We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Beautiful location very easy to get there around 20 minutes drive from derry.

hotel is beautiful inside, swimming pool and leisure facilities are first class, we ate in the bar and the food was great.

Very friendly staff can't say a bad word about them.

the only thing negative that can be said is that the bedroom was a little tired with worn furniture, also the room wasn't the warmest and a portable heater was plugged in.

in terms of things to do donegal is quite desolate there are plenty of small towns and villages but not much in them, in saying that the roads are in general excellent and access is very good.

Would recommend staying here if you wish to have a lazy relaxing time

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monodogg83millisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly take your comments on board.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Redcastle Customer Care team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    518
    227
    117
    83
See reviews for
399
999
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dromahair, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Myself and my boyfriend, stayed in redcastle on Monday the 9th of December as a small break before the Christmas.As we arrived into the long drive way, the first glimpse of the hotel and its surroundings had us in awe. It was breezy when we arrived, but as soon as you step inside the warmth and comfort of the hotel came upon us. The receptionist Chantelle was so helpful and talked us through our package we booked and where everything was and what we had to do to book any extra, ie spa.. As we arrived early, and our room wasnt ready we decided to have lunch in the captains bar. We loved this bar. Was open enough so people would not be on top of you but cozy enough to relax in. The waitress, i think was leanne (sorry if i am wrong) but she was poliet and helpful and couldnt do enough for us.We got our food and it was lovely. I had a blt and chips and my boyfriend had ham and cheese toasty and soup. Was just enough as we were having a meal that night. Even before we finished eating we got our room keys. When we headed up to the room, the christmas decorations catched our eyes and distracted us. When we finally got in the door of the room, first thing we noticed is that we got a room with the most amazing view of Lough Foyle. We had no complaints with the room.Only minor adjustment i would say would be to add something so guests can control the heat in the room, as i did find it quiet warm and had to open the window for a while. The room was clean and well presented and the bathroom was lovely and relaxing. The products in the bathroom where lovely aswell, all natural extracts. I had a 20€ voucher for the spa but I didn't opt for anything as I am not a spa person, but my boyfriend played golf and loved it. Our meal that night was just gorgeous and our view was fabulous, looking out of the view of lough foyle. The menu was not something we weren't sure of , but have to say was the best food we ever had. My boyfriends Salted Caramel and honeycomb sundae was amazing and topped off the meal. Our waiter was very helpful and again couldn't do enough for us. The bar person when we went for after dinner drinks and night porter very very good to us also. Breakfast was buffet and was again lovely. We ordered poached eggs, freshly made and they were done perfectly. Check out was smooth and easy and staff where great. We have booked a return visit in February and cannot wait. It was the most relaxed stay we have had in ages and we were made feel welcome in every part of the hotel. The view is breathtaking , could not have asked for money well spent. Packages are so reasonable and for everything you receive and experience , its so worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over lough foyle. Worth waking up to in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natke05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in February.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Redcastle Customer Care team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here earlier in the summer of 2013, booked on a Groupon special for 2 nights.
Although we arrived a bit early, we had to wait until 3.30 to be allowed into our room because the cleaners had not finished with the rooms.
Although the view was fantastic, the room was a disappointment. The carpets were worn and stained in places. Someone had tried to spruce up the chest of drawers and table with a dark stain/wood paint, but forgot to paint the rest of the woodwork which was chipped and scratched.
No minibar, fridge or safe in the room.
The spa was also in need of tlc, with tiles missing in the pool.
The one redeeming feature was the food and service in both the main restaurant and the bar. The view from the main dining room is outstanding.
But, the wine list offered average wines at an exorbitant prices.
With the location and views, this could be a fantastic hotel.
However, it needs some work to bring it up to a decent standard. Everything looked a bit tired and in need of either work, cleaning or replacement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I was disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory. Our check in time is from 3.00pm onwards and while we will always do our upmost to accommodate guests that arrive early it is not always possible. We don’t offer a mini bar of fridge in our rooms as standard but fridges are available from reception on request and guests may store valuables in the reception safe. We certainly take all of your points on board and your comments have been passed to the Hotel Manager to review further. If you would like to discuss any of these issues please do contact us directly on feedback@redcastlehotel.com I hope you will return to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for your comments

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had a great time at Redcastle, went for a relaxing spa break with friends. Had a fabulous treatment - the therapist worked very hard on what I asked. All other staff very helpful & professional, very impressed with staff. Bar food yummy, recommend the ice cream sundaes, relaxed on the sofas in the lounge area, spa also great. Had a lovely coastal walk in Moville.

All in all fabulous time, came home very relaxed, will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveholidays76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Redcastle Customer Care team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed last week 4th Dec for our 3rd Anniversary together and we had such an amazing night that an additional night was added onto our stay, the staff where so nice and friendly, the service was great and the room with the sea-view was spectacular, I would like to mention in particular a member of staff, Lisa at the reception desk, if every hotel had a Lisa working at its reception all getaways would be that extra bit more enhancing, (thanks Lisa) the 3 course meal each night in the edge restaurant were superb the food was amazing and the waiting staff where nice and polite, excellent, congratulations to them, this also carried on in the morning for breakfast great food, great views of the Foyle and great staff.
We felt at home, the atmosphere was calm and relaxing and with the Christmas decorations up and nicely presented it felt that extra bit more like Christmas.
There is nothing better than waking up in the morning and going to the Thalasso pool for a refreshing swim and a visit to the steam room and Sauna to detox after a few relaxing beers the night before. I booked my Girlfriend into the spa for a massage which she thoroughly enjoyed. Cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear such great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Redcastle recently for 2 nights and while the weather was a little on the stormy side, the Hotel was very warm and welcoming. We have been at this Hotel several times and enjoyed each stay. On this occasion we were even more pleased with the welcome from staff, the food and our accommodation. The Hotel was decorated for Christmas and this added a special ambiance to our stay. We were particularly impressed by the welcome at Reception, and the good- humoured service by staff in the bar and restaurant. We will definitely return - again and again. Only one suggestion for improvement would be for the provision of a safe in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanadale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Both the girlfriend and I loved the hotel for a few reasons,


1)The all staff where amazingly friendly from the cleaning staff to the bar staff were all lovely and friendly

2) The room was amazingly clean and had loads of and had plenty of room so relax and study.

3) The food was out of this world both breakfast and dinner was 10/10

4) The dinning has an amazing feeling about it and I love the idea of looking out over the waterfront.

5) The price was amazing

We will be making it an annual thing now that we travell upto Redcastle

our only issue was we couldnt book into the spa because due to the weather the system for booking crashed and they couldnt fix it while we were there and had no back up system in place so we couldnt book in and they couldnt confirm who was booked in but this was only a minor issue which again was mainly due to weather.

Room Tip: if you havent booked a room with a sea view i would definately splash out the extra 20euro a night f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanhall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
13.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Property: Redcastle Hotel
Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing