We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravissimo”
Review of Hotel Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonna
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great location in the heart of the centre. Hotel is very clean, quaint and yet excellent service and customer orientation. Comfortable. Staff went out of their way to be helpful....breakfast simple but good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with fiance and friends in October of 2013. This hotel does have small rooms, however, they were accommodating and sufficient. The hotel comes with free breakfast in the morning and for the price can't be beat. It is in the center square of the little town of Frascati, surrounded by stores, shops, a church, restaurants, and bars. Anything that you could possibly need is within walking distance.

This town sits on a mountain and so the views of Rome are beautiful. It is an easy 20-30 minute train ride to arrive into the center of Rome. There is free wifi. The only complaint was how terrible the hair dryer was. So ladies, if you have a converter for your hair dryer, bring that, as merely a European plug does not do the trick. I have a European hair dryer from Germany that I had brought and that still didn't work.

The hotel staff at the front desk are very nice, friendly and are happy to recommend restaurants and attractions in the area. Having a rental car to see villas, wineries and attractions local to Frascati is nice. There is not too much English spoken in this little town, however, the locals are all willing to try and help.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a room that overlooks the square. It is a cute little center of town that really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njworldtraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Frascati is a beautiful hillside town outside Rome. I loved it here and explored many of the other little towns around the region.

I stayed at Hotel Colonna in the centre of town. This proved to be a great location as it was central to restaurants, pasticceria's and pretty much anything else we needed. My room was very spacious, clean and the air conditioner worked (thank heavens as I stayed there in Aug). The owner and his son we also really helpful and great to deal with. The breakfast downstairs is typically "Italian" with some other options, like fruit, muesli and tea. There is also a laundry close by for any washing you need to do. There is no elevator - so you do need to walk up the stairs - try stay on the first floor!

I would definitely stay here again if I was was to return to Frascati.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmcbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A lovely hotel in the heart of Frascati. Hotel Colonna is very conveniently located in a quiet little square in the old part of the city and our room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable, the linen in good condition and everything worked. We also found the staff very welcoming and helpful. Apart from helping us with standard things (taxi booking, map etc), they also went beyond the call of duty when I asked if there was a laundromat close by. The manager said 'yes' and promptly accompanied me to the nearby shop. Unable to comment about the breakfast as we had to check out very early after our 1 night stay. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyOz_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Well located in the center of Frascati, peaceful sleep and good relation quality-price. No elevator. Basic breakfast but good overall. As an advice, reserve a room with shower instead of bath.
I'd book it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alex_y_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

yes we will !!!!! it does what it says on the packet, If we are back in Lazio Rome we will definitely stay at this hotel, I'am not saying it was perfect just that it met nearly all of our needs.

So if you want a hotel that is clean, welcoming and attentive staff. well kept and were you feel you were made to fit in then this is the hotel for you.. one piece of advice to the hotel for the breakfast buffet, add some meat please

Many thanks a great week

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

About a 30 minute train ride up the hill from Rome proper is Frascati. It's narrow streets and vibrant atmosphere is the perfect combination of fun and intimacy. The Colona sits right in the middle of everything. Blocks from amazing food and panoramic views of Rome. We happened to have the best room in the place (203 if I recall). It overlooked the square and cathedral. Mind you not many rooms have this view, so if that's important make sure to request it. The A/C is fairly weak, but just strong enough not to complain to management. The continental breakfast was pretty comprehensive and attended to vigilantly. The staff was very helpful, accommodating hot water for my sinus infection (which are apparently easy to get in Italy), laundry and great dining recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for room 203, or any room on the front corner facing the square, not the alley. Don't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcdavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frascati
0.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#9 of 14 in Frascati
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonna

Address: Piazza del Gesu' 12, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#2 Business Hotel in Frascati
#2 Family Hotel in Frascati
Price Range: £68 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far only two steps from San Pietro Cathedral in Frascati, the Hotel Colonna faces Piazza del Gesù, wherestands the homonymous church of the 7th Century characterized by a wonderful front, a Carlo Fontana’s project.Breakfast is served in a polished room with original frescoes representing the beautiful facades of tuscolanas villas.Hotel Colonna offers advanced services and it answers carefulnessy to tourists and working people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Frascati
Hotel Colonna Frascati, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing