We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage at its best”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Johannisbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Johannisbad
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bad Aibling
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vintage at its best”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel, especially the rooms, has an "old school" flair, 80s vintage, so to say. It is clean and tidy but far from fancy. Rooms are big enough and the bathrooms are functional.
Their bonus is the friendliness of their staff; everyone was very welcoming and helpful. There was a minor mistake with our booking but that was fixed the day after, amidst many apologies and some vouchers.
I liked the breakfast buffet; while the variety of choices is average, the quality was definitely above standard for this type of hotel - talk about eggs made to order, homemade cake and fancy fruit jelly.
They have a beer garden behind the building, which we did not use but it looked quite nice. Neither did we try the attached restaurant, although the menu (mostly traditional dishes with a modern twist) appeared quite tempting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
18
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here 02/10 on a leger tour. A lovely little hotel. They checked you in personally & told you how to get to your room. Rooms were all different sizes & shapes, we loved ours, not very big but all you needed, although no tea & coffee facilities but I always take my own . Good sized bathroom. Breakfast was buffet but dinner was a choice of 2 main courses, both seemed tasty. Staff very friendly & seemed keen to please. Owner even came out to wave us off in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All different
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeBeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in this small family hotel as part of Legers Hitlers Capitals tour. A nice little hotel in a charming little town. The staff were pleasant and the owner keen to please. The food was adequate with limited choice. There is no bar, you order your drinks from the staff who serve them at your table. What is missing from this hotel is any source of relief from the oppressive heat. It was 35 degrees outside temperature the days that we were there. At night it was like trying to sleep in the boiler room of the QE2. No air conditioning or even any ceiling fans in any part of the hotel. They most certainly need to invest in this area. With this addition the hotel I am sure would be a lot more comfortable and attract a lot more guests. One tip, take a small 6" electric fan with you if you stay there in the summer, you will be glad you did. The town itself is nice, with a few good restaurants an easy 10 minute walk away. Final opinion. It was OK (just).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waem26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here one night only when temperature was high. No air conditioning in the room, nor a fan.
But room was lovely & dinner in the garden in the shade was very pleasant. Family proprietors welcoming & friendly. In the evening we enjoyed a walk around the pretty village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from the 16th -18th June 2013.
The proprietors here were very nice, they are very helpful. I had requested a low fat diet, and they discussed with me what alternate food I would like and how I'd like it cooked.
The room was very pleasant and looked over the lovely garden. The weather was extremely hot and reached temperatures in the 90's, we were able to have a window open, as no air conditioning.
We were encouraged to eat our evening meal in the garden, which was ok, but I got bitten to death by Mosquitos and we wasn't given an alternate place we could eat. Also another draw back, there is no bar at this hotel, but a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were on a coach trip so location was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0rsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here with Leger group in May 2013. Hotel clean, with my single room split into two, small hall and bathroom, which was stylish with good shower. Bedroom had a door to separate from hall. A good chair to sit and watch TV in (a rarity these days in Hotels I find mostly have to lie on the bed) Bed was comfortable, next to the wall though.

Food was only a set menu, but it was very well cooked, breakfast also very good. Family run, friendly atmosphere.

I may not want to stay here in hot weather though, as no air conditioning or fans in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marka61_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean and mature, but overall ok.
The staff is extremely polite and helpful, the breakfast is of a 5 stars hotel one.

So if you look for value for money near Rosenheim, this hotel is very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Aibling
0.3 mi away
Lindners Romantik Hotel & Restaurants
2.1 mi away
B&O Parkhotel
B&O Parkhotel
#1 of 5 in Bad Aibling
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Georg
Hotel St Georg
#5 of 5 in Bad Aibling
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schmelmer Hof
Hotel Schmelmer Hof
#4 of 5 in Bad Aibling
152 reviews
5.1 mi away
San Gabriele
San Gabriele
#1 of 12 in Rosenheim
173 reviews
5.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Rosenheim
TRYP by Wyndham Rosenheim
#5 of 12 in Rosenheim
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johannisbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johannisbad

Property: Hotel Johannisbad
Address: Rosenheimer Str. 45, 83043 Bad Aibling, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Aibling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bad Aibling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Johannisbad 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Johannisbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing