We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot!”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Living Social deal and it exceeded my expectations! Food was wonderful in both the restaurant and bar, we opted for the early bird menu in restaurant which was 3 courses each including a bottle of house wine for only €50! Really impressed!

The pool was good although a lot of the extras didn't seem to be working, it's a Thalassotherapy pool which has different stations to relax. The Steam Room too was out of order on this occasion which was disappointing.

My partner enjoyed the golf which was included in out deal whilst I had a brilliant facial.

The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and the rooms were of a good size with sea views, just very creaky floorboards!!

I will be keeping an eye out for further deals to this hotel!!

Thanks again Redcastle!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Em4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly take your comments on board and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    522
    228
    119
    84
See reviews for
404
1,013
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was a great stay- really enjoyed it not one thing I can fault about it- myself and mum had spa treatments- I had a massage with a girl called Nicola- was the best massage I have had in ages, please pass on my comments- treatments were fab- pool was lovely- only problem was that the steam room was out of order but that was a small thing- have to give the restuarant 10 out of 10 the food just blew us away we had dinner on both nights as the food was just that good- waitress on both nights was so nice and helpful not sure of names think one was Michaela and other girl had long black hair with a fringe but they were so good and professsional please pass on our comments. Also liam at reception was great and helpful check in and check out was done quick and efficientially rooms were fab great hotel will be back!!!!

Room Tip: we picked a room with a ocean view- great view and def recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Redcastle hotel last weekend for 2 days! It was absolutely breathtaking with beautiful view along the sea. We checked around 4pm by a courteous and helpful young man Liam who was very professional upon our arrival. We got to the room and got the stunning view if the sea. We booked a seaview room and I have to say its worth it when you wake up in the morning with view from your window. The food in the restaurant is absolutely mouthwatering and worth the money. We had a lunch in the bar on the Saturday afternoon and the young girl Ashley was a lovely and happy young waitress who was very polite. We didn't get use of the spa on this occasion but no doubt we will be back again very soon to book some treatments.

Only issue but not a major one unless you are using the laptop a lot that the wifi signal can be touch and go!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marycart334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Have stay here a few times and love this hotel. If you feel like getting away from it all for a day or two this place is good. The salon as always is great especially the price when an offer is on.. Staff where very helpful and food especially breakfast was amazing

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

upon arrival,beautiful grounds and views greeted us.. got stuck in the revolving door slightly with "her" massive suitcase (for one night)..
Was greeted at recption (and i must make a mention) by Liam. Got room sorted out..was exactly what we were looking for...even for this time of year, the view from room was great.
booked our dinner for that evening...even you dont stay..you gotta go there to try the Daube of beef.. one word.. Unbelieveable.
the spa treatment the following morning was outta this world (have to mention Aine) A true professional. my back feels 15 years younger than i actually am.
the only one criticism that i have ....and it is just a small one.. the wifi was very poor.
And this is where Liam comes into the picture...he did his bloody best to get me up and running!! wasnt meant to be so i had to talk to the other half instead.!!
As a Terminator once said..
"ill be back!"

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyeyes186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughshane, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed over Halloween and had a great time!Our room was super.The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful!They also have a very good leisure centre.The setting is very nice right by the waters edge!Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our 1st visit to Redcastle, and was highly recommended by friends. As it was our wedding anniversary we opted for the Romance Package which included 2 nights B&B, 1 dinner, 1 bedroom suite, sparkling wine & nibble plate on arrival, and breakfast in bed 1 morning. Overall impression of hotel and location very good. Check-in was efficient, staff pleasant. Hotel spotlessly clean. The 1 bedroom suite was gorgeous - spacious, well laid out and clean. Unfortunately no ocean view with these suites (that's the trade off for bigger room!) I suppose. View of car park not inspiring but very quiet part of hotel. There was a wedding on the day of our arrival and we didn't hear any of the noise usually associated with weddings, so good from that aspect.
Our wine and nibble plate were not waiting on arrival, but a call to reception rectified this - Gerry the concierge was very apologetic and gracious when he arrived with our goodies 5 minutes after phone call! We ate in Captains Bar on first night - food delicious and promptly served. Dinner in Edge restaurant was superb, food a knock out - melt in the mouth pork belly, and succulent steaks. Restaurant well laid out with fantastic ocean views (appreciated more @ breakfast time as too dark by 8pm, lol!). Breakfast is buffet, with usual fare - get down early as busy between 9:30 & 10:30. We had breakfast in our room on day we were leaving which was great. It normally costs 7:50 euros supplement per room but it was included in our package - highly recommended! We didn't use the pool/spa facilities so cannot comment.
Car is a necessity as location quite isolated - nearest village is Moville. A drive up to Malin Head is recommended - outstanding scenery despite the blustery day!!!
We would highly recommend this hotel, and will return when opportunity arises - in the better weather so can appreciate the beautiful views.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 503 which was in quiet area of hotel although no ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
876 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
287 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Property: Redcastle Hotel
Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing