We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel ...”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great value, delicious range of food in a sea view restaurant. Rooms spacious, clean and very comfortable. Will definitely recommend to others.
Spent a relaxing afternoon at the spa/pool well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
There are newer reviews for Redcastle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Redcastle Hotel was an absolute treat for our few days away, being our first visit here, it did not disappoint. We checked in using the living social voucher. We totally forgot as we purchased the voucher months ago and panicked in case we missed out. We rang last minute 2 weeks ago & spoke to Liam in Reservations who was an absolute gent in processing our booking easy and hassle free. We arrived less a week later and was checked in by Liam who greeted and welcomed us brilliantly. Our room was not ready, which was fine, Liam offered us tea and coffee whilst we waited and arranged Greg to have our luggage to our room. We went to the bar for the short period & Liam came with our keys to our room.
The room was lovely, spacious & the beds were very comfortable! We had a lovely meal in the The Edge Restaurant on 1 evening which was very nice, the staff were very friendly and willing to assist. We didn't go with the golf or spa, just thankful we were able to get booked, so we enjoyed the spa pool (only small negative comment would be that the pool was slightly cold)
The breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from. The lady in charge with blonde hair was lovely on both mornings.
The hotel has plenty to offer and not too far from Moville for a nice drive, thankfully the weather wasn't bad at all.
The only other thing that was slightly disappointing was the wifi, it was hit and miss. Liam again was brilliant into trying to help us with the issue & gave us tips, but it would knock itself off the wifi again. Needless to say this did not effect our stay too much.
From the wonderful reception staff (Liam) to the restaurant we were thrilled and will most certainly be back!!!

Thanks again.

Room Tip: Hotel can be popular so ask for quiet room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you would consider returning in the future
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just back from a fabulous stay in the redcastle. After getting engaged here this time last year we decided to go back for our anniversary. It was even better than I remembered. The staff are fabulous, all pleasant and willing to help. The food in both bar and restaurant is 5 star and caters to all tastes. We opted for Early bird menu which is 3 courses incl bottle of wine for 50 euros! Worth every penny. We were upgraded to a suite and had chocolates and a swan heart on arrival as I had let the hotel know it was a special occasion. This was very much appreciated. To say that this little act of generosity meant a lot would be an understatement. This hotel is in a beautiful location but you would need a car to get about if you wanted to explore, My partner and I did not leave hotel as we used golf and spa facilities and ate in hotel both nights. The only thing I would say and its minor the pool is freezing! But that is minor in grand scheme of hotel. I love this hotel and when I win lottery I will get married here :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_ohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted that you decided to return to the Redcastle for your anniversary, and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon again.
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary,first the positives;
A telephone to reception prior to our arrival ensured the "Beautiful" flowers were in the room on our arrival.
Plenty of brownie points for that!
Room on the ground floor overlooking Lough Swilly was excellent but rather warm even with the radiator turned down and the windows open (is all this heat really necessary?)
As always the restaurant was excellent Wood Pigeon followed by Pork was excellent,service was good,but 2 waiting staff was cutting it a bit fine!
Certainly up to their usual high standards many thanks for another enjoyable stay.
Please lower the temperature!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea views are best
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray_heron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback, and congratulations on your wedding anniversary, we are delighted you choose to celebrate your anniversary in the Redcastle Hotel. We certainly take your comments on board, and hopefully we will be welcoming you back to the hotel very soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our friends and, as every time before, it didn't disappoint! One of our friends hadn't stayed there before (his wife had stayed on a 'girlie' weekend previously) and he was sooo impressed with this hotel! My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for this past 10-15 years and we love it! The staff - each and every one - were so helpful and friendly. Our rooms were spacious, warm and very comfortable (although it would've been nice to have a sea view), but no problem!!

Our deal included a spa treatment and the boys had a round of golf! My facial was done by Danielle and it was fantastic!! What a lovely girl and a great beautician!

The four of us had planned to go to Derry/Londonderry for the afternoon, but we felt so relaxed and were so cosy and comfortable, we simply moved to a cosy corner and ordered a light lunch which was lovely and we then relaxed, chatted and had a good laugh for a few hours. We then had a little rest, followed by dinner later on. First night we ate in the restaurant, which was amazing and the second night we ate in Rosatos in Moville . . . Great pub/restaurant that we always visit when we're in the area and of course, it was fabulous!!

I used the pool twice! I LOVE it! I used it one afternoon and then at 7.30am one morning. I love being in that fab pool and watching the sun rise!! Life doesn't get much better!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekenderArds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Really enjoyed my trip and as it was on a deal it was a bargain! Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The boys loved their golf and we enjoyed our treatment. Jay from spa reception was especially helpful and a young gentleman.
Only tip would be shower screens instead of curtains as they stick to u when showering!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aeroamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly take your comments on board and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Living Social deal and it exceeded my expectations! Food was wonderful in both the restaurant and bar, we opted for the early bird menu in restaurant which was 3 courses each including a bottle of house wine for only €50! Really impressed!

The pool was good although a lot of the extras didn't seem to be working, it's a Thalassotherapy pool which has different stations to relax. The Steam Room too was out of order on this occasion which was disappointing.

My partner enjoyed the golf which was included in out deal whilst I had a brilliant facial.

The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and the rooms were of a good size with sea views, just very creaky floorboards!!

I will be keeping an eye out for further deals to this hotel!!

Thanks again Redcastle!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Em4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly take your comments on board and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
917 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
210 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
133 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: £79 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing