We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay...”
Review of Hotel Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonna
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A lovely hotel in the heart of Frascati. Hotel Colonna is very conveniently located in a quiet little square in the old part of the city and our room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable, the linen in good condition and everything worked. We also found the staff very welcoming and helpful. Apart from helping us with standard things (taxi booking, map etc), they also went beyond the call of duty when I asked if there was a laundromat close by. The manager said 'yes' and promptly accompanied me to the nearby shop. Unable to comment about the breakfast as we had to check out very early after our 1 night stay. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyOz_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Well located in the center of Frascati, peaceful sleep and good relation quality-price. No elevator. Basic breakfast but good overall. As an advice, reserve a room with shower instead of bath.
I'd book it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alex_y_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

yes we will !!!!! it does what it says on the packet, If we are back in Lazio Rome we will definitely stay at this hotel, I'am not saying it was perfect just that it met nearly all of our needs.

So if you want a hotel that is clean, welcoming and attentive staff. well kept and were you feel you were made to fit in then this is the hotel for you.. one piece of advice to the hotel for the breakfast buffet, add some meat please

Many thanks a great week

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

About a 30 minute train ride up the hill from Rome proper is Frascati. It's narrow streets and vibrant atmosphere is the perfect combination of fun and intimacy. The Colona sits right in the middle of everything. Blocks from amazing food and panoramic views of Rome. We happened to have the best room in the place (203 if I recall). It overlooked the square and cathedral. Mind you not many rooms have this view, so if that's important make sure to request it. The A/C is fairly weak, but just strong enough not to complain to management. The continental breakfast was pretty comprehensive and attended to vigilantly. The staff was very helpful, accommodating hot water for my sinus infection (which are apparently easy to get in Italy), laundry and great dining recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for room 203, or any room on the front corner facing the square, not the alley. Don't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcdavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Hotel was full and i was put in a room in a nearby building.
The 3-bed room was huge and the double bed enormous.
The decor is elegant both in bedroom and shower but there was no phone... not a problem as everyone has a cell phone nowadays.
The clean towels were however more like white sandpaper and every.morning the shop under the room banged and clattered at 05:30.
Not the usual standard of Colonna!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Colonna, Direttore at Hotel Colonna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We have read your comment with much interest, even though we disagree on some issues that you reported.

Originally you had a confirmed reservation at the Hotel Colonna. After that, you decided to cancel your original booking with us, and made a second reservation (for the same period) at the Colonna Room Rental, a facility that is located in the vicinity of our hotel, with which we sometimes collaborate.

Unlike the Hotel Colonna, the Colonna Room Rental is not an thee-star hotel, but a room rental. It does not have all services that our hotel provides, and, because of that, it has in general lower rates than our hotel.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that you had. We really hope to be able to remedy in the future. We are looking forward to having you again as our guest, and we really hope to meet all your needs.

Best Regards.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This Hotel is situated in the centre of Frascati, the most beautiful town of Roman Castles, near Rome and Castel Gandolfo, Pope's holiday residence. Our room was wide, clean and tidy. Services and assistance were good and punctual. Prices were right. We will come back in this hotel: the location was so fine!

Room Tip: room 114 was wide and brightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto's T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Colonna appears to be a family-run business located in the center of Frascati, next to the plaza of the church. This means very easy access to restaurants, ice cream parlors (don't miss those!!) and local shops. It also means interesting navigation through rather narrow roads to reach it by car. Parking done by the hotel staff, worked perfectly well. One should probably inform the hotel in time if arriving by car since parking might be limited.

The hotel itself is very pretty inside, hallway and guest rooms beautifully decorated. Guest room was more on the small size, but fully sufficient, bed large and comfortable. Silent room, no noise. Wifi in room worked OK, sometimes a little slow. Bathroom included bidet, shower inside bathtub. Shower could have worked better, water pressure was a bit low.

Breakfast Italien style with selection of mainly sweet pastries and cereals, no hearty or hot food. Excellent coffee.

Very friendly and helpful staff with good English. A place to return to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germaniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frascati
0.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#8 of 14 in Frascati
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
2.7 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonna

Address: Piazza del Gesu' 12, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#2 Business Hotel in Frascati
#2 Family Hotel in Frascati
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far only two steps from San Pietro Cathedral in Frascati, the Hotel Colonna faces Piazza del Gesù, wherestands the homonymous church of the 7th Century characterized by a wonderful front, a Carlo Fontana’s project.Breakfast is served in a polished room with original frescoes representing the beautiful facades of tuscolanas villas.Hotel Colonna offers advanced services and it answers carefulnessy to tourists and working people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Frascati
Hotel Colonna Frascati, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing