paintings, murals, and furniture, as well as little antique collections (mostly cameras) on display. Even the lobby computer has been turned into an objet d'art, but setting the disc drives and media sockets into a wooden facade and hiding the computer itself.

The room was nice, if a bit small, and the bed was comfortable. In contrast, the bathroom was on the large side. I would rather they had traded that space for a bigger closet, since storage was limited. Our room had a tiny balcony overlooking the Piazza del Gesu. It gets a bit noisy in the evening, but if you close the window, the soundproofing is remarkable.

WiFi was free and the speed was pretty good.

Breakfast is included in a lovely little basement dining room. It's Italian style, mostly bread and pastries, without the meat or cheese you would find in other parts of Europe. There's some good fruit, however, if you start to get a carb overload.

They don't have a restaurant of their own, but there are numerous wonderful restaurants within a short walk.

The staff is very friendly, but it's hit or miss whether they speak English, so if you don't speak Italian, be ready to do a lot of pantomiming and and consulting of phrase books.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the square.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cirejcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frascati hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacciani
Hotel Cacciani
#6 of 14 in Frascati
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#8 of 14 in Frascati
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonna

Address: Piazza del Gesu' 12, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#2 Family Hotel in Frascati
#2 Business Hotel in Frascati
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far only two steps from San Pietro Cathedral in Frascati, the Hotel Colonna faces Piazza del Gesù, wherestands the homonymous church of the 7th Century characterized by a wonderful front, a Carlo Fontana’s project.Breakfast is served in a polished room with original frescoes representing the beautiful facades of tuscolanas villas.Hotel Colonna offers advanced services and it answers carefulnessy to tourists and working people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Frascati
Hotel Colonna Frascati, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing