We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Der Furstenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Der Furstenhof
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kempten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice three night stay at the Furstenhof, which is located in the middle of the town square - a very quiet and quaint location.

Average sized rooms with a modern bathroom. Unfortunately no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Free wifi available throughout the hotel. Receptionists extremely helpful.

Breakfast was plentiful. A huge range of food to choose from, cereal, breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, eggs, tea/coffee and fruit juices.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here on our way to visit friends in Switzerland. The hotel looks impressive and is centrally located in the local town square, handy for all amenities. Parking is available at the side of the hotel, but this is limited.
Inside the hotel is clean and wellcoming. The rooms are spacious with large comfortable beds and en-suite facilities. The dining room was lovely and the continental breakfast was good.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobberdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We picked this hotel for an over night stop on the way back from Lake Garda by Motorbike. This is a great hotel in a nice location, and when we were there in early sept it was nice and quiet. When we arrived we were soaking wet and a little concerned about going in with our wet bike gear on, but the chap on reception was fantastic, he just said to go to our room and then bring all our bike gear back down on coat hangers and he took it to a drying room and we got it back the next morning bone dry.The restaurant food was limited in choice and the menu was in German only but the very helpful waitress translated for us, what we chose was ok but not to our liking. The bedroom was excellent, clean and the bed very comfy. Secure parking in the garage was free. The town itself is very picturesque

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taff7527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful hotel five different times since 1990, once with a tour group for the Oberammergau Passion Play, twice with family including teenage daughters and twice, most recently, with just me and my wife. It never ceases to please in every situation. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the restaurant and breakfast room are spotless and well appointed, and the staff is courteous and friendly. I will stay there again, I hope, many times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the town square if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a large hotel in the centre of Kempten. The receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful when we arrived. It is perfectly situated at the end of a pedestrian street giving access to many bars and restaurants without driving further. Our triple room was enormous as it was on a corner, it was really a suite with sitting room, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom. The decor is a bit dated, but everything was spotlessly clean. I don't think any rooms had air conditioning, but this seems to be the norm in most of those we stayed at in Germany. The price was very reasonable. We weren't aware of the restaurant in the basement until we had eaten elsewhere; I don't know why it wasn't mentioned when we booked in, unless it was full already. The buffet breakfast was a wonderful selection and delicious, even bucks fizz on offer on the Sunday morning. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peakpractice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were greeted efficiently and professionally at "Der Furstenhof" after a hard day of cycling on our tandem bicycle. A safe garage was immediately provided for it. Our room was at the top of the hotel and turned out to be huge. It was more like a suite than a regular hotel room. It even had a small kitchen. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

It's a great hotel located at the center of the town with big and clean rooms. Breakfast is very good. Free wifi. If you are not lucky and could not find a parking spot on the street, you can park at the garage for 4.50 EU per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerTUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempten hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peterhof
Hotel Peterhof
#2 of 9 in Kempten
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
BigBOX Hotel
BigBOX Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kempten
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 9 in Kempten
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landhotel Hirsch
Landhotel Hirsch
#6 of 9 in Kempten
82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smart Motel
Smart Motel
#8 of 9 in Kempten
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
myParkhotel Kempten
myParkhotel Kempten
#9 of 9 in Kempten
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Furstenhof

Address: Rathausplatz 8, 87435 Kempten, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Kempten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kempten
Price Range: £56 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Der Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing