We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here earlier in the summer of 2013, booked on a Groupon special for 2 nights.
Although we arrived a bit early, we had to wait until 3.30 to be allowed into our room because the cleaners had not finished with the rooms.
Although the view was fantastic, the room was a disappointment. The carpets were worn and stained in places. Someone had tried to spruce up the chest of drawers and table with a dark stain/wood paint, but forgot to paint the rest of the woodwork which was chipped and scratched.
No minibar, fridge or safe in the room.
The spa was also in need of tlc, with tiles missing in the pool.
The one redeeming feature was the food and service in both the main restaurant and the bar. The view from the main dining room is outstanding.
But, the wine list offered average wines at an exorbitant prices.
With the location and views, this could be a fantastic hotel.
However, it needs some work to bring it up to a decent standard. Everything looked a bit tired and in need of either work, cleaning or replacement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I was disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory. Our check in time is from 3.00pm onwards and while we will always do our upmost to accommodate guests that arrive early it is not always possible. We don’t offer a mini bar of fridge in our rooms as standard but fridges are available from reception on request and guests may store valuables in the reception safe. We certainly take all of your points on board and your comments have been passed to the Hotel Manager to review further. If you would like to discuss any of these issues please do contact us directly on feedback@redcastlehotel.com I hope you will return to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for your comments

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    525
    229
    120
    84
See reviews for
407
1,018
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had a great time at Redcastle, went for a relaxing spa break with friends. Had a fabulous treatment - the therapist worked very hard on what I asked. All other staff very helpful & professional, very impressed with staff. Bar food yummy, recommend the ice cream sundaes, relaxed on the sofas in the lounge area, spa also great. Had a lovely coastal walk in Moville.

All in all fabulous time, came home very relaxed, will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveholidays76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Redcastle Customer Care team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed last week 4th Dec for our 3rd Anniversary together and we had such an amazing night that an additional night was added onto our stay, the staff where so nice and friendly, the service was great and the room with the sea-view was spectacular, I would like to mention in particular a member of staff, Lisa at the reception desk, if every hotel had a Lisa working at its reception all getaways would be that extra bit more enhancing, (thanks Lisa) the 3 course meal each night in the edge restaurant were superb the food was amazing and the waiting staff where nice and polite, excellent, congratulations to them, this also carried on in the morning for breakfast great food, great views of the Foyle and great staff.
We felt at home, the atmosphere was calm and relaxing and with the Christmas decorations up and nicely presented it felt that extra bit more like Christmas.
There is nothing better than waking up in the morning and going to the Thalasso pool for a refreshing swim and a visit to the steam room and Sauna to detox after a few relaxing beers the night before. I booked my Girlfriend into the spa for a massage which she thoroughly enjoyed. Cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear such great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Redcastle recently for 2 nights and while the weather was a little on the stormy side, the Hotel was very warm and welcoming. We have been at this Hotel several times and enjoyed each stay. On this occasion we were even more pleased with the welcome from staff, the food and our accommodation. The Hotel was decorated for Christmas and this added a special ambiance to our stay. We were particularly impressed by the welcome at Reception, and the good- humoured service by staff in the bar and restaurant. We will definitely return - again and again. Only one suggestion for improvement would be for the provision of a safe in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanadale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Both the girlfriend and I loved the hotel for a few reasons,


1)The all staff where amazingly friendly from the cleaning staff to the bar staff were all lovely and friendly

2) The room was amazingly clean and had loads of and had plenty of room so relax and study.

3) The food was out of this world both breakfast and dinner was 10/10

4) The dinning has an amazing feeling about it and I love the idea of looking out over the waterfront.

5) The price was amazing

We will be making it an annual thing now that we travell upto Redcastle

our only issue was we couldnt book into the spa because due to the weather the system for booking crashed and they couldnt fix it while we were there and had no back up system in place so we couldnt book in and they couldnt confirm who was booked in but this was only a minor issue which again was mainly due to weather.

Room Tip: if you havent booked a room with a sea view i would definately splash out the extra 20euro a night f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanhall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having visited the hotel on numerous occasions and never having been disappointed, we looked forward to this visist and found it as good as before. As ever professional, friendly staff and comfortable rooms but on this occasion the food was of an even higher standard than during our previous visits. We will definitely return early in the new year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjpl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed dining in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My fiancé and I recently stayed at the red castle for two nights.
We both really enjoyed our stay at the red castle. We got first class treatment. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Our room 610, was beautiful. The view was fantastic, over looked the peninsula. The décor was lovely and bed was very comfy.

The food in the bar and the restaurant was gorgeous. 10 out of 10.

The receptionists were by far the kindest, friendliest staff I have ever came across. I had forgot my charger and they even let me charge my iPhone on the computer.

The spa was also very good, my fiancé and I both got treatments and we both thought it was great and quite reasonably priced. Couples massage a must have for any one staying at the red castle. I was a little let down when I realised there was no hot tub, but the whirlpool sections in the swim pool did make up for it!

I am already looking forward to my next stay.
Thanks to all the staff for all their help and great service.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
888 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,780 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
294 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Property: Redcastle Hotel
Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing